Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pergola Hotel & Spa

Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014 Malta
Traveller (1797)
Room & Suite (574)
Pool & Beach (206)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£108
£93
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 14 hotels in Mellieha
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
For travellers visiting Mellieha, Pergola Hotel & Spa is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to restaurants and attractions, Pergola Hotel & Spa makes it easy to enjoy the best of Mellieha. As your 'home away from home', the rooms offer a flat-screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator. Free Internet access is available. Pergola Hotel offers a rooftop pool, various restaurants, and the Nataraya Day Spa & Wellness, a definite must for anyone looking for complete relaxation or a getaway from everyday life. While staying at Pergola Hotel, visitors can check out Our Lady of the Grotto, the WWII Shelters and the Sanctuary, some of Mellieha's top attractions. While in Mellieha, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away such as Square Gastro, Tosca, and DOMS Brasserie. Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, we are sure to make your visit worth remembering
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Diving
Water sport equipment rentals
Children's television networks
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Indoor play area for children
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
3,081Reviews213Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,355
  • 1,077
  • 363
  • 180
  • 108
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jasmine wrote a review Aug 2021
Luton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall 4/5 stars!

Location: 4.5/5
The location of the hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the bus stop on Adenau Street, where you can also find shops to buy groceries, souvenirs, medicine and the list goes on. You can find many places to eat around the area if you decide to dine outside the hotel. The hotel is only 10-20 minute bus journey to Popeye’s Village and a 5-10 minute journey to Cirkewwa Ferry Terminal so you can visit the beautiful islands of Comino and Gozo. If you want to go into the city of Valletta it’s an amazing scenic 70 minute journey from Adenau Street.

Cleanliness: 4/5
As expected our rooms were very clean when we first arrived. The room got cleaned everyday but on one of the days our bathroom was still left the way it was before we had left. There is a sign in the bathroom that if you would like to new towels, just leave the dirty ones on the floor and it will be replaced. The following day, however, the bathroom was cleaned and we had gotten new towels to use. Outside the rooms the hotel itself looked very clean and the pools are cleaned every morning.

Food and Drinks: 4/5
The food and drinks in their inclusive breakfast was nice but didn’t have a lot of options for someone who doesn’t eat pork. There was still a wide range for those who love a full English breakfast to salads. I highly recommend their croissants! They’re super soft and delicious and you can have it with jam, butter or on it’s own! In the Cave Bar there is still a range of food.

COVID Precautions: 4/5
You must wear a mask inside the hotel at all times unless you are exempt and must provide proof of exemption. All the floor staff wear masks as well so you aren’t alone. There are signs around the hotel to remind people to wear their masks. When you ride the lift you must go in with people who are in the same household as you/ the person you are sharing the room with.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: views from the balcony are astonishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear Guests, Thank you for having chosen the Pergola Hotel for your summer vacation! We appreciate the time you have taken in highlighting various aspects of your accommodation experience, and we are pleased to read that you have had an overall enjoyable stay. We now look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best Regards, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mollie M wrote a review Oct 2021
United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The pergola is a nice hotel, bordering on between 3* and 4*. The infinity pool and cave bar are a particular highlight, with brilliant cocktails. We stayed half board, with the option of eating at the buffet restaurant, Da Ciccio the Italian, or at the cave bar. While the buffet was nice, I would recommend eating at the cave bar or Da Ciccio for a better menu.
The breakfast was good, with a selection of cooked breakfast foods, cereal, bread and cold meats every morning, and a self service coffee and juice machine. The staff are very hard working, particularly Huseyin, who worked almost every breakfast and dinner shift we attended.
The rooms are nice if you get the right one. We initially stayed in quite a small, dark room with very little storage, right next to the elevator which was quite noisy with people coming and going. After one night in this room we asked to move, and the front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our second room was much better and we were very happy here.
The location of the hotel was good, with a 15-20 minute walk to the beach and plenty of bars and restaurants around.
The hotel does seem to have problems with their air conditioning, with the air con vent leaking water into our room, and also in the main restaurant. The front desk staff again were very helpful and arranged to have it fixed straight away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Pergola Hotel for your recent accommodation in Malta and we are delighted to be in receipt of this valuable feedback. Your constructive and encouraging comments mean a lot to us, and we are pleased to read that you have had such an overall enjoyable experience. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the nearby future. Best Regards, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren wrote a review Jul 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom45 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pergola Hotel and spa in Mellieha, Malta. The hotel is in a great location central to shops and restaurants which is very convenient, and about a 20 minute walk from the beach.

Stayed here with friends for a week and we absolutely loved the pool area, especially the infinity pool which was absolutely perfect and had great views over Melia. Our room was lovely and clean and we found it very spacious for a one bed apartment which we slept five people in. The room also had great views !

There are three main things I think this hotel needs to improve on:

1. The cave bar needs improvement . The drinks are warm even when they contain ice and some of the drinks are not that nice. The service is slow and the food takes ages to come although the food when you do get it it’s delicious also very well catered for gluten-free.

2. I have to say that the staff are not particularly friendly or welcoming. We did have a good experience at reception and also a couple of our friends had massages and said that the staff at the spa were particularly good. However particularly around the bar there was not a lot of friendliness; no service with a smile and did not feel that they were particularly accommodating or warm to our needs. Also it shuts very early !
3.
4. You should not be able to reserve sunbeds at this hotel. There are signs everywhere saying that sunbeds cannot be reserved however one day in particular we found a large number of them were with signs clearly marked by the hotel. A lot of these people did not turn up until the afternoon it is not fair when there are not a lot of sunbeds anyway. This needs to be banned or they need to say that if you do not turn up by a certain time your sunbed will be given away. I think this did dampen the atmosphere at the pool when you could not get a sunbed or you would have to get up early in order to make sure that you got one.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and we would definitely return. Particularly impressed with the breakfast buffet which again catered very well for gluten-free and was very good value for money. Although there are some improvements to be made the pool area is fantastic and the rooms were perfect for what we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure you get up early enough to reserve a sunbed and don’t rely too much on the Cave Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Pergola Hotel Spa, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for having chosen Malta and the Pergola Hotel & Spa for your recent holidays! We are pleased to read that you were overall satisfied with your experience with us, and we are equally grateful for the valuable constructive criticism, you have brought to our attention. Please rest assured that each aspect mentioned will be thoroughly looked in to. We are taking this opportunity to wish you a most relaxing remaining summer. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best Regards, Pergola Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flora D wrote a review Jun 2021
Elba Island, Italy8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Before booking a room in the Pergola Hotel, you should definitely know that every one-room apartment has a window like this: insted of facing outside, it faces into a small and claustrophobic skylight (it also smells musty). Also two-bedrooms apartments have one room with the same problem. I found it very uncomfortable and disappointing, and because of that we chose to get an upgrade (paying for the difference) and have at least one room which faced outside: but, there was another problem! The other room had a frenchdoor and everyone walking outside could see you. The cleaning service was confusing: I asked 4 times if they could come in the mornings, and everytime they would come at 5pm, when my baby was napping. The rest was ok: kind personnel, beautiful pools, nice restaurant. We could take advantage of a very nice offer: 150€ credit per adult to spend in their restaurant or spa.
An overall disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Pergola Hotel for your sojourn in Malta and we appreciate the time you have taken in highlighting and sharing this valuable feedback with us. We regret that there were aspects, which may have hindered the overall enjoyment of your experience with us. While we do not believe in making up excuses, we assure you that your comments mean a lot to us, and where possible, stringent steps will be taken in order to address such. While wishing you an enjoyable summer ahead, please feel free to contact us again, should you wish to discuss your stay with us, in a more profound manner. Yours Sincerely, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claramariea wrote a review Jan 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel in a very quiet area out of the way of facilties. Hotel overall was less than average. Pool in main area was dirty especially the glass and there were so many flies in the cave area bar so couldn't comfortably eat. Rooms smelled foisty maybe I think this is due to the rooms being in the cave edge and they were in need of a refurb for sure.

We also booked an excursion through the hotel. Paid in advance and received written confirmation. On the morning of the excursion on our way out of hotel a very abrubt and rude receptionist advised us that the excursion was cancelled due to our group cancelling. Well that didn't happen or make sense as if we had cancelled why did 8 of us get up ready and out of the door? After challenging her ridiculous statement she changed her story and admitted that the hotel had forgot to book it through the operator. She was less than helpful in trying to re arrange our trip with this agent or with another. We couldn't go on another day as some of our party was leaving the next day. The attitude of her was really poor and she showed no compassion or empathy for the situation. However she did offer to give us our money back?? Oh well that was good of her.. We then left the hotel and had to stress on the heat with 30 mins to spare and try and find an operator who could offer the same excursion. We did not know the area but after sheer determination we managed to book the same excursion without issue. The hotel made no attempt to help us find this operator either, even when we asked for help.

We then asked to see the manager on our return to the hotel. We met with Egoucwas the duty manager who did apologise for the hotels mistake but gave no offer of compensation for the inconvenience. After challenging his poor management skills he asked to have a think about how he could make it up to our party. He took a whole day to get back to us and offered 2 bottles of wine? I advised him that some of our party did not drink alcohol / wine so I suggested at least he could offer a breakfast to each of our party so everyone could enjoy the offer of compensation as we had all been affected and upset that morning. He advised he would again have to get back to me about my request. He called hours later to advise the hotel would NOT be willing to offer breakfast but the offer of wine was still available. I was shocked and disappointed at this lack of customer care. I advised that I would be leaving a negative review and he apologised again and hung up the phone. WOW such poor customer care!!

Luckily the spa was fantastic especially the therapist called Jana. The spa felt it was part of another hotel as it far exceeded the service at the hotel so I would definately recommend a treatment.

I would not recommend this hotel but I would recommend malta it was such a safe clean place to visit with amazing beaches, buildings and churches.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Pergola Hotel & Spa for last year's summer holidays. We do not believe in contradicting your version of events, however, we do not believe that the Hotel should be held fully responsible for a third-party excursion company, which cancelled your trip on the day. Our offer to take the excursion free of charge on any other day was rejected. Rest assured, that it is not our intention to spoil our guests' plans in any way, and although we are not perfect, we always offer our guests various alternatives, when such plans go beyond one's control. Should your travelling plans bring you back to Malta, please do contact me directly. Asides from assuring you my own personal attention, we will equally endeavour in offering you again the same excursion with our sincere compliments. Yours Truly, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlene T wrote a review Jul 2021
12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We will never set foot into this hotel again!

Issues -

Our hotel room looked tired and shabby and was literally falling apart! Very dirty upon arrival despite current pandemic. Corridors also very dirty. House keepers don't change bucket water between rooms and attempted to wash ours with inches of dark grey water.

A/C in double room not cooling. A/C doesn't switch back on upon entering from terrace.

Pool very small (deceiving photos on booking.com).

Microwave not working.

Shower drain not draining water. Mould in bedroom. Soap dispensers leaking. Handymen came in twice during our 2 night stay since the shower water was draining into the room below us.

Very hard matteresses.

Dirty sofa (covered it with bed linen).

Receptionist upon arrival was very cold and unwelcoming... his English was not very good either.

Facebook promotes breakfast at 7.50 euros but was asked for 9.95 euros per person. Their loss! Spent more at another local restaurant but it was a matter of principle.

The only pluses is good foid and drinks a d sweet ladies at Cave bar and Da Ciccio and was offered a late check out. Otherwise, very disgusted and disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 28 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Pergola Hotel for your holidays in Malta, and we appreciate the time you have taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us. With regret, what has now happened in the past, cannot be taken back, yet we wish to take this opportunity to publicly apologize to you if this experience did not meet the standards, which we are commonly renowned for. You are welcome to contact us directly, should you wish to discuss your experience with us, in a more direct and profound manner. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best Regards, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George S wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom364 contributions96 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In summary nice hotel but front office Staff I came across seem to require some basic customer service training. During covid 19 having staff with poor attitude greeting customers could severely impact business. Would have loved for this to have been different.

Please take note. Details below..

I received multiple emails prior to arrival asking for any requests. I requested a room on the upper floor, sea view and the ability to check in early if possible. I received a response that it may be possible on chdck in.

I arrived early and the lady on the front desk (Dolores) came across as extremely rude. Explained the room booked meant I can't get anything I requested if I wanted I could pay for an upgrade, made me wait ten mins and then asked me to come back. When I came back two hours, pretty much asked my name handed me a key and avoided any interaction as possible. Seemed to have a terrible attitude for some reason. To note this is during coronavirus season so the hotel was not at full capacity, so there was time to go the extra mile to interact with guests.
I asked her where the luggage room and received quite a blunt response.. It was closed and pointed to the wall. Asked about the car parking.. Was told its closed.. No explanation why. Asked about breakfast and was told it's on sheet. Terribly let down and felt like the service of a hostel rather than a hotel marketed as luxury.

Breakfast: I observed very strong controls for covid. Enhanced Cleaning and staff to help serve. One tip to chef is ensure eggs are covered both days they were cold and required seasoning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen Malta and the Pergola Hotel & Spa for your recent accommodation. We highly appreciate that you have taken the time in providing us with this valuable feedback, and we equally value both your encouraging comments, as well as, the constructive criticism. It is with deep regret that we read that the service received during your check-in, may have not been within our standards, and for this we publicly apologize, while assuring you that such situation will be immediately investigated. It will be an honour if you could allow us another chance to regain your trust in the future. Should your holiday plans ever bring you back to Malta, please do contact me directly, where asides from assuring you my own personal service, we will equally endeavour in exceeding your expectations for a most memorable stay. Yours Sincerely, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valentina M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 situation we had to postpone our big wedding, however, when the situation in Malta got better we decided to continue on with a small intimate Civil Wedding with our closest relatives. Having our small wedding at Pergola could not be a better decision.

We were taken care of from the start by Mr. Jonathan Grima, who catered to every our request. He was very accommodating and was always within reach when we needed any help. He even was so kind to decorate the venue as since it was a small wedding we did not have a best man or organizer. The venue on the night was magical, the location beside the pool and the cave offered a perfect backdrop to our special day.

With regards to the catering we couldn't be more happy, from the cake to the items going around....it was more than we could imagine. The menu offered was very versatile, the items offered where all very tasty and their portion was quite generous. They even catered for a guest who was celiac and prepared a quick meal for a little one who wanted something special.

Whilst we would like to thank the management, especially Mr. Grima, for making our small dream come true, we would truly recommend Pergola for a venue for a small wedding event as it everything a couple could wish for their special day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: perfect wedding, good food, great atmosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Jul 2020
Dear Valentina & Jurgen, Wow! Thank you so much for sharing this review with us! It has been a real pleasure hosting you for your very special day, and on behalf of the Team at the Pergola Hotel & Spa, we wish you many years of happiness ahead of you. We look forward to hosting you again in the nearest future, where you can reminisce your Wedding day memories over and over again. Lots of love, Pergola Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy F wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom33 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very nice hotel in a great location within walking distance to the village. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment which was a good size and had good facilities in the bathrooms and kitchen. The quieter pool was really nice and we much preferred it to the infinity pool which was busier and louder.
However, there are some things that make it not a 4-star hotel: the air conditioning in our room was average at best. When we arrived it was off and the room was 26 degrees! After leaving it on all night, the room had only cooled to 24 degrees. There were small holes in the bed sheets and there was a damp patch on the ceiling. The most shocking part of our stay was when we arrived. It was late at night and we had been travelling for most of a day so we asked the reception for some bottles of water. They replied that the hotel didn't have any! They made no effort to get any for us and left us all night without any drinking water.
Overall, it is a really nice hotel and we did enjoy our stay there, but there are a few things that could be improved.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunsites Ltd, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Dear Guests, Thank you for having chosen to stay with us, and for submitting this valuable feedback. We regret that there were aspects of your stay which may have hindered the overall enjoyment of your accommodation experience, and for this, we wish to publicly apologize to you. Rest assured that all of your comments have not gone unnoticed, and it is thanks to such comments, that we will continue to strive for continous improvement. While we may understand that this recent stay may have not reached your expectations, please do consider us again, should your holiday plans bring you back to Malta. We will ensure that your next stay with us is flawless from start to end, and we will not hesitate in upgrading your room to one of our finest, along with VIP status. Yours Sincerely, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cheshire3131 wrote a review Jul 2022
Runcorn, United Kingdom617 contributions163 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we checked in we greeted by friendly staff and this continued throughout the hotel.
We were allocated a room on the 6th floor which was close to reception and was perfect for all our needs. The room was a little dated but was perfect for our needs, we had booked an apartment which great as there was plenty of room for 3 of us. The room gave great views over the infinity pool towards Mellieha Bay, Comino and Gozo. The room was cleaned every day which included clean towels. It was extremely hot when we were there and our air conditioning was a must.
We booked on a half board basis prior to arrival and found the food good value for money with plenty of choice at both breakfast and evening meal.
One of our party booked a spa treatment which was good value and really enjoyed.
The lift system can be a little confusing at first but you get used to it. There is a lift that takes you to the bottom of the hill to avoid the steps.
The hotel has 2 outside pools and you could usually find a bed around one of them. It also has an indoor pool near the spa.
The Cave Bar was reasonably priced for drinks with a cocktail happy hour 4-5, it also did meals.
We put the Bolt taxi app on our phone and they were very reasonable and great service. There is a local bus stop about 5 minutes walk away and buses are €2 for 2 hours but we didn't use them.
The nearest beach is about a 30 minute walk away down a steep hill so we got a taxi there and back for €6.50.
A great hotel in a residential area so very quiet and wouldn't hesitate to visit again if I was holidaying in Malta.
Thanks for a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: As for a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Pergola Hotel Spa, Guest Services / Front Office at Pergola Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for choosing Malta and the Pergola Hotel & Spa for your summer holidays! It was a pleasure reading that you have made the utmost of your experience with us and appreciated the services and products offered. Wishing you a pleasant remaining 2022 and look forward to having you on board with us again soon. Grazzi! Pergola Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle J asked a question Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do you have sunshades/sun umbrellas at the pools?
Answer from ManagementPergola
Mellieha
Dear Guest, Yes, these are on site, all year long :) Best Regards, Pierre
Answer from ManagementPergola
Mellieha
Dear Guest, Our Cave Bar is open all year round :) We look forward to hosting you! Pierre
Answer from ManagementPergola
Mellieha
Dear Guest, Kindly contact our Reservations Team so we check exactly your room allocation and dates. Best Regards, Pierre
Answer from ManagementPergola
Mellieha
Dear Guest, We provide iron facilities by request. Therefore simply request it at our Front Desk when you need it. Best Regards, Pierre
Answer from ManagementPergola
Mellieha
Dear Guest, A small mini-market is just in front of the Hotel, however, the prices here are more expensive. As our other reviewer remarked, Welbees will be the best option. It's around a 20-minute walk to get there, or else you can order a delivery and they'll get you the items directly to the Hotel. As for alcohol, we strongly recommend Marvin's - A bottle shop nearby to Welbees that has a vast variety of spirits including Gins (even Maltese ones). We look forward to hearing from you soon! Pierre
Ntombi B wrote a tip Yesterday
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"€2.50 bus fare - ticket valid for 2hrs. You want to see Malta in its truth or function - get on the bus Try Maltese Rabbit and Fish dishes"
Read full review
charlotte wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go self catering as the 2 rooms we had all cupboards were musty & smelt of mold. They do pool towels Expect a maze of lifts & Halls"
Read full review
Nicola M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Salisbury, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking on road side outside the hotel, parking garage available but have to book a space. Aim for MCP car park if driving to Valletta."
Read full review
Lois M wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Either go in through the bar to use elevator or phone beforehand if you are at the bottom of the hill. "
Read full review
Dan L wrote a tip Mar 2024
Portsmouth, United Kingdom35 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy a week bus ticket for and a pass for the museums & places of interest. Eat locally, not half-board."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mellieha area.
PRICE RANGE
£42 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pergola club hotel mellieha, pergola club hotel and spa, pergola hotel mellieha
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaMellieha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PERGOLA HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Malta/Mellieha)

Frequently Asked Questions about Pergola Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (0.1 miles), Mellieha Parish Church (0.2 miles), and Our Lady of the Grotto (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include one80 Kitchen & Lounge, Porterhouse, and Square Gastro Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pergola Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Pergola Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Pergola Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pergola Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Pergola Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (0.1 miles), Ta’ Bistra Catacombs (4.2 miles), and White Tower (2.5 miles).
All Mellieha HotelsMellieha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MelliehaHotels near Pergola Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire