We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull's Head Inn

Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Bull's Head is a family owned 18th century (c.1730) Country Inn, set amongst South Shropshire's rolling hills, with stunning views over the Severn Valley, Clee Hills & Chelmarsh Reservoir. The Inn offers a combination of well appointed guestrooms and self-catering accommodation, including ground floor facilities for the disabled or those with limited mobility. We offer food throughout the day, 12.00 noon until 9.00pm Monday to Saturday, and 5.00pm on Sunday. We also offer a good selection of local real ales, ciders, lagers and fine wines that attracts regular UK & overseas visitors for touring, fishing, walking & cycling holidays, and corporate guests who take the opportunity to relax and enjoy this picturesque location. Situated in the peaceful village of Chelmarsh, just four miles south of historic Bridgnorth, it is an ideal base for exploring local attractions such as Ironbridge, the Severn Valley Railway, Ludlow, RAF Cosford Museum, West Midlands Safari Park and many more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
207Reviews
61Photos
1Q+A
39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 56
  • 27
  • 12
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Booked this for my parents to stay & was severely disappointed. The room was freezing, bedding was thin with no warmth, mould on the wall, gap in the external door & old stained shower with filthy plug. No idea how it can be a 4 star as it’s nasty. Do not stay here. Yet pub
Read more
Response from Norma K, Owner at The Bull's Head Inn
Responded 5 days ago
We remember you booking this room for your parents and indeed, your arrival and stay here during the evening. We find it amazing that during all of this time you did not deem it necessary to raise these issues if you were obviously so troubled by them. Our Housekeeper is extremely conscientious and very diligent and everything she does here is done to a very high standard, which was remarked upon very strongly by the Hotel Inspector during his last visit. She took great exception to your comments and yesterday we accompanied her to the room that your parents occupied and went thoroughly through each issue that you raised. We would itemise our findings as follows; 'The room was freezing'...… In fact, the heating was on 24 hours a day, the thermostat on the room wall was set at 24 degrees Celsius and this was the temperature that a thermometer recorded. There are three other rooms in the same block, all of which were occupied during your parents stay, and none of these guests made any similar comments. Indeed, the guests staying immediately above the room your parents occupied were with us for over three weeks, and they - along with other guests in the same block - all said that 'they had a wonderful stay'. Really cannot understand this point. 'The bedding was thin with no warmth, mould on the wall & old stained shower with filthy plug'. The bedding is Hotel Quality bedding supplied by a specialist Hotel Furniture & Bedding Supplier. We have never received any complaint regarding the standard of bedding previously. We found no trace of any mould whatsoever and there is 'no filthy plug'. This room is one of three in that block that is specially adapted for those with limited mobility or those that may be disabled and this was highlighted when the booking was made. Accordingly, it has ramped access, extra wide doors, grab rails and wet room with 'walk-in access', and to be frank, is functional rather than decorative. It does have its merits, being on the ground floor in the quiet garden area and was a twin room, one of only three rooms in which we allow pets, and that limited the choice of rooms available as the guests had a dog. There is no plug in the shower as one is not required, there is simply a metal drain hole, so again, we cannot understand this comment at all. There is a 'gap in the external door' We did find that there is an approximately four inch line along the top edge of the door that has probably warped slightly with the weather. This has since been rectified. 'No idea how this can be a four star as it's nasty'. The 'Visit Britain' Hotel Inspectors are extremely well trained and have great experience travelling throughout the UK visiting a multitude of different places of varying standards and types of accommodation. Our last Inspector had forty years experience in the industry and had previously owned and managed Hotels himself. They assess properties against a very strict national standard and criteria and I would suggest to you that they are far more qualified to decide which standard that we meet. I really do not understand your motivation in making these inappropriate, misleading and unqualified comments. Our staff always 'go the extra mile' attempting to ensure that every guest is totally satisfied with their stay here, and they find it extremely difficult to be faced with comments such as yours when they are greatly unsubstantiated. Again, if you really believed all of these issues were as bad as you try to make out, why didn't you raise it at the time rather than with an anonymous claim like this which is a serious slur against our business and livelihood.
Read more
Bright and cheerful, warm and welcoming with good real ales and a friendly smile. My friend and I had just visited two nearby and 'renowned' riverside pubs only to be bitterly disappointed by our experiences. The first gave us a cold and unfriendly welcome and a take it or
Read more
Response from Norma K, Owner at The Bull's Head Inn
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Richard was very pleased to read your comments. Many Thanks.
Read more
+3
We visited here after I read on their website that they do a set price 3 course lunch for £15-95. Some of the items aren't available in the offer, but you still have a good choice to choose from. My wife had the garlic mushrooms while I went for the chicken liver pate. Both came
Read more
Response from Norma K, Owner at The Bull's Head Inn
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Thank you very much for visiting us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch here. We have a super kitchen team of three chefs and assistants and they all really appreciate it when Customers take the time to share their sentiments. Many thanks!
Read more
Such a warm welcome, lovely people. The bulls head is a really lovely old place with lots of character. The food is excellent and we highly recommend. The fixed price menu which is available until 6pm is amazing value. Huge portions!
Read more
Response from Norma K, Owner at The Bull's Head Inn
Responded 5 Nov 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was delightful having you with us and John & I and our super team are extremely pleased with your sentiments and hope that you come and stay with us again. Many thanks, have a great Christmas!
Read more
Love to come here for food when we are in the area..situated between Bridgenorth&Hampton Loade friendly staff cosy warm friendly pub and the food never fails us & always freshly cooked wirth a visit if your passing
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
room 3
The view from a room at the front, across the valley
View from the kitchen window
Easy to find
Bedroom located in the old part of the Inn above the main Bar area and subject to a great deal o
PreviousNext
123
I haven't stopped overnight so I don't know sorry.
1 vote
Show all answers
"There are quiet self catering rooms and cottages too."
"Unable to complete the hotel ratings"
"Maybe B&B in the pub would have been a better option?"
"dont think it matters,as it sits on a fairly quiet road."
"Try to avoid the rooms on the front, under the street light, traffic noise is loud."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bulls head hotel chelmarsh
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBridgnorthChelmarsh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing