We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
 Click to rate
Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Fantastic service, helpful and smiling staff. They make you feel it`s a good day :) Easy access to the hotel in the middle of the town, parking spaces are available. Wonderful variety of local food like salmon and different cheese. Tasty, fresh breakfast which is a great starter for the day.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magne P
Management response:

Hi! Thank you for you review of our service. We are pleased to read your comments! Welcome back:-)

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 November 2016

OK room. Good breakfast, waffle buffet in the afternoon and light evening meal included in room price. Nice staff. OK location centrally located in Gjøvik, near the railway station and court house. The in-house restaurant is Egon, a Norwegian chain that's not fabulous. Other options near by are better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HalvorF466
Management response:

Hi Thank you for this review. We appriciate it! Egon is not part of our hotel, though they are our room-service alternative because we don't have that service ourselves. Lots of nice people working there, the food is what it is... Heidi Bø GM

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Nice and friendly staff, nice rooms, good location. I was a part of a choir workshop. The food for the workshop was good, we could chose either healthy or sweet. The food variety for breakfast and lunch was a little disappointing. Everything clean.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416livd
Management response:

Thank you, this means a lot to us! Welcome back! MVH Heidi Bø GM

W Yorkshire
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I stayed here last night. As per Norway standards the rooms were very expensive @£140 a night. The room was tiny, dimly lit and rather grim if I'm honest. They supply free food for dinner and breakfast which is quite a shocker for Norway. It's not exactly Michelin starred, but for free who cares. I had a decent salad, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
Management response:

Hi I'm sorry for your problems at our front desk. We did not mean to charge you double and our receptionist had only worked for a few days. I think she learned a lot from this experience, so thank you;-) Most of our rooms are renovated, so again, this was not your lucky day. When you come back to us...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The hotel has an excellent location very close to Gjøvik train station. 24 hour open reception is great as there always are someone available if you need help. Room cleaning during the stay was poor and prices per night are very high, so it's almost impossible to stay for long. I will not return unless it's cheaper.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 490aidaa
Silje R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate this. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations this time. I hope you will give us a second change, don`t hesitate contacting us the next time you`re coming to Gjøvik. All the best, Silje Jørgensen GM

Skopje
Reviewed 16 September 2016

It is a deacent hotel. Taking into considerations that Gjovik is small town and there aren't many hotels, this one is one of the 2 best options. If business takes you there, I higly recomend it. The location is good, the centre and bus station are within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pance_poposki
Silje R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review

Hi! Thansk you for your great respons! We hope your stay in Gjøvik was superb and we hope to see you again sometime. You are more than welcome back:-) Silje Jørgensen General manager

Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The Grand hotel has average rooms, a bit old style, but clean. Situated in the heart of Gjovik it offers a mid price sleep. OK bed and a writing desk in the room but no minibar or fridge. Nice welcoming staff and a nice bar. Breakfast OK too, but not up to the average breakfast buffet known in Norway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromNorway
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Transit for 1 night. The hotel is centrally located within the city. Easy to find restaurant and mini mart. Food and breakfast is good. Bathroom is huge with heater, room is very comfortable but a bit small for us with 2 big suitcases. Overall happy to stay in this hotel. Staff were friendly too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venn_Wong
Silje J, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your review, we really appericiate it! Hope to see you in Gjøvik again! Best regards, Silje Jørgensen General manager

Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel in March 2016. This is a average hotel that is ready for refurbishment. The hotel feels a bit old, and the rooms is nothing more than OK. The location of the hotel is central and nice, but the parking is a nightmare. I was offered to park in the backyard, but it's so small that I just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders S
Silje J, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the tie to write us a review! We have just finished a big renovattion of the hotel and we are proud of new rooms, new lobby and new conference. The hotel parking cost 150 NOK pr night, and the private parking cost 450 NOK per night. Thank you for compliments on our breakfast, it is...

Kongsvinger, Norway
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We had ordered a superior room for three persons but where given an ordinary double room with an extra bed. I had to complain and then we where given a new room, a bottle if Wine, and a serious discout of the fee. Wery nice 😄😄😄 The hotel is otherwice nice and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tone H
Silje J, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review

Hi, Good to hear that it was taken care of:-) Have a nice day, and enjoy the summer! Silje Jørgensen Hotelldirektør

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjovik
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
23.3 mi away
Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
23.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
228 reviews
13.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
23.5 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Address: Jernbanegata 5, Gjovik 2821, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Gjovik Municipality > Gjovik
Price Range: £120 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Collection Hotel Grand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms are different, so if you aren't happy ask to see some others.”
 of 5 bubbles MooJBarber, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you aren't staying above the disco”
 of 5 bubbles Nfld_Guy, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
2 of 2