Lion Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lion Lodge

Aldington Road Port Lympne Hotel & Reserve, Lympne CT21 4PD England
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 7 lodges in Lympne
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience lions in the most unique way. Lion Lodge is the most luxurious overnight accommodation at Port Lympne Hotel & Reserve in Kent. This fully immersing experience gives guests the chance to sleep with lions! These unique lodges, named Kikuyu and Jibana, offer guests the incredible opportunity to immerse themselves in the lives of Kamari and Hasani, our truly majestic African lions. The first of its kind worldwide, the Lion Lodges are timber clad, Manhattan loft style buildings, set within the lion’s natural and spacious habitat. Featuring picture windows in both the master bedroom and the open plan living area, guests will be just a breath away from magnificent lions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Seating area
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Luxury
30Reviews1Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sue s s wrote a review Oct 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom59 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The lion Lodge is Fantastic very well decorated and warm and cozy with everything you need , the underfloor heating was lovely.
Lovely views of the lions and watching them play was amazing
The garden was lovely and would be great in the summer ,the outdoor bath was very nice with views of the lions through the glass window.
The use of the Golf buggy was essential as the whole site is on the side of a hill .
Loved the safari this is a must to go on.
Ate at the Garden Room Breakfast Lunch And Dinner all very good food and service
The only negative comments are Sign posting and map could be better,and would love some information on the lions maybe in the lodge itself.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SD1 wrote a review Oct 2022
28 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing experience and totally worth it. The lodge was large, clean and well equipped. The views and lion watching really was an experience. We did the tour and Howletts the next day, dinner at Babydolls was nice but we felt overpriced, but seeing as you are in the middle of nowhere make the most of it. Breakfast in the garden room was lovely and the service throughout from the concierge throughout the park was faultless.
The golf buggy was lots of fun and essential going through the park in the dark at night.
We had a lovely bottle of prosecco on arrival and took plenty of snacks.
The outdoor tub was heated at 6pm and was far too hot by 8pm, I would advise getting it heated around 4pm so that you can use the tub during daylight when you can see the lions because at night it's pitch black, but still lovely.
Lodge 2 was perfect for views, the only minor downside was the bed-very loud and creaky and sinks in the middle.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book an early slot to heat the outdoor tub so that you can use during daylight when you can see...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spideynz wrote a review Feb 2020
London2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a number of people have said this is a pricey stay but unique and we went for a special anniversary. It was a fantastic experience and left us with some great memories, not just from the lion lodge but also the rest of the park on the safari ride and driving round in our buggy. And we enjoyed the meals in the hotel - thought the food and services was great.

The bed was amazingly comfy by the way - any chance you can tell me what mattress you use in the lodge for when we buy our next one? Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HowlettsPortLym... T, Customer Service Manager at Lion Lodge
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear Spideynz, Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5* review on your recent stay in Lion Lodge. We are thrilled that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the reserve as a whole. If you would like to email us om aspinallfoundation.org i will inquire as to where the mattresses were purchased from. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. Kind regards The Customer Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ms P wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
£1,750.00 price tag
Paid in full OCT2019
Excited for visit JAN2020
Lion Lodge was dirty & dusty.
Baby picked popcorn out of rug,from previous guests!
Food between beds upstairs! Yuk!
Dusty shelves & expired milk in fridge,so no milk for baby or coffee we woke up to discover.
Thank goodness we smelled the milk before consumption.We could have been made ill.
Head injury due to low beams upstairs without hazard warning.
Just unacceptable for “luxury accommodation”.
You cannot be bothered to go the extra mile,despite the price paid?!
Feels disrespectful.
Poor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HowlettsPortLym... T, Customer Service Manager at Lion Lodge
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Dear Ms P, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at Lion Lodge. Your review has been noted and your complaint has been dealt with via private email. Kind regards The Customer Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris Wathall wrote a review Feb 2020
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is fabulous. Lucky enough to stay in Jibana, and despite storm DENNIS sweeping in, the park did everything they could without jeopardising the safety of the animals! We did the AAA safari and it was amazing, our Rangers were both knowledgeable, patient, and fun, and really added to the experience. I cannot wait to visit again, hopefully in summer, but a stay can be costly (though I must state considering what you get, it is worth every damn penny), so I better get saving! Visit this place folks, you won’t regret it.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HowlettsPortLym... T, Customer Service Manager at Lion Lodge
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear ChrisWath, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit in Lion Lodge. We are thrilled that your stay reached your expectations despite the weather conditions. We would like to thank you for your recommendations and hope that we can welcome you back for a return visit in the near future. Kind regards The Customer Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lndhyde wrote a review Aug 2020
Essex6 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Lion Lodge on the 9/8/20 it was phenomenal. Lovely glare garden with decking overlooking the hotel. The tub in the garden was awesome. The staff light it for you (wood). There are candles and matches to light to give ambience and a window into the lion enclosure. We saw the lions a lot. The Safari was great. Socially distanced. We saw lots of animals. Disappointing to note a day review in that the Safari wasn’t available for them. When we booked they never asked if we were day or stay guests. Food great in the Babydoll restaurant (pizza) and the Garden restaurant in the hotel

Top tip. If staying at lion lodge. Ask for No 1 (there are 2 ). We saw the lions loads more than the second lodge and take balloons brightly coloured. Put them right by the glass perhaps lifting them up. The lions try to get them with their paws and entertains them for ages. Allowing you to get up close and get those pictures.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HowlettsPortLympne Team, Marketing at Lion Lodge
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Indhyde, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Port Lympne Hotel and Reserve. We are thrilled to hear about the wonderful experience you had staying in Lion Lodge and the safari. Unfortunately, as per the check-in registration form and terms and conditions of the booking, we do not allow balloons in the park, because they are very dangerous for the animals, therefore we do not advise any guests to go against this rule. Again, thank you very much for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Customer service team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JillyJef wrote a review Jun 2021
Wokingham, United Kingdom155 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to lockdown, the trip had been cancelled twice but it truly was a case of third time lucky. Everything about the trip exceeded expectations.

The accommodation exudes 5 star safari and the 5 lions were outside our window pretty much the entire time and we were transfixed. The provision of a buggy enabled us to tour the rest of the park at dawn, which was also a surreal experience.

My only feedback would be to offer guests the chance to “meet the keeper” as we had a zillion questions.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lou W wrote a review Mar 2024
Chelmsford, United Kingdom57 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner were taken here for our 30th birthdays, and overall it was incredible. Although, I wouldn't personally pay to stay here as it's so expensive. You can easily view the lions from the lounge and main bedroom, the twin room upstairs also has a smaller viewing window. Beds are really comfy and the little complimentary snacks were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy A wrote a review 13 May
Greater London, United Kingdom31 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had stayed previously at the Park and always wanted to return to the Lion enclosure for a special occasion - and so glad that we did!

The lodge is amazing with a huge garden and seating area with fire pit that overlooks the fields. The lodge itself is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The most amazing part of the whole trip was sitting in the outside bath drinking champagne (complementary) with just a glass window separating us from the lions. Both lions came up to the glass looking at us and it was very special to see them so close.

Our living room overlooked the lion's sleeping quarters so we got to see them a lot - playing, snoozing and chilling. We had read reviews that seeing the lions is not guaranteed, so I don't know if we were just lucky, but they were both visible for most of our time there. In fact, other then lunch at the main restaurant (very nice!), we spent the majority of our time in our lodge, either outside in our private garden, in the bath, or chilling in the living room.

We were very lucky with the weather - it was a lovely sunny day, and that allowed us to really get the most from the lodge. It was a fantastic experience all round and the staff at Port Lympne are all excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book lunch for when you arrive but take a picnic for later so that you can spend as much time in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgetud wrote a review Mar 2020
20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is amazing! Went as a family of 13, had two tiger lodges and a lion lodge, thoroughly loved it from start to end!Have to say the lions were our favourite!
staff were friendly and welcoming, golf buggies were good fun. The lodges are gorgeous and beds were so comfy! Under floor heating was amazing. The lions spent most the day active, All lions came super close to the glass, so many amazing photos. Mom lion was my favourite she came up to the glass and was trying to paw my bag, she also took an interest in my niece who is 3! Had dinner from baby dolls which was lovely and breakfast which was easily as nice in the hotel. Late night outside bath added to the experience. Thank you so much for our amazing stay Port Lympne!!! We didn’t want to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HowlettsPortLym... T, Customer Service Supervisor at Lion Lodge
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Dear Georgetud Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5* review on your stay in both our tiger lodges and lion lodge. We are over the moon that you and your family had such an amazing time staying with us and we really hope you can come and join us again in the near future. Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback. Kind regards The Customer Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy A wrote a tip 13 May
Greater London, United Kingdom31 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book lunch for when you arrive but take a picnic for later so that you can spend as much time in the lodge seeing the lions as possible."
Read full review
springy100 wrote a tip Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom106 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book absolutely everything in advance."
Read full review
SD1 wrote a tip Oct 2022
28 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book an early slot to heat the outdoor tub so that you can use during daylight when you can see the lions. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lympne area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentLympne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LION LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Lion Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lion Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Alpaca Annie (2.5 miles), Crypt of St. Leonard (3.7 miles), and Dymchurch Beach (3.6 miles).
What food & drink options are available at Lion Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Lion Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hide and Fox, The Dog House Micropub and Vinyl Bar, and KOYLA.
Are there any historical sites close to Lion Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Crypt of St. Leonard (3.7 miles), Martello Tower No.24 (3.6 miles), and Saltwood Castle (3.6 miles).
All Lympne HotelsLympne Hotel DealsHotels near Lion Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire