We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Inn

Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (25)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Sitting in the middle of stunning Derbyshire countryside, The White Hart Inn is a classic English inn given a swirl of modernity thanks to a recent renovation. Reclaimed brick and stone walls with solid oak beams mean the original character of the building has stayed intact but expect plenty of 21st century touches. Bedrooms feature stylish fabrics with on-trend wallpapers, crisp white bed linens and chic scatter cushions. Downstairs the welcoming wood-panelled bar serves real ales, cocktails and everything in between while the restaurant dishes up homemade meals using locally-sourced ingredients.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room service
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
334Reviews
174Photos
4Q+A
42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 72
  • 18
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The White Hart is one of our usual eateries in the area but it really failed to hit the mark on our last visit. It's strange that even though this pub predates the sister pub in Wessington; The Horse and Jockey, it is not quite near the same standard. We opted for the fish and
Read more
Response from LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The White Hart Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent review of The White Hart. I will pass all your comments about the food onto the kitchen team especially with regards to the fish and chips not being up to standard. Also with regards to the desserts again not being big enough. We always recommend mentioning to a member of staff about any issues a guest may have during the day. No matter what age or position they are they all know what to do if someone has an issue. We always have a member of management on shift regardless so if this was mentioned on the day this could of been dealt with more effectively. If you had mentioned about the dishes not being up to standard we would have swapped the dish or either a new one or totally different dish altogether to ensure you left happy. So it is a shame this couldn't have had a different outcome for you. we are totally committed to all aspects of all of our venues from restaurant, to weddings and into the bedrooms, in fact we welcome feedback of all kinds. We are always looking to improve our standard hence why we ask for feedback. it is a shame you wont return but if you do please mention any issues on the day when we can do something about it. Thank you once again for your review.
Read more
Long story short: Food was cold ( the warmest thing I ingested was a pint of lager) Undercooked food ( I'm a chef, so I know my stuff) Also breaking several food hygiene rules by waiting staff bringing bags of rubbish through the restaurant in front of eating customers (
Read more
Response from LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The White Hart Inn
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Thank you for your recent review of The White Hart. We appreciate all feedback we receive though being a chef yourself you'd know that it is much better to be told on the day so something can be done/amended for you rather than hearing about it through another route, especially when someone goes through the effort of creating a tripadvisor profile just to complain. so if your food was cold and undercooked we could of exchanged it or made a fresh meal altogether if mentioned there and then. We want our guests to leave happy, if they aren't we can sort something there and then for them. If you were on the bottomless brunch the cocktails aren't an extra charge you pay the £25 per person and can have as much as you want for the 2hrs you get the table. so you can see why this deal is such a good and popular one. We haven't had anyone else mention before about rebranding our bottomless brunch but I will let the relevant team know. I will mention to the manager about the rubbish bags as this shouldn't have happened. thank you again for your review and feedback.
Read more
We enjoyed a pleasant dinner here on Christmas Eve, December 2018. The dining room was spacious and warm, and the welcome we received was cheerful and professional. Overall, our dining experience was quite good. The restaurant wasn’t particularly busy, but initial service,
Read more
Response from LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The White Hart Inn
Responded 10 Feb 2019
thank you for your recent review of The White Hart. It's lovely to hear about your Christmas Eve meal with us. Apologies about the slow start and unavailable dishes on this visit. It's great that you enjoyed your meals with the beef being tasty and the monkfish too. Our menu has recently changed over the last week which has a bigger and wider variety, hopefully something for everyone. we look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again for your review.
Read more
Visited Saturday lunch just before Xmas. No booking, but were accommodated. Place was quite busy with Parties & had a nice friendly atmosphere. I had the blade of beef, which was very nice. My wife had the pie, which she also complimented. Will certainly revisit,.
Read more
Response from LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The White Hart Inn
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Thank you for your recent review of The White Hart. It's great to hear you were accommodated without a booking and you found our venue to have a friendly atmosphere. I will let the kitchen team know of your lovely comments with regards to the food and we can't wait to welcome you back. thank you once again for your review.
Read more
Just took the family to the restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday. The menu selection was disappointing, apparently it is reduced due to it being New Years Day, which is fair enough, but should have been made clear at time of booking. Now the meal itself: we all commented
Read more
Response from LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The White Hart Inn
Responded 3 Jan 2019
Thank you for your recent review of The White Hart. We apologise that the menu change wasn't made aware to you on booking however, the menu had been available online for at least a month and our festive menus do change from our normal menu, this is to make it more of an occasion on special days. I apologise about the food being very salty - I have since spoken with the kitchen team with regards to this. so thank you for mentioning it to us. We have spoken to the team with regards to asking for more chips and we think this was miscommunicated as they thought that you just required an extra side of chips as they hadn't had a complaint about them or wasn't brought to a managers attention. We do take our customer service very seriously and we do make sure we do all we can for guests when they bring complaints forward whilst they visit, this way they can sort it there and then, change your dish or even get a whole new meal. we really do listen to our customers feedback and we hope that you will return just so we can show you that we do. thank you once again for your review.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe White Hart Inn
Front Door
PreviousNext
1234567
Hi, what bottled beers are served in the bar? Thanks
Hi Matt, at the minute we have by the bottle (these are subject to change): Corona, Desperado, Budweiser, Heineken and Peroni also a non alcoholic Bavaria we also have a wide selection of draughts lagers and ales too hope this helps many thanks
0 votes
Show all answers
Are dogs permitted in bedrooms please
Unfortunately dogs are not permitted in our hotel rooms. Kind regards, Emily Harris Reservations Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Thank you for your question, the nearest town to us is Alfreton. The is a bus which goes direct from Derby to Alfreton which you can catch, and then I would recommend getting a taxi from Alfreton to the hotel. The are usually many taxis around the bus station in Alfreton, but if not our recommended taxi supplier is Amber Taxis who you can call on 01773 836100. If you have any further queries at all please call us on 01629 534888 and we will be happy to help. We look forward to seeing you next week!
0 votes
Show all answers
I am a very light sleeper do you have a function on 15th and16 th of October(next Thursdayand Friday?
We had an excellent nights sleep, very quiet and could hear a pin drop in room 6. There were no functions when we visited however you need to check with the hotel.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Ask for a room with a countryside view"
"We did not overnight - only dinner."
"Didn't sleep over but would imagine it is excellent"
"All rooms are generous in size, those at the rear avoid the noise of people leaving events held at the hotel which is seemingly popular"
"All rooms look out over open country, but maybe the front could be less peaceful, as the main car park's there."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandAlfreton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing