We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Svinoya Rorbuer

Gunnar Bergs vei 2, Svolvaer 8300 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (547)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (26)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 4 hotels in Svolvaer
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Svolvaer and Svinoya Rorbuer | Open all year round Our Rorbu Resort is located in the harbor of Svolvaer the capital of Lofoten, and we provide accommodation, dining and activities on both land and sea. Our Rorbu cabins are beautifully located on the waterfront. We are Lofoten in a miniature, with a walking distance to the town center and a short drive to all transportation hubs. On our island you find the sea on one side and the dramatic mountains on the other, offering great views everywhere you lookWe also offer package deals for individuals, groups and cooperation's with accommodation in our original Rorbu cabins, newly built Rorbu Suites and Suite Hotel. We have excellent conference facilities and our renowned restaurant Borsen Spiseri serves locally produced food. With our local identity, knowledge, network and experience, we deliver world class experiences and memories for life.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Gift shop
Room features
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Norwegian
502Reviews11Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 284
  • 168
  • 35
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marie G wrote a review Aug 2020
Oslo, Norway2 contributions
On my first trip (and it will not be the last) to Lofoten (a long week-end, 3 nights), I decided to treat myself to a stay in a rorbue and asked to have a small one with views both on the mountains and sea. The place was absolutely beyond my expectations. I got an amazing rorbue, which has everything you would wish for if you want to experience a typical fisherman cabin in the Lofoten (and my guess is that fishermen did not have so much comfort and amenities). It is super quiet, with outstanding views, and you can relax and cook all the food you want as the kitchen is well-equiped. It is a short walk from Svolvær sentrum and easily accessible. On top of that, the staff is very nice and welcoming. I did not want to leave, and I am already planning my next visit. Cannot wait.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Ilsur K wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
During the trip, I was fortunate enough to stay in Svinøya Robuer. In these fisherman’s cabins I really felt at home and did not want to leave the place. ⠀ Cozy red houses in the capital of Lofoten Islands made me fall in love with the view of the snowy mountains and fishing boats slowly passing by in window frames. ⠀ In addition, caring personnel happily helped with any questions and made me feel like I was a part of a large Scandinavian family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Pål-Fredrik wrote a review Aug 2020
Drammen, Norway96 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 times in july. Really good location First in a Rorbue, cabin, which was really cozy and nice with kitchen, living room and clean. Last time we stayed at their suites which is a big house 4 apartments with view and with full kitchen. Also would recommend the restaurant Børsen in the same area. Would come again to this place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Sleep Quality
Rosemery Z wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions5 helpful votes
The cabins are extremely simple but for the price we paid. We expected basic comfort, but the kitchen lacks dish washer, so be prepared to dedicate your hollyday time and doing dishes. As a guest you are expected to empty the garbage, remove the bed linnens and take all the towels to the hallway. Pet friendly place, the area where the cabis are located has lots activities, but we wouldn't personally say that is a "must visit place".
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Camilla Haukås Skjeseth, Marketing at Svinoya Rorbuer
Responded 31 Jul 2020
Dear, We are really sorry to hear about your disappointment with our cabin. In our original cabins, we do not have a dishwasher, this is only available in our modern cabins (Rorbusuites). We ask our guests to take out the garbage and put the bed linens and towels to the hallway, just to make the cleaning job more effective. We are truly sorry that we did not live up to the expectations.. Hope you had a great time in Svolvær and Lofoten anyway! Best regards, Camilla H. Skjeseth SVINØYA RORBUER
Read more
Mark M wrote a review Jun 2020
Kirkland, Washington658 contributions48 helpful votes
We stayed in a “One-Bedroom Cottage.”  It was nothing fancy and likely inline with a Rorbuer / fisherman’s cabin.  I was a little disappointed in that our cottage had no view and really consisted of one building with two cottages sharing common wall in the living room.  I expected a standalone building.  We were there only one night after taking the Hurtigruten from Tromso and did not spend much time in the cottage.  Parking was not a problem and it's a short drive to town, where we had dinner.  The next day we hiked Fløya and drove to Reine for a couple nights.  I thought other parts of the Lofoten were more scenic, however, Svolvaer is worth a night or two as it has a couple nearby attractions and hikes. 
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
US$133 - US$245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
svinoya rorbuer hotel svolvaer
NorwayNorthern NorwayNordlandLofoten IslandsVaganSvolvaer
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Svinoya Rorbuer
Which popular attractions are close to Svinoya Rorbuer?
Nearby attractions include Lofoten Krigsminne Museum (0.4 miles), Magic Ice Lofoten (0.5 miles), and Lofoten Escape & Adventures AS (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Svinoya Rorbuer?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Kjoekkenet, Borsen Spiseri, and Fellini Pizza Og Grill Svolvær.
Is Svinoya Rorbuer located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Svolvaer.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Svinoya Rorbuer?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Svinoya Rorbuer?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lofoten Museum (3.8 miles).
Does Svinoya Rorbuer have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.