Waverley Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waverley Park

Brilliant holiday!
Traveller (142)
Great views .
Room & Suite (18)
View whilst eating evening meal in clubhouse!
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in East Cowes
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Waverley Park is a small family run site with stunning views over the Solent and Cowes harbour. You can choose from our modern comfortable static caravans, bring your own tourer, motorhome or tent or stay in one of our self-contained flats. During the summer months we have a pub and restaurant on site serving a good selection of home cooked meals, real ale and entertainment nightly in high season. The views from the bar terrace are among the best on the Island. We have recently installed super fast broadband that can be accessed anywhere on site for free. Combine this with a heated pool, modern high quality shower facilities and your sure of a great base for exploring the Isle of Wight, the jewel in England's crown.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

51 Old Road, East Cowes PO32 6AW England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Eastleigh Airport
13.4 mi
See all flights
Bournebouth Intl Airport
24.2 mi
See all flights
376Reviews18Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 246
  • 78
  • 30
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
RebeccaEmin wrote a review Aug 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom114 contributions86 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from our 4th holiday at Waverley Park. Everything I’ve said in my earlier review still stands, but I would also like to acknowledge the adaptions that have been made to enable social distancing. Tables spaced 2 metres apart and cleaned thoroughly after each use. Table service only and a reduced menu which is fair enough under the circumstances. Also details collected for contact tracing. It was such a treat to eat in the clubhouse every night after not eating out for so long due to lockdown. There was also hand sanitiser available around the park. Even with these things in place, there was still definitely a holiday atmosphere.

The clubhouse has had a makeover during which the bar has been moved and it makes it seem so much bigger in there, it looks great.

The staff were lovely without exception, really friendly and put up with our requests to tweak just about every meal. Special mention for the dauphinoise potatoes which were absolutely delicious as part of the specials.

The Isle of Wight itself seemed a bit quieter than usual and it was a treat to get away and have a break somewhere safely at this time.

Our flat is always clean but this year it seemed particularly so. The space in it really is fantastic, especially with 3 teenagers who like having their own room each (not to mention the WiFi!). It is also very peaceful, especially at night.

There are so many things to do and places to explore on the Isle of Wight, even having been on holiday on the Island well over ten times I am still discovering new places to visit which is fantastic. This year the floating bridge was out of action so we went over to West Cowes a couple of times in a little boat instead which was much faster and good fun for a change. Especially the second time when the return journey was in an even smaller boat.

We have already booked to stay at Waverley Park in 2021 and 2022!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Flat one is roomy and has great views over the Solent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TrixBC wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a week's stay at Waverley Park in our CamperVan through Red Funnel. The site itself is only a couple of minutes drive from the Ferry and is well sign posted so very easy to find. Check in was easy with very few formalities before we were able to drive to our pitch. The pitches are the best we've ever experienced. In addition to having the usual electric, fresh water and grey water drainage they are level, generously spaced and are clearly defined. In addition to the hard-standing for the van a section of the grass had been cut out and covered with aggregate to create a more stable base for outside chairs/tables etc. Dustbins for rubbish/recycling were located at a number of locations and emptied daily. A thoughtfully designed stainless steel Elsan point was located close (but not too close) to all the Touring pitches. Views over the Solent were great especially when the sun was setting at the end of each day. The clubhouse/pub at the top of the site was great for an evening drink. Staff couldn't do enough for you. In summary this site was very functional, orderly and clean. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
merly100 wrote a review Aug 2020
17 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been to Waverley Park before in colder months, and stayed in a caravan, but this time we thought we’d make the most of the weather and try camping. We met with friends and pitched up near each other. We didn’t use an electric hook up so we were pretty free to camp wherever. The feel of the place is very relaxed and friendly. The facilities were always clean, the showers were always hot and the staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. We felt very safe to let our children play and generally people quietened down by 10.30pm so not too much noise at night (maybe just a few snores!). It’s dog friendly and everyone with dogs seemed very responsible and picked up after them, which kept the camping area clean. I just couldn’t imagine a better place to come, we had such a lovely time we will definitely be back. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siobhan W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at Waverley twice before with my young nephews but this was over a decade ago. Wanted a nice quiet holiday at a lovely park with my two year old daughter. The park is still in a lovely location and good access to the rest of the island. I'd booked a two bedroom caravan for myself, my husband and young daughter and requested in advance a travel cot and a high chair, When we arrived the lady checking us in was abrupt and rude but I just let it go excited for a nice break with my family. Arrived in the caravan which was tired and dated and there was no cot or high chair. My husband went to ask the lady at reception what had happened and she was very rude and told him their system showed none of our requests for these things and anyway she had nothing available. I subsequently went to politely try to see if something could be organised and I'd accidentally deleted my confirmation email so had no back up. The lovely receptionist told me I hadn't booked anything her system hadn't printed my requests out I politely said I'd requested a cot and high chair and she essentially called me a liar and said they had rented everything out. The park was very quiet and I only saw one other young family staying in a caravan. I then asked her where my 2 year old should sleep and eat and she told me my child was too old to be sleeping in a cot or using a high chair and we didn't need either! Thanks Super Nanny what helpful advice, I walked out. The single beds available were high off the ground and my daughter would have fallen out and had a bad accident. My little girl ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor after my husband had to move all the beds around. She fell off the mattress in the night and ended up being inconsolable and in tears. So clearly your receptionist is right and two year olds don't need cots!
I'm really disappointed to write a negative review about Waverley as both myself and my family have such happy memories about our holidays there and I wanted my little girl to have happy memories too. It is a good base for exploring the island and near to a lovely park and café for families. Unfortunately it has been massively been let-down in my opinion by the bad attitude of one of it's rude and ignorant staff members. I'd still say give it a try but maybe if you have young children double check your booking if you need any equipment and don't expect any help or apologies from this lazy woman if a mistake is made at their end.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julian Adams, Owner at Waverley Park
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Hi, I can only apologise and say I will definitely look into this as you shouldn't have been spoken to like that. Obviously we only have so many of our free cots and high chairs so if it was missed off your booking then it could be we were out of stock. We do get many pre school children at that time of year but obviously you should have been dealt with rather differently.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
supersunshine wrote a review Jun 2021
salisbury146 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Another great stay! Stayed in caravan 54 (Osbourne), which had a good view and felt quiet and peaceful. The van was very clean and well equipped, only small minor niggle, a bathroom bin would be handy. Used the pool once and was nice for a quick dip. Didn't use the club house this time. The grounds are well kept and very handy to have the level walk to East cowes at the bottom of the site.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul_F1066 wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have 3 young children ages 6, 4 and 4. This was our first family holiday together. I researched the whole island and think this was the best value site. We didn't have huge expectations but were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the caravan and how clean and modern it was. The site is gently slopes down to the sea and we were opposite the camping field which was nice and quiet. There is a small children's playground adjacent to a small pool which was nice and warm. There is a larger playground down on the seafront a few minutes away and lovely beaches all around the island. We used the caravan as a base to visit the attractions and would definitely recommend the site as it's friendly, clean, great value and an adventure for the children.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightseer801164 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a lovely few days at Waverley Park. The caravan was ready by 2 when we arrived and was spotlessly clean. We were 3 generations and it was the perfect place. Children’s play area and pool were well maintained and perfectly situated for adults to enjoy a delicious meal while the children played. The environment was quiet and further child play areas and paddling pool are minutes away through the bottom gate. We would recommend this site to anyone with small children. It is fantastic value with ferry fares included and those late evening views were gorgeous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter C wrote a review Jul 2021
