Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Rijksweg A 4 Nr.3, 2132MA Hoofddorp The Netherlands
Heerlijke bedden!
Traveller (2125)
Room & Suite (297)
Dining (222)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 19 hotels in Hoofddorp
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
4,329Reviews81Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,435
  • 2,001
  • 563
  • 196
  • 134
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tcm0162 wrote a review Feb 2020
Blackwood, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed a leisurely two night break at The Van Der Valk. The hotel is very large and seemed to be full, none the less you never had the feeling of being over occupied.
The facilities are very pleasant, the lounge/bar area was always busy but very nice and spacious. Prices were reasonable with the food and drinks selection exceptional.
We had the superior twin room which was excellent value, clean, spacious with two single beds which was ideal as my partner snores quite loudly and has a tendency to absorb the duvet.
The pool was of a decent size and available from 8 a.m to 10 p.m. There is a 5m ironing room which turned out to be very convenient, I will definitely remember this room for next time, I wish all hotels had this facility available.
With all things considered I would absolutely recommend The Van der Valk hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
duhoz wrote a review Mar 2020
Beroun, Czech Republic
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not judge the hotel by the book cover. The hotel looks as it had its best days behind. But rooms modern, spacious, super clean with comfy mattresses for a good night rest. Bathroom with shower and tube, WIFI at rooms strong. The rooms can be a little bit noisy due to the taking off airplanes just over the hotel. I like cold rooms for good sleep but I could feel cold blowing draught from the window and balcony but there is portable heating should you need. I was placed there as a stranded passenger of KLM. My stay included 10 min shuttle (every 40 min) dinner and breakfast. Due to the current Corona virus matter not only restaurant but also other facilities closed so meals were brought as rooms service. The meals delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carrilho- Rodriguez wrote a review Jan 2020
Brooklyn, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The service is good, the rooms are clean. If you're looking for a basic hotel, you just go to Van der Valk. Very functional, but affordable.

Some rooms I like, some I don't like. In some rooms there is no proper separation between the bedroom and toilet, so no privacy at all.

The breakfast is very basic too. It's functional.

It would be nice if the hotel would provide shower caps, that's usually standard at a hotel.

I also think it would be nice if the indoor pool was open 24/7.

The beds are fine, the rooms are fine nothing special. The size is okay for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom H wrote a review Jul 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my girlfriend where going to stay together at the hotel for 1 night before our flight. At first we where supposed to get there together around the same time but because my trains had issues I was not going to make it. When I realized I was notgoing to be in time i called the hotel to ask if I my girlfriend could check in already (because the reservation was under my name). The lady on the phone told me that would not be a problem since I let them know in advance.

When my girlfriend got to the hotel they refused to check her in before I send them an "official email" saying I would allow her to do so. When my girlfriend called me to tell me this issue occurred they just refused to take the phone so I could explain that I had spoken with them before. to conclude this part I send the email and after 20-30min of waiting and arguing she got allowed into the room.

When I finally arrived at the hotel I went to the front desk to pick my key up and let them know I had arrived. However When I told the lady my girlfriend had already checked in she told me she could not check me in because I did not k now the room number (obviously because i just arrived) so when I told her I did not know the room number she refused to check me in (reservation still under my name) I then asked her if she could check since it must be in the system and the response I got was "pfffff okay let me check the system" eventually she gave me the room key and I was finaly able to check in.

I also got a free drink at their bar since I booked trough their own website however, I waited for 15min at the table while the bartender was there (on his phone) and did not even notice us so eventually i had to go over to him and try to order from the bar.

Upon checkout we wanted to take the shuttle bus back to the airport since our flight would leave soon. However the guy behind the desk told us we should have reserved our place in the bus (this was never mentioned to us) but apparently that is why they have a very small sign on the side of the front desk to tell you. if you don't see it that is too bad for you I guess?

All by all we had a terrible experience and I would not go back and would not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office manager B, General Manager at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read that you had such a bad experience in our hotel. We would really appriciate you contacting the hotel directly with your reserationnumber or last name so we can investigate. Our sincere apoligies Kind Regards Front Office Manager Hotel Schiphol A4
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willeke A wrote a review Sept 2020
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the location of the hotel is along the highway A4 my room had an amazing view at the golf course at the back side of the building. So the room was quiet and peaceful. Soundproof. Very spacious, Coffee/tea facilities in the room. Free parking. Very close to the airport with shuttle service. Definitely high quality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tarquin Montague wrote a review Feb 2024
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently purchased a Louis Vuitton lunchbox for my bread and meat and told the PA we needed a trip to test it out. Amsterdam was the selected destination and the PA booked us at this establishment. Upon arrival it was discovered we’d arrived 2hrs before checkin, rather peed off about the prospect of having to wait around I began shouting obscenities at the PA for his poor time management skills. Not long afterwards a room was found and I followed the PA with my Louis Vuitton lunchbox while he carried my 15 piece matching set of Louis Vuitton luggage to the 3rd floor. Upon entering the room I was rather impressed, it was fairly large and appeared to have been recently refurbished. After a long drive the PA needed to abuse so headed straight to the water closet, it then became apparent the door in the bathroom wasn’t much of a door as it didn’t close the entire gap in the wall; so as a result I could hear everything that was going on in there. And to make matters worse when I popped in to use said water closet later on it became clear the PA hadn’t flushed! Feeling parched we headed down to the bar, there were many individuals that I could only describe as “anoraks” perched at the bar, the PA enquired and apparently they were getting their place in the queue for an anorak convention in the morning. We got talking to 2 gentlemen “anoraks” sat next to us who must have been about 12 pints deep, nice fellows who then invited us to join them for dinner. The 3 course meal was lovely however the PA did see his mushroom starter again at 2am. Once it became time for bed I demanded the PA turn lights out; however the room was still lit up like the Blackpool illuminations. After some investigation the thermostat was found to be the culprit, the PA hung one of my cashmere jumpers (high street brand) over it and told me to go to sleep. Several hours later I awoke in a fright thinking there was a ghost in the room, however it was just the light from the thermostat shining through the jumper. Other than that frightening moment I had a very good sleep, the PA on the other hand hadn’t as he was apparently up all night vomiting. When we went to checkout the foyer was absolutely rammed with anoraks arriving their event. Overall I had a pleasant stay and the Louis Vuitton lunchbox worked a treat, would definitely consider staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Bored Traveler wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I staid before in a van der Valk hotel, and the brand stands for quality.
The room was comfy, and big, with a seperated toilet and shower, a comfy bed, a balcony. I staid in room 7014.

