Cedars Inn Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cedars Inn Hotel

Bickington Road Sticklepath, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE England
Steak
Traveller (286)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (84)
It was a family reunion.
Dining (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Sticklepath
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

Bickington Road Sticklepath, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Exeter Airport
37.3 mi
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
39.1 mi
See all flights
1,324Review8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 498
  • 357
  • 198
  • 145
  • 126
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brian A wrote a review Jan 2020
Woodham Ferrers, United Kingdom6 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were recommended to the Cedars, by a local resident, for a brief visit. The receptionist was very pleasant, but failed to give accurate directions to the room, 24.
After much hunting and asking we found it tucked away, in an alcove, where 24 & 25 faced one another, but this was not apparent, when facing the alcove . A sign on the wall, indicating where 24/25 were would be an asset.
The room itself was OK, although it was cold & we could not find any way of turning the radiator up. The rad being under the window, when the curtains were drawn, they covered the radiator, so all the heat was going up the window!!.
There was no heat in the bathroom except for a heated towel rail. No rubber mat for the bath, if using the shower?/? No drain plug for the sink plus no toilet brush. We asked for the sink plug and rubber mat and these were forthcoming, but feel they should be in place when you arrive.
Another of the party, had to ask for a room change due to mould around the shower.
Food was OK in the evening, but the Breakfast left a lot to be desired. No marmalade available, which seemed odd to me, for this type of establishment. No tea bags were replaced when they ran out.
Girl on the Monday morning seemed totally disinterested, i what she was doing.
There was a large advert on the notice board, in reception, for a Faulty Towers event in May 2020, priced at £25, which had disappeared when we left. Premier Inn better value even if you have to buy a breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Check room as to it fitts your expectation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CedarsGM, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi Brian A, I am sorry you were not impresses with yoru visit. If you would like to discuss this further please email me at 6423@greeneking.co.uk where I can look into these issues further for you, Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyn wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay at the Cedars at least once a year, normally I book directly with the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis. This time I booked 2 rooms with Booking.com on a room only basis, this is a new good value option. Breakfast can be paid for on the day, with 3 price options for adults starting at about £4 fot the light option, up to about £9 for the full English with continental.
This year our stay started a few days after "freedom day" . 2 days before our stay I had a courtesy call to let us know that some restaurant staff had been "pinged " and there would be some changes to bar and restaurant operation for the first couple of days, this did not affect hotel or breakfast.
On arrival we were greeted by the friendly and professional receptionist who again explained the temporary changes to bar and restaurant, and a few other changes since my last visit.
This time we stayed in rooms 11 and 12 which are one above the other(standard/family rooms are on a courtyard ), which was perfect for us. The rooms were as always clean and comfortable. We opted to have housekeeping daily but you can opt not to if that suits you better.
As always all staff that we encountered were lovely.
The only reasons I have knocked 1 star off this rating is because the wifi was a bit hit and miss in room 11.
All in all I find The Cedars is my preferred hotel in Barnstaple, it is a little more expensive than the 2 big chain hotels , but a way more pleasant experience, has car parking for those that need it and is on a direct bus route from the train and coach stations .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mitchell Murrell, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Hi lindaeG9581lz Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so please you enjoyed your time with us ere at The Cedars and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adele B wrote a review Jan 2020
Barnsley, United Kingdom31 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Had high hopes for this place on booking. It’s is a charming property, but the staff and service don’t match up. The reception staff couldn’t have been more helpful, swapping a room booking over for me. The rates were reasonable but, no better than a standard premier inn, and below parr in other ways. As part of a large group for an evening Carvery on Sunday, the food was lukewarm and our plates were left in front of us for nearly 2 hours before one of our group had to ask them to clear the tables so we could order desserts.
Cut to the following morning and the breakfast waitress left me with the overwhelming impression she had better things to be doing. The Eggs Benedict was lousy, quite possibly the worst I’ve ever had, and even the hollandaise sauce seemed to be out of a packet.
Others in the group only rated the full English breakfast as average.
Definitely not on the return visit list for me!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CedarsGM, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi 335adeleb, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to see things were not up to scratch. Please feel free to email me at 6423@greeneking.co.uk where I would like to investigate your concerns further, Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DOMINIQUE MARTIN wrote a review Feb 2020
St Ives, United Kingdom41 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
6 of us booked the 'Only fools and horses' as a new years treat as we all grew up with the programme and thought it would be a fun night out.
We arrived at 6pm for some drinks to start our evening and had to wait 15 minutes at the bar as there was a queue and only one lady serving.
We went into the event room at 7pm and got sat down. One of us went to the bar in the room and again only one person serving so there was a very long queue of a whole room full people wanting to order their drinks. The entertainment started and they were good but they weren't wearing microphones so it was difficult to hear at points, in addition to this, whenever we wanted to get drinks we had to go into the main bar and wait again for 15/20 minutes so two of us would miss out on any of the act.
The food came out very slowly, my two small slices of melon was dissapointing, followed over an hour later by a plate of very dry chicken, 3 small overcooked spuds and a tiny ball of dry as sawdust stuffing. The accompanying veggies were like mush they were so overcooked and flavourless. My sister in law's cheese tart was totally black from being burnt! We we're all so shocked at the very poor quality of food, it was unbelievable.
We wanted to book some more events, but this has been off-putting tbh. It doesn't take much to do it better..put more bar staff on..and only serve food you'd be happy to eat yourself!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CedarsGM, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Hi Dominique Martin, I am very sorry to see you was not pleased with the entertainment from Saturday night. I have taken your feedback on board and will be sure to pass it back to the relevant departments. It was such an extremely busy event and we was slightly understaffed however the overall feedback from the evening has been amazing. However as you have raised some issues I will now investigate these to ensure we can do better next time as to not disappoint our guests. I will also pass your feedback to the comedy dining regarding not being able to hear them to see if this is something they can make better for next time, We do hope you will return again soon, Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel P wrote a review Jul 2021
Kempsey, United Kingdom30 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for two nights as part of visit to RHS Rosemoor & Hestercoombe. Not the best first impression as the gardens, car park and entrance all need some attention. The person on reception was not over friendly either. From reception to the room didn't give the impression of a well looked after establishment.
Our room was as you expect from this sort of chain, and it was clean, plenty of room with a good bathroom with an excellent shower.
We ate in the restaurant the first night - the menu is standard fayre, good service from the young staff and our food was OK.
Breakfast on both days is a bit haphazard and of reasonable quality, the staff try hard but lack any guidance or training. When you see the dining room in the daylight you realise how tired to downright filthy it is in places and is in absolute need of a deep clean. It was difficult to take pictures - but at all levels cleanliness was shocking!
The outside gazebo had two white tablecloths on the floor when we arrived, they were still there when we left wetter and dirtier.
On the day we left, reception was unattended as "she (the Manager) had gone to Sainsburys to get some beef". We mentioned some of the above with no great concern or apology from the person when they returned.
Unfortunately we've booked at another Greene King hotel for an August and paid in advance otherwise we cancel.
DO NOT book in advance there is no cost saving or benefit, more like a £40 premium for two nights.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you must go - choose an upstairs room to avoid noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mitchell Murrell, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2021
Hello GastroGeezer Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues you have raised and we hope you will return again soon, Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcus Gordon D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I visited for a get together. There were 21 of us so naturally we understood that we would need to pre-order our meals. We booked at 6.30 for 7pm as we had 5 children in our party. In spite of the pre-ordering we did not get food until nearly 8pm by which time the children were really hungry. The meals came out 1 or 2 at a time with long gaps between meaning that by the time the last meals arrived the fist people had been finished for ages. It was almost 10pm when we eventually finished and needless the children were extremely tired and grumpy. I emailed the restaurant a few days later to inform them of my dissatisfaction rather than post on here but they did not have the decency to even acknowledge my communication so I felt that I had no choice. I would recommend that you do not use this restaurant particularly if your time is limited. We most certainly will not be spending any more money here.!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CedarsGM, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi marcusgold, I am disappointed to see things were not quite up to scratch during your stay with us. Please feel free to email me at 6423@greeneking.co.uk where we can discuss this further and investigate your complaint, Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eve-boots wrote a review Aug 2020
Barnstaple, United Kingdom183 contributions116 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
we had a booking for 6.30pm. social distancing is all fine. Empty tables were being cleaned every 10 minutes. friendly welcome and waitress was friendly. Starters came quite quickly but long wait for main course. Husband had steak pie which he really enjoyed, I had the sirloin, recommended medium rare on the menu so I asked for medium rare, came up just under well done and obviously waited for the chips as the steak was just warm. When our dishes were picked up, we said we would be having a dessert. 20 minutes later, she came back and asked if our order had been taken, took our order. another 30 minutes later, the sundae arrived. too sweet so we were ready to go. I tried so hard to attract her attention, she spent a lot of time with a table of two lads by her station who I think she knew, so she had her back to us. Eventually standing up and waiting got her attention. Table next to us had a 10 minute wait for the card machine but fortunately she came with the card machine, loaded with the cost (no bill provided) and we didn't bother to add a tip as we would normally do. This is our local and we've been a few times, service is always mixed, never brilliant, food is good value but I'd probably avoid the steaks in future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jttou wrote a review Jan 2020
England33 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our last visit with friends a year ago, so thought we should return with a family member. We asked once again for an accessible room and another room as close as possible. We were given rooms 28 & 29 in the courtyard. The accessible room was very good, with large bedroom and a large disabled wetroom. The bed was very comfortable, tv, desk, hot drinks and clean. Room 29 was upstairs, again bed comfortable and large bathroom with walk in shower, which we were told was excellent. We had breakfast each morning and dinner on two nights, the food was very good, well presented and served with a smile and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, as we asked them to reserve a table just inside the conservatory, as one of the family cant walk very far. All of us enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate to come back to The Cedars, as the facilities for us have been fantastic. We hope other Green King inns take note, and do accessible facilities the same as the Cedars Inn. We will definately be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CedarsGM, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi jttou, Thank you for such a great review. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert J wrote a review Aug 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom246 contributions178 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Midweek visit did not disappoint. Booked in advance, arrived early, table ready. One hour delay for food advised on arrival. Waitress busy so the young lady clearing glasses took our order so our food would be in the queue. This small act was superb - well done - and our food arrived 20 minutes later. A young man was walking around with sanatiser cleaning tables and public areas. Great management here with enthusiastic and client centric staff.
A standard menu we have seen before but the Signature Fish & Chips was great as was my Parners salad with salmon. No room for a pud but we left very happy.
Throughout our visit our waitress was very attentive and friendly...I recall she may have come from Worthing. The Staff here are gems, great food and a lovely experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly K wrote a review Jul 2021
Hamble, United Kingdom47 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 3 night break at the cedars inn with our family of 4. The room information advertised a double bed and sofa bed. It also said that rollaway beds were available. This is not the case!

We are special guardians for our 8yr old daughter and therefore our children cannot share a sofa bed so we planned ahead and contacted the property ahead of time to explain our circumstances and request the roll away bed. We didn’t get a reply.
We arrived at the property and we’re allocate room 31 which is classed as a family room. As soon as we walked in it smelled damp and the first thing we noticed was that there was no rollaway bed. There was also no room to put one. The room is very “compact”. I walked over to reception to explain and spoke to a lady who informed me “we don’t supply spare beds” I mentioned that it said on booking my confirmation that they are available and showed her. She wasn’t interested. She said she would see what she could do and went off to speak to the manager. She shortly retuned explaining there was nothing they could do.
So now I’m getting kind of stressed out because I’m wondering how we can manage this situation.
I asked to speak to the manager and was told to wait. She popped off again and came back to say that the manager was too busy to speak to me and suggested that we pop to the local Sainsbury’s or Asda to purchase an air bed. So now I’m really not happy. We had just driven for 6.5hrs and needed to rest. We had a dinner reservation which I had to cancel and off we trot to Asda where we managed to find a double air bed. All we could think to do was to place it in the bathroom. When we got back to the room we blew it up (thankfully we had a pump) and well if you look at the pictures it was ridiculous and to be honest it was dangerous. If there was a fire there was no way we could get out quickly. So off to Sainsbury’s we went and thankfully we managed to pick up a single air bed. We grabbed a quick McDonalds (we were so hungry and stressed at this point) and went back to the room. We forced the air bed in between the double bed and the sofa bed which itself was awful. It bowed in the middle as was creaky. Of course we now have no bedding so we asked for some and we’re provided with a double duvet which swamped the bed and two tiny pillows in pillowcases 3 times the size. We literally didn’t care at this point.

As we finally get a chance to settle down we begin noticing the patches on the ceiling and paint coming off the walls in the bathroom. The bathroom was filthy, there were cobwebs all over the place and what I can only assume was “poo” wiped on the wall in the bathroom and some pubic hair on the back of the loo ….see pics
All in all it was horrendous. A total waste of money and a ruined weekend with no sleep! We would have been more comfortable camping! At £148 per night I would avoid at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mitchell Murrell, General Manager at Cedars Inn Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2021
Hello KellyK666 Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues you have raised and we hope you will return again soon, Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from MartinLittle2013
United Kingdom37 contributions47 helpful votes
I think your ok with two dogs but i suggest calling them and asking. We always use PetsPyjamas to book with they are awesome try them!
Phillips82 asked a question Mar 2019
Cardiff, United Kingdom89 contributions27 helpful votes
Does this hotel have ironing facilities in the rooms?
Answer from GEC
6 contributions
Yes it does
Jason C asked a question Aug 2017
Rochdale, United Kingdom1 contribution
Do the rooms have TVs in them?
Answer from Karen H
Ryde, United Kingdom20 contributions5 helpful votes
yes. good position for viewing on wall . easy to operate.
Thriftytraveller55 asked a question May 2017
West Midlands, United Kingdom230 contributions39 helpful votes
do they have en suites?
Answer from CedarsGM
Barnstaple, United Kingdom39 contributions3 helpful votes
All rooms are en suite. They all have boosted showers and rain showers. many rooms also have baths with shower over. Also one very large wet room .
Answer from CedarsGM
Barnstaple, United Kingdom39 contributions3 helpful votes
The Cedars inn is pet friendly. please book direct if you are bringing a pet. a small charge applies
Caroline H wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need more staff at busy times and meal nit value fir money"
Read full review
Richard D wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"None I can think of."
Read full review
Tracy C wrote a tip Mar 2024
Victoria, Romania3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Really lovely pub and restaurant but tricky to get to at the moment with the roadworks in this area. Worth the effort to get there though!"
Read full review
JulesT24 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Essex10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Convenient check-in and check-out times "
Read full review
Tom & Lorraine wrote a tip Feb 2024
United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be warned there are major roadworks just outside at Cedars roundabout causing traffic queues. These are expected to be ongoing until July "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sticklepath area.
PRICE RANGE
£67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cedars hotel barnstaple
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonBarnstapleSticklepath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CEDARS INN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Cedars Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cedars Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Air Extreme (0.6 miles), The Plough inn (0.3 miles), and Seaton Artisan Market (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedars Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Cedars Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cedars Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedars Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pelican Fish & Chips, Cedars Inn, and Sainsbury's Supermarket.
Are pets allowed at Cedars Inn Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Cedars Inn Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedars Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Disused Barnstaple Station (1.1 miles), The Guildhall (1.2 miles), and Anderton House (4.1 miles).
Is Cedars Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.