We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 278: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
 Click to rate
Kelty, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The usual first class standard when you find it. Unfortunately no restaurant facilities.this is my review so why do you choose to tell me how many characters I have to type when I feel I have completed my review ?

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank alexander_hamilton5
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This Premier Inn is a little bit dated compared to most. The walls are paper thin and there is no chance of getting any sleep if you have someone talking in the room next door. No breakfast available. However, the restaurant next door is fabulous!

Thank M876
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Led to believe breakfast at restaurant next door -this was not the case. Fortunately Costa ,Greggs & Sainsbury near buy but we had to source our own. Rooms small, dull, bathroom tiny not up,to usual standard. Staff very helpful and friendly. Location excellent for Stadium of Light and town

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank catherine182
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

I stay in lots of premier inns. This was very basic in comparison and in desperate need of a refurb as it still has keys. The room was clean and sufficient but felt cold and needed the heating on. The bathroom had half a bath. Which for someone who is 6ft 5 meant no bath for me. Shower was good...

Thank rokardphu
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I was able to double the duvet and cover myself that way! Didn't realise there were no breakfast facilities. Maybe should have read up on this one more. The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stopped in a few PIs, some brand new, so I'm not comparing apples with apples here. This hotel is ok for a quick one night stop over, could do with a refurb, rooms are a bit dated, our room had a smell of dirty dishcloth, obviously the cleaner needs to clean her/his cloth when cleaning the bathroom. saying that the...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank Russ N N
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Everything excellent at the hotel BUT the web site says there is a restaurant next door where a breakfast can be obtained. This is not the case... All staff were friendly and a taxi cost £6 into town.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank jonny243
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Jusdt staying one night with one child on a leisure trip. made the booking in a hurry and didn't notice there were no breakfast facilities. Annoying in the morning to have to head off elsewhere for breakfast. Hotel not up to usual Premier Inn standards. Looks a bit worn and dated and old rooms keys not keycards. Needs an upgrade...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank cjmstirling
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our Sunderland North West Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. We wish...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I visited this Hotel as part of a large gymnastics squad. On arrival the lady on reception 'Lisa' was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful beyond duty. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. My room was clean and a good size, plenty of storage space. The shower over the bath was very powerful and hot which was great. The...

Thank Shaznmark2014
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here last night and to be honest it was alright. Good points first - receptionist on arrival was lovely very chatty but lovely. Reasonably priced. Nice deep bath. Triple glazing so very little noise from outside if any. And next door to a decent bar especially if catch cocktails on happy hour!!! Bad points -...

Thank HAWM83

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Dining (3)
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
667 reviews
2.5 mi away
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
781 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
North West is close to Sunderland City centre, The Stadium of Light and Aquatic Centre, offering a perfect base from which to explore Sunderland, Newcastle, South Shields and surrounding areas. Some of the comfortable rooms at Premier Inn can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children are also served a free full breakfast, when accompanied by an adult purchasing a full cooked breakfast. The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection. Premier Inn Sunderland North West is next to ‘Liberty Browns’newly refurbished restaurant, which offers a wide variety of freshly prefared food which consists of Pizza House,Bar and Grill, offering a great experience in dining. Opposite is also D & W fitness centre with day rates available. There is free parking and a 24-hour reception at this Premier Inn. Hotel Rooms: 63. Hotel Chain: Premier Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Address: Timber Beach Road | Off Wessington Way, Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: £43 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
San Diego, California
11 months ago
Northern Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor, very little disturbance.”
 of 5 bubbles 413marier, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the carvery on Sunday”
 of 5 bubbles PeterPhil10, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay else where”
 of 5 bubbles JulieQ216, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the car park are quiet. Ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift if you have difficulty with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 59bluecow, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room to the rear of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles stevebamford1, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5