The Morritt Country House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Morritt Country House Hotel

Traveller (464)
Superior Room
Room & Suite (100)
Restaurant
Dining (43)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Greta Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,143 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Morritt Country House Hotel presents a mixed bag of experiences, with its location earning praise for both convenience and tranquility. However, many guests have expressed the need for room refurbishments and raised concerns about discomfort. While the spa setting is picturesque, some visitors highlighted maintenance issues. Service quality appears inconsistent, oscillating between attentive and unprofessional. Opinions on the atmosphere are divided, with some finding it charming and others dreary. Moreover, the value proposition has been questioned, especially regarding dining and service. Cleanliness generally meets expectations, although minor issues have been noted.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,143Review10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 500
  • 275
  • 177
  • 108
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
27dmb wrote a review Sept 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’d booked direct with the hotel and were given a room rate of £95 with breakfast plus £10 for the dog. The room offered was for a classic plus double room which looked lovely on the website. Great kerb appeal and a beautiful building and I loved the Dickens theme. We followed instructions on the door to wear a mask in public areas. We were greeted by a lovely, friendly receptionist who gave us the keys to our room (room 11). What a let down, it was nothing like the one on the website and there was mould on the bathroom ceiling, other than that it was spotlessly clean. We felt really deflated and went to the bar to get a drink. I fancied a cocktail but was told they didn’t serve them, missing a trick considering there’s a spa and ladies who do spas also do cocktails. My husband could tell I was upset so he went to raise the issue and was told that all the rooms are different and that the rooms were based on floor space. He said he understood that not all rooms were the same but that our room in no way was remotely near the picture on the website. We were then given a higher grade room (15) for no extra cost. This was much better and we were generally pleased with it however basics were missing, no bath mat so we had to use a towel, no sanitary bin or indeed any bin in the bathroom just an open bin in the bedroom. No sanitary towel bags in the holder by the toilet. We had two windows in the bedroom but strangely both had obscure glass. Bedding was nice but the mattress needed replacing, really uncomfortable. In the evening while we were sat in public areas some staff walked past either without a mask, a mask on their chin or just covering the mouth leaving their nose exposed. The gentlemen who served us just before bar closure at 10pm was on the ball, wearing his mask correctly and was really efficient. The same member of staff served us breakfast the following morning. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. When checking out I was faced with a different receptionist who was not as friendly. I’d been aware of the £10 charge for the dog but it was listed on my bill as a ‘doggy welcome pack’ so I politely enquired if there should’ve been something in the room for the dog, I was told no and it was just the charge, so why not just list it as ‘dog £10’ on the bill? Two cleaners were stood by reception without masks and two workmen then walked past me in reception also without masks, not good considering the area had just gone into local lockdown. When I’d read this before we travelled I phoned to query this but was told the hotel was in North Yorkshire and the rules didn’t apply. So... would I stay again? Yes as £95 + £10 was a good price and we wouldn’t have been disappointed if there’d been a more accurate representation of the room on the website. Breakfast was really good and I’d have paid extra for it.
Times are hard for the hospitality industry but a programme of refurbishment needs to take place, starting with the quality of the beds. I’m not too bothered about the size and decor of a room if I have a decent bed and can sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
racingqueen wrote a review Jul 2021
South Yorkshire
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This could be a beautiful hotel however its looking neglected and its such a shame . I would love to manage this for a few months and kick it into shape . Definitley requires a new manager in who is passionate about the place ..the current one obviously isnt and has no eye for detail ..couldnt care less attitude springs to mind .
The reception and restaurant staff are all friendly and welcoming .
We only paid £55 per night for b&b. We stayed in room 23 .. had we paid more I would have demanded to change room .
Bathroom door did not close . Swollen wood . Requires a joiner .
Bedroom curtains let all the light in . Requires a blind .
Bathroom light pull old and filthy . Very unhygienic. Cost hardly anything to replace .
Carpet very very badly marked. Desperately needs cleaning or replacing .
Mattress uncomfortable .
No mattress or pillow protectors . Again should be there and costs very little to provide .
Breakfast was lovely .. however due to the pandemic I woud have preferred that the cereals/ juices/pastries not be buffet style . Hand sanitiser was provided but not everyone used it especially the older guests.. seemed oblivious to it . We sanitised and used napkins to hold tongs etc .
Yes there is some noise from the very close busy carriageway but could be reduced hugely by replacing the old glazing .
With some tlc , a comitted management team and a little money spending on it this hotel could soon be back to its former glory .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
brandysnapple wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time staying here and felt like we had been staying for years, very welcoming and refreshing as far from home. We had 2 dogs and they were very welcoming of them too which is a bonus, a treat each on arrival too! Receptionist very nice and helpful, the rooms for guests with dogs are seperate which is great as keeps the barking and general dog behavior away from other guests and stress away from us. Amazing scenery and a great walk round the back. Bar manager was veryyyy good, im not by any means rich but gave him a good tip as well deserved. Breakfast was awesome and you can sit in the bar if you have dogs which is nice at breakfast rather than leaving them in the room. Seen many reviews about the food being terrible but everything we ate was exceptional! Even the lunch time sandwiches after a long walk with the dogs.

The spa in my opinion is one of The best ive been to. I loved the cold plunge pool along with everything else and very well priced and you get 4 hours! I even sat outside with a complimentary coffee and my misses had a tea for half hour before going back in which was great. Only thing i would sat is to have a couple less people in the spa as it is boutique, its in no way crowded but a couple less people would make it perfect. Didnt have any treatments.

Overall, great experience and one of the best spa breaks in the UK ive been to. Cant wait fot an excuse to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
X7428BTkennethb wrote a review Aug 2020
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a package with Secret Escapes for Spa and cream tea as part of the package for April but because of Covid the hotel gave us alternative dates which was very good of them at the same Tariff. I rang a week before we were due to go to ask about the cream tea and also to book in for our evening meal. When we arrived we were asked if we were eating in the hotel i said i had rang to book a tablet for 7.30 we were not down but they arranged our meal for 6.45. I asked about the cream tea told to come back to reception at 5.00 told then we should have book and there was no teas left and given a cup of coffee.
Our room looked nothing like any of the pictures on the web site very small the bathroom looked like a cupboard had been converted with a concertina door which you had to close before reaching the toilet. The windows had some kind of plastic covering so you could not see out when we opened the window it looked on to the roof tops. The food was OK pleased we were only staying one night. The breakfast had plenty of choice. Masks had to be worn around the hotel and plenty of hand sanitiser
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: make sure everything is booked before you go as all meal including breakfast has a time slot.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris T wrote a review Jul 2021
Tudhoe, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the hotel and was surprised how dated, unkempt, dirty and unloved this hotel is. The pictures online do not represent the room we stayed in, for the star rating of the hotel (4), I expected so much more. The staff lacked attentiveness, and when challenged with issues such as clean bedding, Remanent’s of previous stays in the bathroom, or broken items in the room they seemed not to be any urgency or fortitude for any resolution. The hotel is a real what could have been , the location is good albeit there is some noise from the major road nearby (A66), I feel they need to do much much better to maintain the 4* rating, the stay, service and experience was terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Would avoid until the hotel has observed significant improvements in the management, staff and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AndrewB1889 wrote a review Feb 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our rooms looked pretty much like the photo on the website...but nowhere did it say that the rooms were actually a couple of minutes walk from the actual hotel. The rooms were decent enough...but didn't (in my view) warrant their £110 price tag - £55 - £70 would have been a fair price.

Dinner was excellent, and raised our spirits, but breakfast was very poor - our bacon had obviously been waiting for some time before being placed on cold plates with other lukewarm items...and took so long to arrive that the toast was cold and soggy.

If you're contemplating staying here, make sure your room is actually in the hotel where maybe the rooms are OK for the price; avoid the annex rooms.

I spent some time completing the email questionnaire which the hotel sent after our stay but received no response, hence this review.

Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make sure that your room is in the hotel and not the annex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our cottage Room which as you stated is located external to the main building, it is still on the hotel grounds next to our awarding winning spa but the walk to the main hotel is minimal. Thank you for the positive feed back regarding dinner, but I was disappointed we didn't deliver on the most important meal of the day, breakfast. I will address this with the breakfast chef. Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit, I will ensure that you receive an upgrade to the best room available for your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shirleyjwilson wrote a review Aug 2020
Richmond, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son took me to The Morritt for my lunch last Sunday.

We arrived on time and after being warmly welcomed we were directed to the lounge on the left of Reception. Here we enjoyed a pre-lunch drink and were welcomed by Chris who gave us a menu. I selected Roast Beef to be followed by Sticky Toffee Pudding. My son chose Roast Pork and Raspberry Cheesecake.

After about 5 minutes Chris showed us through to the Dining Room - we were seated at a round table covered in a snow white cloth. A waitress brought us a large plate with napkins and the necessary cutlery. We helped ourselves to this.
The individual plates of Beef and Pork were brought to the table plus a dish of cheesy broccoli and a dish of cabbage etc. The Yorkshire Pudding, creamed and roast potatoes and creamed carrots were already on our plates. - The meal was perfect.

In these difficult times every effort was made to ensure our safety and comfort.
Well done Chris and the two ladies who looked after us. Our compliments to the Chef. A delicious meal and a lovely Birthday Treat.

Shirley J W
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Gibbs wrote a review Oct 2020
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is well situated as a centre for holidaying in Teesdale. It is close to the A66and just 3 miles from Barnard Castle.Although we visited during Covid, the hotel staff were welcoming and made visiting comfortable. It is a typical country house hotel with large rooms .The cooking was first class, but sensibly priced, so much so that we ate in each evening .There are a number of footpaths along the river Greta which can be walked directly from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Robertson, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Good afternoon, Many thanks for the great review, we are super pleased you enjoyed our traditional and awarding winning food, and our staff are always please to hear they enhanced your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Morritt Hotel very soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa L wrote a review Jun 2022
Kettering, United Kingdom
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently for 2 nights as part of a driving holiday touring Yorkshire

On a positive note, it was a lovely building, set in a lovely area, ideal for exploring Yorkshire and we were blessed with some lovely weather

Dawn Smith in the restaurant was very attentive and couldn’t do enough for you, others should take her lead

Unfortunately for me and my husband we had room 24 on the 2nd floor, it was tired, the divan had seen better days, the window had frosted covering to hide the view over the back of hotel buildings, the bathroom could do with an upgrade. The mirror was too high to sit at the dressing table and there was no hairdryer. 3 coat hangers in a wooden frame, not a wardrobe.

Also for a 4 AA star I would expect some complimentary toiletries in the room, I didn’t realise until day of departure the pump soap on the sink was actually a pump shampoo bottle!

Breakfast: ordered eggs royale, description on menu smoked salmon with poached eggs, when it came it was bacon, no explanation given, luckily I eat bacon

Evening meal: there was a group of us, it was a set menu for us with a choice of 3 or 4 starters, mains and desserts. I ordered on checkout from the menu, later that evening after mains were served we were told there wasn’t enough of my chosen dessert, offered an alternative of chocolate orange, no description given, turned out to be chocolate and vanilla ice cream with some orange blobs sitting on chocolate powder

All round this hotel has hugh potential but attention needed to get there
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room on the front, not 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vasilis0707 wrote a review Oct 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there with my family as part of a business trip for 1 night. The hotel itself was quite dusty; even at the reception. I have noticed some dead flies as well. We were offered a room outside the hotel which was super hot, radio seemed broken and the toilet was filthy and it was stinking! It was so unpleasant! I saw spider webs and dead flies in my room. The dinner was overpriced and absolutely awful! The meat was almost rare and chewy and the cauliflower steak that my son had was undercooked, hard to cut with a knife. The risotto and chicken pate were fine. Not to mention the desserts. The cheesecake was so heavy; the lemon tart was dry and the brownie was okay but nothing exceptional. The breakfast though was nice and not compared to the dinner. Overall I am very dissatisfied. They also charge adult prices for toddlers which I have not seen in any other hotel I stayed in the UK. So disappointed! As I was on a business trip I did not want to create an unpleasant atmosphere even though I feel I should have complained about the toilet thing. The only good thing is the location which is great but the hotel itself needs to re-evaluate the living conditions especially in the rooms/cottages they have outside the main building.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from margaret s
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom34 contributions32 helpful votes
There is a Gym in Barnard Castle at the Swimming Pool which is about four miles away if this helps.
ra20628 asked a question Nov 2019
Carlisle, United Kingdom38 contributions18 helpful votes
Is Jonathan Cairns still with you?
Answer from Karl W
1 contribution
Hi, I think your question has been sent to the wrong person. I was a guest at this hotel. Regards.
Answer from Hetty
Rutland, United Kingdom198 contributions72 helpful votes
We couldn’t in our room
Lou1354 asked a question Oct 2017
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom20 contributions26 helpful votes
Can you have breakfast in your room ? Thank you
Answer from annemcdonnell2000
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
I would say yes I cannot see that been a problem
Brenwalt asked a question Apr 2017
Filey, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the hotel have lifts to the upper floors
Answer from Johnathon C
1 contribution
Hello, I am afraid we dont have a lift but we do have ground floor rooms if required. Kind regards, Johnathon
Jeff G wrote a tip 7 Jul
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom41 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If your food isn't hot complain immediately as it could be unsafe."
Read full review
Britrunner wrote a tip Jun 2024
Coventry, United Kingdom703 contributions128 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would not recommend this hotel as I talked to other guests who were not impressed with their room."
Read full review
TrevorS1950 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Northampton, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is also a spa on site. Parking is readily available at no charge."
Read full review
Clairyg wrote a tip Mar 2024
Stafford, United Kingdom142 contributions73 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Probably avoid this hotel. It needs serious attention."
Read full review
Elaine E wrote a tip Mar 2024
Seaham, United Kingdom103 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 3 is lovely. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greta Bridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the morritt country house hotel and restaurant, morritt arms hotel, morritt arms barnard castle
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamGreta Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MORRITT COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Morritt Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Teesdale Alpacas (Open by Appointment Only) (3.9 miles), The Bowes Museum (2.6 miles), and Barnard Castle (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bay Horse At Ravensworth, Valentine's Restaurant, and Coghlans At Barningham.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Morritt Country House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the centre of Greta Bridge.
Are pets allowed at The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Morritt Country House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Morritt Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting County Bridge (3.0 miles).
Is The Morritt Country House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Greta Bridge HotelsGreta Bridge Hotel DealsHotels near The Morritt Country House Hotel
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire