We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

B3273 5 miles south of St Austell, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BT England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (552)
Pool & Beach (135)
Room & Suite (56)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 2 campsites in Pentewan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Recently named one of the top Holiday Parks in the South West, Pentewan Sands is a Five Star Holiday Park in Cornwall with a privately-owned beach, two indoor swimming pools, excellent family facilities and a range of holiday accommodation. So whether you choose to bring your own Motorhome, Touring Caravan or Tent, or stay in one of our modern and well-equipped Holiday Homes, you can be sure that you are staying in one of the most popular, privately owned and family-friendly five star holiday parks in Cornwall. Our beautifully kept camping and touring pitches are mostly electric, and no more than 3 minutes’ walk from the beach - some of our Beach Front and Grand Premium pitches are just a few feet from the sea. The modern two and three bedroom Holiday Homes are laid out in various areas of the park so you can choose between stunning sea views, or the seclusion of our woodland Willows.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Convenience store
Shops
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
853Reviews77Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 434
  • 219
  • 106
  • 50
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Camilla S wrote a review 12 Feb
14 contributions9 helpful votes
We went to the swimming pool as paying guests, not resident. The water was clean. Heated floor in the changing rooms were lovely - and nice hot showers. Then we went to Hubbox and had some fabulous burgers and macaroni cheese. Superb all round would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alanna P wrote a review Jan 2024
Wateringbury, United Kingdom526 contributions176 helpful votes
We camped here in May 2022 and again in May 2023. Both times in our tent for a week, In May 2022, we booked onto a non-electric pitch on F field and in May 2023, we stayed on H field on an electric beach front pitch. I shall review the two: F field, non-electric - great field, super friendly - flooded for some poor people after torrential rain in the middle of the pitch. Mostly quiet (besides some selfish people playing loud music one night) and well located to the facilities of the park. Expect a little road noise on this field - the back end of the field is right next to the main road from St.Austell to Mevagissey. H field - electric beach-front - we were very very lucky and gained a place in the ballot for this pitch. The setting was stunning, right on the beach to the side of the playground - perfect for our little boy to play and wonderful for early morning beach walks. The pitch was grass and sloping. Pretty quiet for the location. A little walk into the village and to Pentewen Sands' facilities. My only gripe, was that some people sat on our pitch to watch the beach and the sea - right by our tent, whilst we were eating dinner on numerous occasions. One group came along with a boom box and played loud music one evening too - just a lack of respect really. However, we adore Pentewen Sands and we are going again this year for the third year in a row -it has become a bit of a family tradition now for our young family! The facilities are superb - we love the indoor pool and flume - our son's highlight. The little arcade is adequate and the coffee shop is brilliant. The Seahorse Restaurant is lovely with fantastic food and in the school holidays there is an hour or so of entertainment for the children which was always first class, Coffee at The Hubbox is outstanding and the shop is very well stocked and well priced, with everything you need and more! No dogs is great for us too because our son is allergic.The toilets and showers are modern and especiallY clean. Location wise, St. Austell is a short drive away (15mins) to big supermarkets, the little town and brewery. Mevagissey is a 5 minute drive and has super pasties, unique shops, a lovely little harbour for crabbing and some nice cafes. We can't wait to come back in May. Thank you for the memories Pentewen!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie S wrote a review Oct 2023
brummie90 contributions105 helpful votes
Only stayed in a motorhome so can’t comment on accommodation however site was beautiful. Really clean. Everything you need. Restaurant was great and food delicious. Great that we could use the pool free too. Beach was stunning, silver sand and clear sea. Safe for kids. Thought it was a bargain for £24 a night with electric and services. Couldn’t fault it. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 8 Nov 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your stay, and we truly appreciate your kind words. It is great to know that you enjoyed a meal at our restaurant and the facilities. If you ever plan to return to our campsite, we would be delighted to welcome you back. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Pentewan Sands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sing W wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions
Stayed in A field, platinum van, it was beautiful and spotless, the balcony was just a joy to be on in the evening with a glass of wine. The reception staff were all really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The kids loved the pool which again was spotlessly clean, lifeguarded, they swan multiple times per day! The arcade was a bit of a disappointment, all the machines were fairly old and we spent more time going up to the restaurant for a member of staff as a machine had broken mid play or it had eaten money, as I was told by pentewan staff, its run by an individual company so they don't keep keys and can't fix machines, the kids all lost interest quite quickly. The park was beautiful, well kept and quiet, the view from the van was stunning, we look forward to our next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review and for choosing to stay at our park. Our team works hard to create a welcoming and enjoyable environment, and it's heartening to know that you had such a great time. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday home, the view, and our facilities. The arcade is run by a separate company, though we do apologise that you were disappointed with the machines. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TREV wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions9 helpful votes
The management have banned every pet except rats . The beach has a river flow directly onto it , very pretty unless there has been a storm in the past 3 days and then sewage is pumped directly into it. The entrance looks great until you get near the beach and then its bright green steel fences to get past to the beach. Cost cutting to the bar bone with everything shut . They even shout at locals dog walking on the low tide ( not private )
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool is always overcrowded , the entertainment is shut always ,, best spot is stay at home
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience at our holiday park. We apologise that your time with us did not meet your expectations and that some of our facilities were shut. Our no-dog rule is in place to ensure the comfort and safety of all our guests, including those who may have allergies, phobias, or simply prefer a pet-free environment during their stay. While we understand that many people love to travel with their pets, we must strike a balance that caters to the preferences and needs of all our guests. Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Your satisfaction remains our top priority, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns. Kind regards, Pentewan Sands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daydream27395821477 wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Our stay at Pentewan was amazing. We live near by and often visit the Seahorse but this time I wanted to stay for my birthday. The holiday home was spotless, light, airy and beautiful with a view of the sea, perfectly decorated, cosy and I couldn't get enough of the balcony. As usual the meals in the Seahorse were really tasty and a very high standard. We also ate in the Hubbox. Their cocktails are very good. We loved waking up and walking down to the beach to watch the sunrise and also taking a walk around the site was really nice after eating. We couldn't have asked for more, Pentewan is first class. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our holiday homes, dining experiences, and location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Pentewan Sands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neil W wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
This site has to be one of the best touring parks I've ever stopped in. The park is very well kept,the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the beach side is spotlessly clean,excellent site,we stopped here in may,and will certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Dear Neil, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of our park. We are absolutely thrilled to hear about your positive experience during your stay with us! It warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed the location, service, and facilities. Creating an exceptional camping experience for our guests is our top priority, so we're very happy to hear you've had a wonderful holiday. We appreciate your kind words and the time you've spent sharing your thoughts. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Pentewan Sands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Russell R wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
We enjoyed our holiday again this year ,a lovely clean site ,,caravan on arrival appeared clean untill we started looking,,attention to detail needed on shelves in lounge sweet papers found behind cabinets in 2 bedrooms, bathroom radiator full of dust ,,on veranda I had to clean with broom as covered with cobwebs and spiders found up near light,,this is perhaps something that needs to be looked at regularly,,also my own fault but didn't expect to have my washing taken from dryers by elderly people,,,was quite shocked, stayed before never experienced this ,,but perhaps I should not have left it ,,bin areas really clean no problems there services a bit slow in seahorse but food worth waiting for, site and beach areas extremely clean,,some sort of entertainment needed for evening if only bingo ,,,swimming pool a delight, and arcade lovely man in there but think some machines need up date as many keept braking dwn but was rectified quickly will come again as did enjoy but also got impression was focused more on campers than static vans
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pool use about 12pm or 2pm not to busy then
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our park and for choosing to stay with us. Maintaining a clean and welcoming environment is a top priority for us, and we are deeply disappointed that we fell short of your expectations in this regard. Please know that we have already taken steps to address the concerns you raised with our housekeeping teams to prevent any recurrence of such issues. We appreciate your kind words about your meal at The Seahorse, the location, and the facilities we offer, we’re very grateful for you taking the time to share your thoughts. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Pentewan Sands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leon R wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
We been coming to Pentewan sands for over 25 years and have generally had excellent holidays. The location is probably one of the best in the country - I’ve not found anywhere else that has what Pentewan has - private beach with ‘ on the Beach’ eating, kayak hire etc is all available. We were blessed with the best week of weather to be seen in 2023 so managed to use that to visit places and enjoy the surroundings. We ate at the seashorse on 2 occasions, the first time my daughter didn’t enjoy her fish as it was greasy and tasteless and the warm brownie was cold, the second time was much better however the pavlova was not very good. On the whole it was nice but quiet expensive. We stayed at D32,D31 and D30 with a total of 8 guests. Overall the park and caravans were clean however it was clear the floors of the vans hadn’t been mopped and cleaned aside from that it was fine. The seal on or oven was split (D32) so wouldn’t get up to temperature so took ages to cook anything, this needs attention. The worst thing is the Wi-Fi. It’s a very expensive optional extra (£35 for 4 devices for 7 days) but performs poorly. We had to call the Wi-Fi company twice to get connection issues resolved and ended up loosing 2/3 days of service as a result of not being able to connect This service is more important than ever. It’s used for booking tables, activities, attractions and for entertainment. With 2 autistic daughters one of whom is diabetic with a libre device that sends sugar readings to her consultant (via Wi-Fi) it’s not only a ‘nice to have’, it’s imperative for us as a family. Other parks such as haven and Parkdean have embraced this as a must have feature and I feel Pentewan is falling behind in this respect. I know this service is offered via a third party however it really needs to be address if they are to keep up with the competition. Overall it’s a lovely place that is let down with niggles. For a 5* park these niggles need to be addressed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If Wi-Fi is essential look elsewhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Dear Leon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our campsite. Firstly, thank you for staying with us so many times over the years and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful natural surroundings of our park. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent dining experience at The Seahorse. We’re sorry to hear that your fish, brownie, and pavlova were disappointing. We will use the feedback to make us better and to improve those dishes. Your comments about your holiday home’s oven have been passed on to our housekeeping management, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're truly sorry to hear that you encountered issues with our Wi-Fi. We understand that a reliable internet connection is important, especially for your children. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. The Wi-Fi is managed by a third-party Company and therefore there are charges because of this. Apologies if all of this has caused any disappointment. We do have a direct line that goes to the Wi-Fi company if you are having any issues, and they do refund your payment if the Wi-Fi connection is poor. We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are very disappointed that we didn’t meet your expectations. We will use the feedback to make us better and please feel free to reach out to marketing@pentewan.co.uk with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. Kind regards, Pentewan Sands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Big site, but couldn't fault it. Very quite at night, apart from the waves. Superb weather. Didnt use all the facilities as didnt need to, but guest we spoke to said the Seahorse restaurant was very good. Very large pitches, great facilities. Beach 25m from pitch. Can see why guests have been going for years.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pentewan Sands, Marketing at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities. Thank you so much again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pentewan area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSt AustellPentewan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENTEWAN SANDS HOLIDAY PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Cornwall FootballGolf Park (4.4 miles), Mevagissey to Fowey Ferry (1.3 miles), and Mevagissey Museum (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish Grill & More, Edie's, and Little Bay Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Pentewan Sands Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Pentewan.
Are there any historical sites close to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mevagissey to Fowey Ferry (1.3 miles) and The Lost Gardens of Heligan (1.2 miles).
Does Pentewan Sands Holiday Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Pentewan Sands Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.