We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Livingstone Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Livingstone Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Thank you, We are members of the RZSS, our local Zoo is Edinburgh, whilst visiting a few weeks ago & chatting to the Head Gardener there he told us about Port Lympne & Howletts, we returned home Googled & booked. Spent the most perfect day at Howletts on Thursday 20th October & then arrived at Port Lympne that afternoon met with... More 

Helpful?
Thank HELEN H
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you very much for the high rating and review you gave us at Livingstone lodge. The staff at Livingstone enjoy every aspect of their job and are thrilled when we get good reviews such as yours. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and while visiting the rest of the park. We hope... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I genuinely feel bad for not giving this a high rating but in all honesty we were quite disappointed. I booked this for my husband as a birthday present as we are both massive animal lovers and we had been looking forward to it for weeks. It was quite expensive (around £450) for a night but I thought that considering... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel_uk_f
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear love2travel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. However i am disappointed you feel that you did not get a 5* experience. The itinerary for Livingstone Lodge stays have been amended on guest confirmation emails to include all the timings of your stay, and the fact that you would not have... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

A family invitation as they had visited 4 years ago... what a wonderful experience. We arrived around 2pm for our first safari at 2.30pm. We were greeted with a champagne reception and an introduction from our guide, Rebecca, who stayed with us the whole visit - even becoming our chief waitress and washer upper in the evening. Very knowledgeable about... More 

Helpful?
Thank SARAH L
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We are really pleased that you had such a wonderful experience staying in our cottage and then with your Safari and then on to Howletts. We would love to see you on a return visit to Port Lympne perhaps staying at our award winning Livingstone... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We booked to stay in Livingston Lodge for a 'Safari experience' and upgraded to one with an en suite, the cost was £375 for 2 people, mid week in the low season. On arrival we were served a glass of Prosecco, introduced to our fellow guests and the itinerary was explained before we took off on our guided safari.I would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mimble
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mimble, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Livingstone Lodge. We are sorry that you feel you did not get a 5* stay at Livingstone Lodge. We have rectified the issue of the mattresses by sending them all back to the supplier as they were all new at the beginning of the season. In regard... More 

uk
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My partner and i stayed at the Livingstone lodge at the beginning of October, we went to Howletts zoo on the day of arrival which was good - the gorillas were definitely the highlight. Then we drove down to Port Lympne which took about 30 minutes through the country lanes, we arrived about 3.15pm so we checked our bags in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phena25
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gabbie88, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with Livingstone Lodge. We are sorry that you did not see more animals on your Safari, but as you wrote it was a cold day and the animals are allowed to roam freely, If they want to seek shelter they will. It would be lovely to see you again... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

What a brilliant birthday treat - I've no idea of the cost so can't comment on vfm, but in terms of a great experience I can say that this is well up there. We arrived at the site a little early, but that wasn't a problem - we were looked after straight away (nice couple of glasses of fizz and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niknoworries
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Niknoworries, Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Livingstone Cottage, What a fabulous birthday present. It would be a pleasure to see you return, perhaps an experience at our award winning Livingstone Lodge. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Having spent our anniversary week visiting castles, manor houses and beautifully manicured gardens, all the while getting agitated by the pointlessness of it all, I was excited to see land being put to good use 'land with a purpose' as I called it. Having been born and bred in Africa and been on safaris before, this experience was beautiful for... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and comments on the ethos of our reserve. We are really pleased that you had such a good experience with us and hope that you make a return visit in the near future. More 

Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We had a wonderful stay in the Livingstone Lodge on Sunday. From start to finish is was fantastic. The safari was breath taking and the accommodation was brilliant. Our ranger Jack was very friendly and so informative. As there were only six of us staying the night we were fortunate to be able to go in a smaller land rover... More 

Helpful?
Thank DollR
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear DollR, It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have amazing experiences while they are staying with us. To see you again on a return visit would also be a pleasure, If not at Livingstone Lodge maybe try Livingstone Cottage?. It was wonderful that you got to see Zuri our new baby Rhino. He is definitely stealing... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Nestled in the white cotton comfort of a four poster bed, there is something quite surreal about watching wildebeest and antelope grazing on the scorched savannah as a giraffe trots past the open tent doorway – especially when it’s only an hour and half from home. With the meteorological bonus of a September heatwave taking daily temperatures firmly into the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSfromLondon
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MrsSfromLondon, Thank you for taking the time to review Livingstone Lodge. We have put in to action improved information about the itinerary while staying with us. It is always good to hear that our guests have such an enjoyable stay and hope that you will return in the future. Thank you once again for your review. More 

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had an overnight stay at the fabulous Livingstone Lodge and opted for a en-suite tent (Monkey) a very short distance to the restaurant. The day started at 4pm with a glass of Champers and then onto a very informative safari, we'd been on safaris here before but this was much more personal and detailed. The tent is brilliant, incredible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steve C, Thank you for giving us such a positive review. We take great pride at Livingstone Lodge in giving our guests the best possible experience, and am pleased to hear that you did. We hope that you will make a return visit with us in the near future. Thank you once again for your review. More 

331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (198)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lympne
0.7 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
562 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
29 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 9 in Folkestone
803 reviews
10.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted the UK's best tourism experience in 2012, the Livingstone Lodge Safari Experience at Port Lympne, Kent, is the UK's only overnight safari lodge perfect for a romantic break, engagement, celebrations and Hen Parties and has to be the answer to those who would love to visit the wilds of Africa on safari. Enjoy a multi award winning safari experience and a totally magical night under the stars, first-class authentic African dining, dawn safari, full breakfast & more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Livingstone Lodge

Address: Port Lympne Aldington Road, Lympne CT21 4PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lympne
Hotel Class:2 star — Livingstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Livingstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingstone Lodge Lympne, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Livingstone Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Livingstone Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book an en suite”
 of 5 bubbles Phena25, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The tents with ensuite is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles DollR, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Select a lodge with en-suite facilties”
 of 5 bubbles JJenner, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cheetah tent directly in front of watering hole. Ensuite not avail when booking: felt not necessary: shared facilities more than adequate”
 of 5 bubbles UkFairComment, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend attempting to get a tent with en-suite facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Laurence1952, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay