We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Kirkenes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Kirkenes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Kirkenes
 Click to rate
South San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms: Looked like they might need a slight upgrade (green patterned carpets, broken bathroom tile, stained shower drain). I thought the rooms in the Thon were a little better. Service: Reception- Woman at reception seemed a little brash, but it could just be the manner in which she spoke. (Also no early check in.) Everyone else was fine. I overheard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tabz18
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room with my Dad. The hotel is in the town centre probably around twenty minutes drive from Kirkenes airport. Check in was quick and easy, our room was on the 4th floor and was quite large and very cosy. The room was lovely and warm with underfloor heating in the bathroom!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MexicoPrincess
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Dear guest (MexicoPrincess), Thank you so much for your kind review and comment of your recent experience at Scandic Kirkenes. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our facilities and accommodations convenient and comfortable. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon....

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

location was perfect for our needs. breakfast was wonderful, wide spread of food and excellent coffee bar! our room was quiet and clean. slightly outdated,but huge bathtub/shower was a plus. very helpful staff. A+

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silverstreak32
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Dear guest (silverstreak32) Thank you so much for your kind review and comment of your recent experience at the Scandic Kirkenes. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed both our rooms and other facilities. I am especially happy to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast nad that our helpful staff provided you with great service. Have a...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night before joining a cruise. Rooms was clean, and sufficiently spacious. Arrived at hotel with luggage at 11 - check in policy strictly enforced so only able to check in at 2. Kirkenes is a small town so not much to do, and it was snowing. So after a walk around had to spend time in the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevS7
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Kirkenes is such a small city, with beautiful surroundings and a must for intrepid travellers wanting to view the northern lights. The hotel feels small and intimate. A reception/lounge which feeds into the restaurant all greets you to one side of the entrance and lift and corridor to the pool facilities on the other. But whilst having a unique feel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iceanimal
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Dear guest (iceanimal) Thank you so much for your kind review and comment of your recent experience at the Scandic Kirkenes. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed both our rooms and other facilities. I am especially happy to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our variaty of the local choices of food on the menu....

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

trip was arranged by Artisan travel and we had the best adventure holiday. all locals were very friendly and helpful - Hotel was busy but good basic room. clean and warm. there is a swimming pool but we did not get the time to enjoy this

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorothyFLondon
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Dear guest ( DorothyFLondon ) Thank you for leaving a review here on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities here at Scandic Kirkenes. Have a great wntier back home and welcome back at the next occasion. Warm wishes Jevgeni M General manager Scandic Kirkenes

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed staying in Kirkenes and this hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. At the front desk the kids were offered children's colouring in kits and packets of temporary tattoos to play with. We arrived before check in time so were shown the luggage room and a large lounge area to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninels17
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Dear guest (ninels17) Thank you for giving us a feedback regarding your stay. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here at Scandic Kirkenes. It is especially pleasant to read that you have got all the help and assistance you needed from our helpful and service minded colleagues. Have a great trip back home and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there on 27 Jan 2017. The room was clean and big. The hotel is near the city centre. There is a supermarket next door. Buffet breakfast was good. After dinner we walked to the Barents Sea to wait for the aurora.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paxyy
Steffen M, Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Hello paxyy, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after you stay here at Scandic Kirkenes. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Especially that you enjoyed the breakfast. We work continuously to ensure that our guests get the best possible start to their day by having a great breakfast. I hope you saw...

Robina, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Can Not fault the service, restaurant or the room. However, there were a few things not automatically supplied in the room...NO tea/coffee facilities and if you needed a jug you had to ask at reception...which I did...the jug handle was taped on with sticky tape, nevertheless I took it as it was the he only one left! Overall, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Steffen M, Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Hello Anne C, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay with us here at Scandic Kirkenes. I am happy that you found the service good. Unfortunately, Scandic does not have kettles in all rooms, only Superior rooms. However, tea and coffee facilities are available in reception 24/7. We hope to see you again...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel enjoys a great location and offers generally good rooms and facilities- except when it is fully booked. The staff and house keeping are not equipped to handle a full house... rooms not cleaned, staff inattentive, hot water ran out and all kinds of details go missing. It is usually full with bus loads of tourists so expect a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn O
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this review

Dear guest (LuAnn O) Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Kirkenes. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our hotels central location. We are in a middle of a highest tourist season and I am very sorry to read that you have experienced us as a bit crowdy...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 4 in Kirkenes
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#4 of 4 in Kirkenes
34 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
92 reviews
22.9 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
0.0 mi away
Rica Hotel Kirkenes
Rica Hotel Kirkenes
#3 of 3 in Sor-Varanger Municipality
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is centrally located, close to the Snow Hotel and the Varanger museum. Take a trip on snowmobiles, ATVs or dog sleds along the Russian border. Flexible meeting and conference facilities. Why not finish off with a session at our spa, which offers a swimming pool and a sauna? Scandic Kirkenes offers a whole host of possibilities for anyone who wants to explore the region. The hotel has flexible meeting facilities, with 10 rooms and capacity for up to 450 guests. Set aside some time to visit our spa with swimming pool and sauna. If you are arriving by car, we have many outdoor parking spaces. Free WiFi for all hotel guests. With its ideal location and access to authentic Norwegian nature, Scandic Kirkenes is perfect for anyone looking for a fantastic experience, whether you are on holiday or at your next conference. Try out king-crab fishing or a snowmobile safari when you visit us. We can also recommend a husky dog tour for experiencing the majestic nature of Kirkenes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Kirkenes

Address: Kongensgate 1-3, Kirkenes 9915, Norway (Formerly Rica Arctic Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Price Range: £95 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Kirkenes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Kirkenes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Facing the park or above floor 3 (floor 4 or 5).”
 of 5 bubbles DianH904, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Backside away from the street is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Haugavegen, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Highest floor facing the markt square for great view.”
  • Hotel room view from highest floor.
 of 5 bubbles cees3105, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Third floor facing the park”
 of 5 bubbles JanandAnne, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“From airport take a taxi (cost for 4 same as bus) and be in hotel starting dinner by the time the bus arrives with the rest of the guests...”
 of 5 bubbles FvH2014, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5