Red Lion Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Red Lion Hotel

Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ England
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 inn in Todwick
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a family-friendly inn in Todwick, look no further than Red Lion Inn.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and a desk, and Red Lion Inn makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the inn, including room service, newspaper, and baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you like cafes, Red Lion Inn is conveniently located near Heaven is Homemade Vintage Tea Room and Heaven is Homemade.

The staff at Red Lion Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Room features
Desk
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
31Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brian R wrote a review Jul 2023
Warsash, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here (with our dog) as a stop over on the way up and back down the A1.

We were very impressed. The room was pleasantly furnished large and spotlessly clean.

We also eat in the pub/restaurant where the meal was good and priced sensibly.

All the staff including those on reception, in the restaurant and the cleaner were really friendly and helpful.

If we needed a stop over on the A1 we would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not from from the A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2023
Thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TyRa63 wrote a review Dec 2023
United Kingdom56 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My parents and I visited here today for our Christmas Lunch. We had a fantastic time, the food was wonderful, especially the Turkey which was melt in your mouth perfectly cooked. The food was plentiful and we were all stuffed but without being over faced by too much food. All 3 courses were fantastic, the drinks were great too. We paid £82.99 each for the meal which was good value for money given it was on Christmas Day and so many staff were working.

Speaking of the staff they were attentive, polite and despite being very busy looking after all of the different families they did it all with a smile and never lost their friendliness.

My parents enjoyed their lunch too and had said it was better than where we went last year and are looking forward to returning next year.

Thank you to all the staff for looking after us on Christmas Day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your Christmas Day with us, we loved every minute! Your kind words have been passed on to the team and we all hope to welcome you back soon. Merry Christmas, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John J wrote a review Mar 2024
Ferndown, United Kingdom23 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent value for money . Clean ,refurbished and nice staff . On site restaurant and bar with modern facilities . Really helpful receptionist on both arrival and departure . Would recommend for sure . Booked a twin room for my son and I and although we arrived early the receptionist tried her best to free up a room for us . The breakfast was well cooked and very enjoyable . Maybe extra toast would be a nice option and it would have been pleasant to have some bottled water in the room as the tap water is not very nice at all ,but these are minor points in an otherwise enjoyable stay . Will definitely return next time in Sheffield .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Free parking but remember to register your vehicle in reception
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Thank you John for your lovely comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We all look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
babsdiy wrote a review Aug 2023
Reading, United Kingdom21 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose the Red Lion at Todwick as it had a wheelchair accessible room and was in an ideal location for our overnight stop on our long journey to the North Yorkshire Dales. It is not easy to find accessible rooms (or reviews) so we try to help future disabled guests by writing them.
On arrival we appreciated the generous 4 disabled parking spaces.
The hotel reception & bedroom are on an upper level accessed via a wheelchair lift. This lift is usable with assistance but my husband struggled on his own as you have to physically open & close the door and he only has one usable hand. The hotel reception was not manned on the Sunday and you needed to go and get staff from the bar/restaurant.
Our room was overall very good and beautifully decorated with a king bed, *two* armchairs and a large wet room.
The bathroom is always the most important room for a disabled guest. This room had good non-slip flooring but had some design faults that do need rectifying.
The minuscule wash basin was useless for washing or shaving or for use by the other guest. A full size barrier-free basin is required. There is no shelf for toiletries.
The shower seat was sited too low (ideal for a child!) and it was a struggle for me to get my husband up from it. An arm/ hand support alongside would help.
The shower controls were sited *behind* you and the shower toiletries sited too high up.
We made the manager aware of these issues but we were amazed to hear she was fully aware of them from previous guest comments!!
She had passed the feedback higher up to Chef & Brewer chain but nothing has been done. These issues need rectifying even if from a potential safety concern.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2023
Thank you for leaving us your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. All your comments will be taken on board so hopefully any improvements can be made in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie M wrote a review Mar 2023
Paphos, Cyprus35 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely rooms, recently updated. The bed is comfortable and with good soundproofing in the room, a good night's sleep is pretty much guaranteed.

The bathroom, like the bedroom is attractively decorated and styled. However, the shower has absolutely no power and is Luke warm. I would have liked a bright light to do my makeup by. Also for the room cost, there should have been decent loo paper rather than the horrible cheap paper.

Room privacy was an issue with the window being in direct view of the pub garden. The room could do with privacy blinds.

Service at the hotel was good. Staff were warm and friendly. We were allowed to check in early which was great after a long drive.

In the evening the restaurant was extremely busy and the food was substandard with my meal having to be returned to the kitchen because the fish was burned and the vegetables overcooked and dry. There were delays and incorrect order delivered to the table which was disappointing. However thanks has to go to our waitress for great service, trying to fix the problems. I don't know her name, but she was bubbly and friendly.

Location was good just off the main road to Sheffield. Good for nice walks around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking, great location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2023
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and the few things you have mentioned will be looked in to. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mint Cracknel wrote a review Mar 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom70 contributions71 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
2 of us went for a special occasion Friday at 5pm and would definitely not return or recommend.
I had smothered chicken which consisted of a tiny chicken breast sliced in half presumably to make it look like there was more chicken, with a hard piece of bacon served with very wilted lettuce a slice of courgette, couple of onion rings and chips,
My partner had lasagne which had no sauce, the pasta had gone to fluffy mush, garlic bread and just lettuce. No other salad.
We had 2 soft drinks.. Total cost £32
Due to it being a special occasion we were enjoying the moment and didn't want to explain to staff when they checked on us, surely you must know how poor this food is when it leaves your kitchen.. Except for the chips it all looked like warmed up dry leftovers!
The actual restaurant is beautiful and clean with a lovely visual atmosphere, however the bar was full of men shouting and swearing very loudly.
The staff were polite although they too looked put about with the swearing and shouting from the full bar.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2023
Thank you for leaving us your comments. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to assure you this is not our usual standard. I do hope you decide to try us again in the future. I will pass all your comments on to our team in order to make sure this does not happen again. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah M wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked for Christmas Lunch and the booking team were very helpful and the process was seemless.
Unfortunately the day was disappointing, the glass of Pressecco on arrival was actually less than an inch in the bottom of a glass, the vegetables were brought to the table cold the waitress took those back and brought more cold vegetables to our table before a dish of warmer vegetables arrived, surely the 2nd dish should have been checked before bringing out. Overall didn't feel it was value for money and some of the staff by 1.30 had clearly lost the normal enthusiasm and pleasant manner that we usually experience when visiting..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Thank you for your feedback regarding Christmas Day. I am saddened and shocked to hear about your experience with us as I know the general feeling on the day was one of positivity and festive spirit from our customers and team. We all certainly enjoyed the day and had hoped it had reflected to our guests. Please accept my apologies for any poor service or food you received during your time with us and we do hope you try us again in the New Year. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashropshire_UK wrote a review Aug 2023
shropshire, UK11 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here just one night and first impressions were good; free parking, welcoming, efficient staff and an attractively decorated and spotlessly clean room.
Sadly, our dining experience was very disappointing. One dry sirloin steak and one tough flatbread topped with very little pulled lamb smothered in what I think was balsamic sauce, the two costing over £40.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pleasant rooms, but eat dinner somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Thank you for leaving us your feedback. Overall I am pleased to hear your stay in our hotel was a positive one. However, it saddens me to hear your restaurant experience was not the same. Every effort will be made to make any improvements we can to ensure this does not happen again. Please accept my appologies and I do hope you choose to try us again in the future. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lady Caroline G wrote a review Jul 2023
New Milton, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My goodness what a treat! The friendliest and most helpful staff, absolutely fantastic room and the best full English breakfast we have ever tasted. We will be back!!!!!! Theu went out of their way to make our stay seamless, arranging entry without a porter available prior. A lot of thought and great service went our way
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2023
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie L wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the dog-friendly room and wow - it was luxurious and comfortable! A lovely comfynew king size bed and tasteful furnishings and lovely new bathroom. The whole place has had a refurb and is plush - great breakfast too, including a sausage for the pooch!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig White, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2023
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
John J wrote a tip Mar 2024
Ferndown, United Kingdom23 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking but remember to register your vehicle in reception"
Read full review
Ella rodgers wrote a tip Dec 2023
Marmaris, Türkiye20 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a table for restaurant "
Read full review
Hazel B wrote a tip Nov 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Register your car on arrival at the bar, restaurant or hotel for 24hrs. Both cash & Card is accepted. Ring in advance to avoid disappointment"
Read full review
Ashropshire_UK wrote a tip Aug 2023
shropshire, UK11 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pleasant rooms, but eat dinner somewhere else "
Read full review
Brian R wrote a tip Jul 2023
Warsash, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not from from the A1"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Todwick area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red lion hotel todwick, red lion sheffield, sheffield red lion
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireRotherhamTodwick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED LION HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Red Lion Inn?
Nearby attractions include Playmania Sheffield (4.6 miles), Tropical Butterfly House Wildlife Conservation Park (2.1 miles), and Gulliver's Valley Theme Park Resort (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Lion Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Red Lion Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Lion Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Lion Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Garrison Wickersley, Monk's Bridge Farm - Farmhouse Inns, and The Venus Restaurant.
Is Red Lion Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Todwick.
Are pets allowed at Red Lion Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Lion Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roche Abbey (4.8 miles) and Dead Man's Cave (2.2 miles).
Is Red Lion Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Todwick HotelsTodwick Hotel DealsHotels near Red Lion Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire