Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mellington Hall Country House Hotel

Traveller (340)
Room & Suite (58)
Afternoon Tea By The Fire
Dining (43)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Mellington
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel is a Grade II Listed 19th Century house set in beautiful landscaped grounds with spectacular views in every direction. A mile from the nearest road, the hotel offers country house seclusion, comfortable, well-appointed and well-equipped rooms, and locally sourced food and drink. Call in for coffee, stay for lunch. Take afternoon tea or stay a few days. The aim of everyone you meet here is to ensure that guests leave refreshed, glad they came, and already planning their next visit! In the adjacent grounds there is a beautifully laid out holiday home park of the highest quality which is run alongside the Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Hiking
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
624Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 407
  • 112
  • 54
  • 25
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Martinigasser wrote a review Jan 2022
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The site was easy to book by email with Claire (Owner) only £30 for the night a great price for this location.

On arrival we were met by Paul and Sarah (Site Managers) who took us to our pitch and ensured we knew where everything was in relation to our location. They are very friendly and knowledgeable. The pitch had electric and water perfect for our needs. As we are new to this type of camping they had useful tips to help us enjoy the stay, a big thank you to you both.

In the evening we visited the hotel bar and had drinks (reasonably priced) Dawn (Hotel Manager) and Jane (House Keeper) were once again very helpful and friendly. The hotel is worth a visit to enjoy the stately decor, plus you can sit by the open fire and relax. The menu has something for everyones taste and affordable.

We stayed for breakfast at £10 per head and were not left wanting, Claire (Chef) prepared a great feast.

The site is immaculate and has some breath taking scenery and walks all around. A site map is provided with the walks highlighted.

The ablutions were very clean and well maintained, they are only 2 minutes walk from anywhere on the park. At this moment a new shower block is being built in the area of the pitching sites.

We would recommend this site to friends and family without reservation. We plan to visit later in the year.

The site is 3 miles from Montgomery which in itself is worth a visit to walk up to the castle for its amazing views.

A massive thank you from Martin & Kayleigh
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mainwearing wrote a review Feb 2020
Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very pleasantly surprised by the location and setting of this hotel.There is an adjacent holiday/residential home business by the same owners but the hotel is very clearly separated.We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our Prestige room. Recently modernised to a high standard, it was light and airy with lovely views. The bathroom was large and well appointed. We prefer lunch to dinner these days but our hearts always sink a little when presented with what looks like a pub menu. The food was good without being inspiring. Breakfast was very good however. Drinks were sensibly priced. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Broadband reception was weak as one might expect in this remote location. We left a couple of suggestions for improving the room. Very good value. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Prestige room No.6 is spacious with excellent views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Thank you Mr Mainwearing for your recent review following our special offer of a two for one night stay with us here at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel and for leaving us a four star rating. We have to be careful when designing our food menu that we cater for our residential guests and also for our Park customers too. If there was something not on the menu that you would have specifically fancied during your stay, please do mention to us at the time as our Chef could have accommodated with no problem at all. However I am pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay and we have taken on board your recommendations. We do hope to see you at Mellington Hall again soon. With kind regards, Claire Evans Mellington Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayne B wrote a review Aug 2020
Cannoc
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When you look at the price at £30 a night for electric hook up only and a facilities block that needs updating (we didn't use the showers due to personal preference) it is over priced, but dont let that put you off. The pitches are ample sized and the staff are very friendly. What you are paying for is the beautiful grounds of the hall. From the mile drive from the road (due to this you do not hear any noise on the site) passing through stunning parkland with woodlands, the entrance to the park is breathtaking. The Hall itself is a stunning gothic style mansion hotel, bar and restaurant. There are statics and holiday homes on site There is a children's park and football area situated well away from the touring site and also a lovely fishing pool free to park users. There are 2 woodland walks clearly sign posted on site which take advantage of the fantastic scenery and the ancient trees that are on the site. The site was so peaceful and relaxing, even with children on site plus dog friendly.
The grounds are extremely well kept and a pleasure to walk around. Due to Covid restrictions the restaurant wasn't open but takeaway food was available and drinks on the patio area. Looking forward to going again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2020
Thank you Jayne for your review following your stay with us here on the Park. You truly have summed up Mellington Hall and its grounds in all it's glory however we are slightly bewildered about your comments on our nightly charges. The £30 we charge per night is including VAT, electric, water and tv hook-ups. We do not charge any extras such as cars, dogs, awnings or visitors unless there are more than two adults staying overnight in one unit. It also includes the use of our shower block with plenty of hot running water and power showers. As you say, even our fishing is free! The majority of the money from the touring park greatly contributes to our well kept grounds, staff salaries, insurance, rates, bin collections, wood chipping the well kept path ways and literally keeping a roof on Mellington Hall Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again next year. With kind regards, Claire Evans Mellington Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy C wrote a review Mar 2020
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for breakfast and ordered over the phone. Place seemed deserted on arrival. It took some time to find a staff member. Eventually, found someone and two breakfasts were supplied. One supposedly hot meal was still chilled inside. We rejected the meal. No apology. Twice the lady serving walked out while I was talking to her clarifying the issue and what option I would like instead. Meal was replaced with an acceptable alternative, for which I paid for and a refund was given for the cold meal. Very small amount of coffee in pot of coffee, so I had to buy a second one. The place past its best and gone down hill since our previous visit which was very good (in autumn 2019). An attractive old building and very pleasant rooms and welcoming log fire - nothing welcoming about the disinterested staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not applicable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hhuseyin2016 wrote a review Jul 2021
New Orleans, Louisiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing building, amazing spot, so peaceful and beautiful views.

We had a wedding and decided to stay at Mellington Hall which is about 25 mins away from the venue.

We arrived at Mellington and was greeted by the amazing Dawn (who seemed to be everywhere and top of everything during our stay)

She showed us to our room and explained breakfast and dinner options.

the room was nice, the building is amazing as well as the grounds.

The dining is value for money as the food is great.

Breakfast was included with plenty of choice and they are not shy with the portions.

My favourite part of the Hall was the staff, they are friendly, helpful and aim to make your stay memorable.

Dawn and her team were amazing.

don't think about it. just go. it's lovely lovely lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
What a wonderful review, thank you! We do hope that you will visit us again soon. With kind regards, Claire Evans, Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vix2013 wrote a review Oct 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 6 adults and 1 child in for afternoon tea for my Mum’s 60th and we were blown away by the quality of the food and service! The hot mini burgers and sausage rolls are genius and the sandwiches, cakes and scones were super fresh and delicious. We had 2 vegans in our group and they were also catered for brilliantly. My son was thrilled with his grown up personal tray which was such a great touch!

The price is amazing - to pay under £20 a head for this level of food, service and setting is superb; I’d be back weekly if we were local!

Thank you all for the special touches of the banner and balloons - this was so very kind and having our own Alexa in the room was an added treat.

100% recommend - this is the best afternoon tea I’ve ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Hi Victoria Thank you so so much for your fantastic review following your Afternoon Tea here at Mellington Hall. We are delighted that you, your mum and your party enjoyed your experience and we do hope to see you again. With kind regards, Claire Evans Mellington Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher C wrote a review Aug 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had afternoon tea here, despite pre booking we were sat in reception by the main door as though we had turned up on spec
To start with we were given plain ham, plain cheese and egg mayo, questioned staff about mustard and chutney who advised that most people don’t want them but if we wanted they would bring some mustard. Bread was doughy and egg mayo sandwich bread soggy and wet
The sandwiches were all replaced. scones were dry and cakes looked totally in appetising
Most of it was left
This is a posh building but food and service do not match it even down to beach party napkins we did complain to the waitress and manager who basically could not have cared less both just saying thank you for your feedback and we will tell the chef - basically we’re not interested in my complaint
Would not recommend for afternoon tea
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Thank you ChristophercS3100AV for your review following your Afternoon Tea at Mellington Hall. We are perplexed as to your feedback as we take customer service seriously so very rarely receive complaints about our Afternoon Teas having been voted one of the top 10 venues in Mid Wales for our popular Afternoon Teas. We had a party of 22 in the room next door to yourselves who had exactly the same Afternoon Tea who were all really happy with their sandwiches and cakes, commenting on the excellent quality and quantity. These other comments from our large party justify our staff's "not interested" attitude because your complaints came out of the blue and was totally unexpected. You only have to read our previous excellent TripAdvisor reviews. We do not advertise ourselves as being "posh", we are a down to earth family, running a down to earth business with down to earth staff. Should we be a "posh" venue or a five star venue, then our prices would not be as reasonable as they are. It's unfortunate that you felt you were an after thought too as your table was laid in our lounge on comfy settees with a table cloth laid prior to your arrival, so this should not have been an issue. Thank you again for your feedback however we feel there is no problem to be resolved here at Mellington Hall. Claire Evans Mellington Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaulWeavers wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The most important thing was how lovely the staff were. Dawn and her team run a relaxed and incredibly friendly hotel. We were looked after very well and the food (dinner and breakfast) was great. The hotel is being renovated room by room so you may not get one of the newly refurbished ones (the others and some of the public areas are rather dated). We felt the food was great value but we felt the rooms were very pricey for what you get. The whole hotel has huge potential to be an amazing country house hotel but it would need a lot of money spent on it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Check the actual room you'll be in - they vary a lot. The views over the front are lovely but...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Thank you Paul for your four star review and for your comments. Firstly, may I thank you for your kind words about our staff and our food. We always strive to look after our customers and serve great food at all times. Secondly I'm slightly disappointed with your review on our letting rooms. As you can appreciate, during the lockdown, we were closed on and off for two years with little or no income. However, we bit the bullet just last month and closed our hotel for two weeks (again with a loss of income) to install a brand new water heating system which cost us £25,000. Also we upgraded our fire alarm system at the cost of £13,000, which our customers don't see. We have totally renovated a selection of our letting rooms where we are gradually working our way around our other lovely rooms. Our charges for our rooms are justified as we do need to pay the staff, pay the rates, insurance, ever increasing gas and electric charges, water rates, logs for the open fires, phone bills, insurance and the list goes on. Please remember that our charges are including VAT, so what we charge is actually 20% less than advertised. Also your breakfast, teas and coffees in your room are included in the price. Since my husband's grandad purchased Mellington Hall in 1958 when Mellington was due to be demolished, we have continued to invest in the property using the income from our adjoining holiday home park, as the hotel would not stand on it's own two feet without this separate income. I do hope you can appreciate the hard work which we have done so far in keeping Mellington Hall alive for all our customers now and for generations to come. We do hope to see you again at Mellington Hall. With kind regards, Claire Evans Mellington Hall Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lykr1 wrote a review Dec 2020
Welshpool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
New Covid Rules just come in so mulled wine off the list.
However the non alcoholic version was absolutely lovely.
Our group of four friends had a lovely time this afternoon.
Food was faultless and well worth the cost.
Situ is stunning and the ambience was just right.
We all felt safe too...
We left feeling very full and a doggy bag each...
Thank you to all
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and hope to see you all again soon. With kind regards, Claire Evans Mellington Hall Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann D wrote a review Aug 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed on the tourer area twice. First time in lockdown, then again this May. Was very disappointed. Booked pitch 6 in March, when we arrived, prices had been increased without notification, and we were given pitch 5. Said we booked 6...to be told they booked 10 nights and you only booked a week! Shower and toilet block not finished, long walk to the facilities, shower was a step up and step down, not good when you have a disability. Advertised free wifi, that didn't work. Told the staff to be told they had a problem with it and it was not working at all. My friend went last week (beginning of August.) still no wifi, toilet and shower block still not finished! Pitches are not at all level and for the money they are asking now these should be fully serviced, not just water, electric and tv, they need levelling and grey water drainage. We were woken by dog on next pitch constantly barking from 5 a.m. On return I emailed the owner to say we were disappointed because of the above....her response was 'you should make this visit your last, as you are never happy'. So, we have found other places to visit now! Had recommended this previously as the views are wonderful, but will not be recommending again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Evans, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Anne, you have posted this review following your stay in May which was three months ago so your review is not following your stay on the 11th August. The refurbishment of our new shower block is going to plan however there is a shortage of materials and labour which is global. Once it's finished it will be one of the smartest shower blocks in the County! I see from our Facebook page that your friend checked in with us a few weeks ago, where we feel you are both in cahoots with each other! Each time you stay with us you are unhappy so as I mentioned before, it would be a great idea for you to not visit us again for the sake of yours and my own sanity! I'm delighted that you have found other sites so I hope you will be very happy visiting these in the future. As you can see from other reviews, our customers are very happy with our Park. Take care, Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
s j asked a question Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We would like to know if there are any pubs nearby please?
Answer from Mellington2017
Montgomery, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Good Morning, The hotel has bar facility's as well as restaurant all menus and prices are on the website, pubs are a little drive away in the area Mongomery 3 miles Bishops Castle 5 miles.
Answer from Mellington2017
Montgomery, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello Sorry for delay, about a mile Regards Mellington Hall
Sarah K asked a question Apr 2018
4 contributions
Are dogs allowed in all rooms?
Answer from Simon P
Birmingham, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
I’m sorry but I do not know the answer to your question as we do not own a dog. I would contact the hotel directly.
RKL527 asked a question Nov 2017
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Is Mellington Hall still open
Answer from polly017
Shropshire15 contributions22 helpful votes
Yes.. we went there (November 2017) for an overnight stay and meal. It was lovely. It's been taken over and everything has been revamped. Very nice place now.
powys1 contribution1 helpful vote
We as a hotel have no dress code, although we dont as a rule see many in jeans for a wedding party but would say still acceptable. Kind regards,
JVianney wrote a tip 17 Jun
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t always rely on satnav in this country area. The Hotel is very warm, looking forward to a winter visit."
Read full review
AntoniaTrip wrote a tip May 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom463 contributions139 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are well appointed, so don't worry."
Read full review
HarrySteele7 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Stourbridge, United Kingdom66 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There’s a nearby vineyard worth a visit 😀"
Read full review
James D wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss out. Book a meal or room, or just pop in for a drink."
Read full review
Lashl wrote a tip Aug 2023
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom39 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mums disabled so drove to the back carpark where there is ramps into the hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mellington area.
PRICE RANGE
£158 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel mellington hall
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysMontgomeryMellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MELLINGTON HALL COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Montgomery Castle (3.7 miles), The Old Bell Museum (3.6 miles), and Poetry Pharmacy (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Checkers, The Chai Shop, and The Castle Hotel Restaurant.
Is Mellington Hall Country House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the centre of Mellington.
Are pets allowed at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mellington Hall Country House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mellington Hall Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mitchell's Fold Stone Circle (4.5 miles).
Is Mellington Hall Country House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mellington HotelsMellington Hotel Deals
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire