We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Bell Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Bell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Bell Inn
 Click to rate
Manchester
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a family gathering for 31 people to celebrate a birthday, we were really well looked after, the food, service and the staff were excellent. A number of the guest said to me what a good night it was and how much they enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPE109
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay here quite regularly when I am in the area for work. It is such a pleasure to be welcomed warmly, have a comfortable, spotless, well-equipped room and delicious food. I have never had anything but wonderful meals here and love the different flavour combinations and well-cooked food. The huge gin collection is an added bonus and the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosalindferrara
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rosalind Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoy your visits here so much and you find everything we have to offer, including our food, accommodation and service excellent. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely, staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. Unfortunately we were booked in for 7pm and didn't eat until 8.30 We had already drank our wine by the time the food had arrived. Luckily Jordan managed to get us a complimentary bottle to compensate. If you are gin lover this place is a must. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
hexham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A decent place to stay. Not as nice as the photos suggest, but still pretty good. Main problem was, that having booked, we assumed we would be able to eat there. On arrival on Friday we asked about booking table for the Saturday, but was told there where no tables to be had. This meant after a long day in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ian I am so sorry we were fully booked when you requested booking a table on your Friday arrival. I can well understand your frustration and discontentment. We are extremely busy and booked up weeks in advance. When making a booking direct with us for the hotel, we do always ask if you wish to make a reservation in...

Manchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Old Bell Saturday 25th Feb. We booked directly with the hotel and paid £125 for a superior deluxe double room, inc breakfast, the price also included £50 food contribution to evening meal. The room was nice, the food was excellent the gin was fantastic. The staff gave an excellent service and were very knowledgable in all things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacwar
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation, food and whole experience excellent. In answer to your comment regarding the price of our Fever Tree Tonics. We really cannot and do not try to compete with Sainsbury's prices. The bottle of tonics we serve are sufficient...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Reviewed 7 February 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Reviewed 5 February 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Manchester
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma758
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
1.2 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
241 reviews
2.2 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the front will get traffic noise. We did not hear any noise from other people staying at the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles beng596, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a long climb to room 15 but it's good when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is superb. Even overlooking the main road it is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles V2912MCericr, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a double room which was nice but maybe next time i would choose a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles lynhouston, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good and offer a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles idgbrooks1956, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5