The hotel is near Amsterdam-Schiphol Airport, and has a regular shuttlebus service to it.

There are plenty of facilities, like a swimming pool, fitness, indoor and outdoor.

The restaurant has a wide choice with food and beverages, and if ypu don't fancy it, there are some restaurants near the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annelies B wrote a review Sept 2020
Antwerp Province, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I prefer Van der Valk when it comes to the Park-Sleep-Fly option. The room is great, the shuttle bus runs, and mostly the communication with the staff is first rate! In these times it is even more important to be able to rely on a hotel which takes good care of health measures, and gives you a fast and positive answer to all question. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pablo Bee wrote a review Oct 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed at a few Van Der Valk hotels in Holland, this whilst not the best of them was a satisfactory stay. Stayed here after staying at the Van Der Valk in Hoorn. The difference in finish, quality and overall feel was quite noticeable. The double bed was comfortable but oddly had two single duvets. The room whilst clean overall had small areas of either dirt or hair left behind from previous guests.

We were in the newly renovated wing, the room (5014) was massive yet had little storage space and an oddly shaped open plan sink area with separate bathroom and shower cubicle. The hot drinks selection was underwhelming in the room compared to other Van Der Falk hotels.

Breakfast was good, a very good selection of food options, fresh fruit and hot drinks.

The pool (good size) and fitness area was very good.

The shuttle bus journey was very user friendly and left promptly as advertised. There was no need to book with reception as outlined in the information.

It was disappointing that they charged a fee to hold your luggage. The hotel is vast and it seems odd that the small areas of lockers is the only space they have for you to leave luggage.

I left an item on my room, when I called less than 24 hours later they said it wasn’t found in my room. So either it was thrown away or not handed into lost property.

I would definitely recommend staying here and would stay here again. Especially as we got a great deal with Secret Escapes that included a welcome drink early check in and breakfast in the price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skytourist wrote a review Sept 2020
Peebles, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I missed my flight connection and was put up by klm in this hotel. In my experience the hotels linked to airlines are basic. Nothing could be further from the truth. Well done to the reception staff for quickly and efficiently checking in a full bus load of passengers. My room was very big, clean and most importantly quiet. Breakfast during Covid is never normal but this was better prepared than many hotels I have stayed in over the past few months. I can’t comment on the restaurant/fitness facilities other than to say , they exist.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from BeppieChick
Napier, New Zealand574 contributions186 helpful votes
never heard of that - best to ask the hotel direct
paul55000 asked a question Sept 2019
Phoenix, Maryland11 contributions4 helpful votes
Early check in?
Answer from Qh v
Roermond, The Netherlands48 contributions48 helpful votes
check inn can be discuss but normally after 2pm
Nina2399 asked a question Jun 2019
Karlsruhe, Germany478 contributions114 helpful votes
We plan maybe to stay here 2 nights, what would be the price for parking during our stay?
Answer from LouiseCastricum
Peyia, Cyprus70 contributions18 helpful votes
Parking is free if you stay at the hotel.
SSahaS asked a question Nov 2018
New Delhi, India36 contributions
What is the pick up point for the shuttle to the hotel?
Answer from Henleydave
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom124 contributions64 helpful votes
Outside the hotel , inside the hotel by reception there is a timetable
Henry R asked a question Nov 2018
Helsinki, Finland5 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, can you tell me how long the shuttle bus takes from Schipol to the hotel?
Answer from Regina C
Sunbury-On-Thames, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Its around 10-15mins. Its very close to hotel.
jackykneller wrote a tip May 2024
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t pay for private transportation from the airport as there is a free shuttle bus service from the hotel which no one told us about."
Read full review
Dorina S wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here! They are rude and the ride to the airport as well as the cost are not worth it!!!!"
Read full review
bolkje wrote a tip Dec 2023
Overijse, Belgium23 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is free for guests overnight, and they offer longer parking deals with a direct shuttle to the airport about every 40 minutes."
Read full review
Gemma B wrote a tip Dec 2023
15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pay for a private taxi there is a free shuttle from the airport "
Read full review
sanninana wrote a tip Jul 2023
West Bridgford, United Kingdom72 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Shuttle available. Early breakfast available. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoofddorp area.
PRICE RANGE
£91 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schiphol a4 hotel, schiphol a4 hoofddorp
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceHaarlemmermeerHoofddorp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
714
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VAN DER VALK HOTEL SCHIPHOL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Which popular attractions are close to Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Nearby attractions include Royal FloraHolland Visitor Centre (4.1 miles), Escape World Hoofddorp (4.4 miles), and The Panorama Terrace (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria Buoni Amici, Restaurant Oh!, and Bowery Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol have airport transportation?
Yes, Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
All Hoofddorp HotelsHoofddorp Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoofddorpHotels near Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire