We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madawaska
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We found this location to be the perfect place for our family of four to vacation at. Infact we loved it so much our first week there in July we decided to go back for the last week in August! We rented a cabin both times and stayed in 3 of the 4 cabins she has - all of them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gidget782
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

You are all just too much fun. I'll miss you until your return...as I am sure some of the other people you met here will also have fond memories of their time sharing your good humour and easy going personalities. It can be a great place, but until great clients arrive it is a one sided deal. Official figures in...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

After searching the internet for a private campground where we could unwind after a hectic summer hosting our children and their families at home we thought Red Deer Log Cabins Campground would be perfect for us and it was! The website photos totally and acurately describe this simple immaculately kept campground with beautiful views and surroundings. Sandra has done an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jmacewen
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

Hi ladies! It was a treat to have you on board. Please tell your friends about this little oasis of relaxation. Come again, anytime.! Maybe stay longer? :-)

Mississauga
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Once more, we have stayed recently at Red Deer. This time with our son and his family. How time flies. I recall discovering this beautiful campground owned by Ms. Gies, Sandra (I trust this is the right spelling), who does make a genuine effort to make all campers comfortable at her unique campground, over two decades ago. I think we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Artur A
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

Wow. It's hard to say anything after that Again, thank you for coming to stay again after so long. It was my pleasure, and hopefully it will be sooner instead of later before I see you again.

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Was a nice river and waterfall but the service was terrible. I got sarcastic and impatient answers from the owner. When we asked for something she would fight back with her answers. No proffesionalism whatsoever. We payed for 3 nights but could only stay for one night. When we asked for a refund for atleast 1 night she would refuse

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diana K
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

Interesting these folks were here when there were a lot of other people, and no one else had horrible service. The experience likely had something to do with the assumptions being made. At 6 pm or so on the second day it was announced to me that things 'had changed'. The site was still available for the campers. There are...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place. But terrible service... the women was very argumentative, and impatient. She took back all rental gear that we paid for and refused to give any sort of review.... I really suggest you stay away from this place. Ended up leaving 2 days early, and lost 125 dollars because she refused to refund us for the stuff we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dano S
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

This is another person who threatened me upon leaving to write a negative review, boyfriend of Diana K. I was informed that 'things had changed' at 6 pm on the second night of 3. One night is $40 (including tax) for camping. The rest of what was paid was consumed by that time. I picked up the rental gear because...

Reviewed 23 July 2016

We went to visit this place on July because one of our friend recommended to visit . The place is nice , the nature is beautiful , pleasant water to swim . But the owner of the place doesn't know to give a good service , she gave us a bad attitude , she was arguing with us about everything...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alex O
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

We have dealt with this stay in the previous review response. Same writer. Alex O was in the canoe when it was raining, no thunder. He did not want to call 911. The abuse was one way. It started before Alex O's wife finished registering. At the end of the stay there were wet dirty dishes in the cupboards. I...

Reviewed 19 July 2016

We went there as we heard very good reviews and also website pictures looked very attractive with beautiful nature and cozy cabins. We came for three nights for the weekend and stayed 4 days.We were very disappointed from our overall stay. Well, will start first with strong points: the nature is awesome, quite, lots of berries around for pick up,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank yelena a
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

I've been expecting this review. It was threatened when one person left, the same one that started in on me before she got out of the car upon arrival. The cabins are rebuilt. The place was derelict when I bought it. The intent was to keep the simplicity. They are well equipped with functional kitchens, modern appliances, and good beds....

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground offers the whole kit n kaboodle. My family and friends have been coming here for the past decade to enjoy a wonderful campground, beautiful waterfront with fantastic sunsets, and the famous Moore's Falls which double as a nature waterslide for all to enjoy. The owner Sandra is very hospitable and accommodating to all our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank darcyhaight
reddeer2016, Owner at Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground, responded to this review

Hey Darcy, it will be great to host your crew again this upcoming August long weekend. You are always so much fun to have on site. There are a few other campers booked in that you might recognize..."Stick man, come back, I love you!" is one of them. :-D

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Our family has been going to Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground for a number of years (I've lost track of how many times we've been there) and I am always thankful that Sandra (the owner) has somehow managed to keep this place pristine and unspoilt. We (my wife and I) used to take our 2 boys when they were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ari508
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again this summer.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed here as a jumping off point for a canoe trip in eastern Algonquin. It was a good transition from "society" to "wilderness" and the hostess was more than accommodating to our semi-large group (14 people).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt M
Management response:

Thanks for your input. It's great that another type of client has chimed in, and helps show the versatility of the property. There are group sites here for exactly such a situation, with lots of room for tents, cars, and people. They have picnic tables and a fire pit, and a dishwashing station nearby. The group sites are also a...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madawaska
6.3 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#4 of 7 in Barry's Bay
72 reviews
14.5 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
68 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
20.4 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
103 reviews
7.7 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#2 of 4 in Madawaska
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 one room log cabins on the waterfront are cozy and clean. Fully equipped kitchens, good double beds, picnic tables and firepits. Electric heat for spring and autumn adventurers. Sand beach on site, waterfall 1 km upriver. Relax, unplug, unwind! The land that time forgot is close to Algonquin Park (21 km), and has a lot of the same features in the area. Wildlife/bird watching, hiking, fishing, canoeing, berries and mushrooms in season. 85 Km of contiguous waterway; Moore's Creek, Madawaska River, Bark Lake. Central washrooms with hot showers and flush toilets. 40 campsites are large, for families and groups. 8 have electricity and water hookups for trailers. Excellent cell, 4G reception from nearby tower. This is nature's playground, no swings or slides required. Pack your toys, leave the noise, and come to where the wildlife isn't human! Note: these are housekeeping, or self-catered, units. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground

Address: 6471 Highway 523 | on the Madawaska River, Madawaska, Ontario K0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Madawaska
Price Range: £51 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Red Deer Log Cabins And Campground Hotel Madawaska
Red Deer Log Cabins And Campground Canada/Ontario - Madawaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Deer Log Cabins and Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great view, nearby waterfalls”
 of 5 bubbles darcyhaight, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“there is nothing like beach front”
 of 5 bubbles chriscB2343SB, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you want to go camping stay here...if you want a hotel stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles purpleorchidCanada, 26 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you are offered a small frame cabin be aware that they are tiny. Go for the Log cabins. There is no fitness centre, but once I clicked on it I could not undo it.However, the water is clear and quite swimmable.”
 of 5 bubbles curvyclassic, 22 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the cabins along the edge of the water. They can sleep 4 and have a great access to a fire pit and the water front.”
 of 5 bubbles 706JohnD, 17 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5