Wiltshire, United Kingdom166 contributions98 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
thereWaverley Park is a treat. It is very close to the Red Funnel ferry terminal, and has a steady slope down to the esplanade with views across the Solent. We had booked a 2 bedroom static caravan which was immaculate and well furnished with all essentials. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and booking in is very simple. The site is bordered by trees and very restful and there is a clubhouse with a bar and restaurant, with terrace having sea views. There is also a heated outdoor pool, pitches for campervans and separate camping area, all served by immaculate shower and toilet facilities.
I love Waverley Park, as does my wife; we have already booked for three weeks next year. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue B wrote a review Jun 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a static caravan for a long weekend break . It was spotless and had everything you need. The site is ideally situated 2 mins off ferry. Beautiful views over the Solent. Caravans are well spaced. All you could need on site and a short walk to shops and supermarkets.
Staff couldn’t be more helpful in the clubhouse which has a family feel and great priced food . Catered for my vegan dietary requirements
Reception staff Catherine couldn’t be more helpful. I asked for a late checkout as we were not booked on the ferry home until the evening of checked out. This was no problem as no one was using the caravan for a few days after us and there was no charge. I would definitely recommend this site as a base and bonus is it’s very dog friendly
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony P wrote a review May 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom32 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great site with super staff. Clubhouse great and food acceptable! Grounds well looked after. WI-FI was free and good signal. My only criticism which stopped me giving 5* was the ladies shower/toilet area closed for cleaning around 7.30 - 8.30am a prime time for usage. My wife did comment to the cleaner who was very polite (toilets but not showers were still available opposite the main block). The chap went on to clean various caravans after the showers/toilets were done I think it would be helpful to do things the other way around and shut showers around 10am for cleaning!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Last two visits the chain ferry over to Cowes has proved to be unreliable so check it is running.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julian Adams, Owner at Waverley Park
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Hi Tony, really sorry if you were inconvenienced by the cleaning but I hope you understand it has to be done. Although they get a 'spruce up' late at night they do need a full clean again by the morning. If we were to wait till later we would have a load of complaints the the showers were dirty (trust me we have tried). I'm afraid this is a case of you can't please all the people all the time but I will speak to the cleaners about this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Vacationer802678
Hi yes all bedding and bed linen is provided.
Answer from Sarah Clark
35 contributions7 helpful votes
About half mile walk (10 min) walk to Waitrose and about 15 min walk to chain ferry which takes you to West Cowes. A pleasant walk, mostly along seafront promenade.
Answer from Steven N
Leatherhead, United Kingdom94 contributions24 helpful votes
Hi. Yes there are washing up facilities not sure about freezer blocks as we is electric coolbox
m0use33 asked a question Aug 2022
Halstead, United Kingdom52 contributions41 helpful votes
Wondered what was in the games room? Does any holiday makers know please?
Answer from Steven N
Leatherhead, United Kingdom94 contributions24 helpful votes
Fruit machines, pool table. Grab machine few video games. Only just got this question so sorry if too late.
Briancarr99 asked a question Sept 2021
Hampshire, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
in the Albert is their a TV?
Answer from Joan W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom79 contributions29 helpful votes
Sorry not sure as we had drinks outside, I am sure if you ring them their staff are v helpful and will let you know
Louise wrote a tip 11 May
Walsall, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the food."
Read full review
littlecromptons wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bradford, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a pitch rather than the camping field if you want to be close to toilets. If you want sea view you need camping field at the bottom."
Read full review
Nebula65 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Norwich8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Toilets a distance if camping nearer sea."
Read full review
tracey p wrote a tip Jul 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No dvd in caravan which was a surprise as on their website it says dvd . Just would be handy if weather was bad. "
Read full review
Mumof2 wrote a tip Jun 2023
24 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"EHU pitches are at the top of the hill near main facilities"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Cowes area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
waverley park hotel cowes
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightEast Cowes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAVERLEY PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Waverley Park
Which popular attractions are close to Waverley Park?
Nearby attractions include Isle Of Wight Coastal Footpath (0.3 miles), Victoria Tavern (0.5 miles), and The Classic Boat Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Waverley Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Waverley Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Waverley Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waverley Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waverley Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Call It What You Want, Prego, and Mojac's Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waverley Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Waverley Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Waverley Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Osborne House (1.1 miles), Osborne House (1.0 miles), and Newport Roman Villa (4.7 miles).
Is Waverley Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All East Cowes HotelsEast Cowes Hotel DealsHotels near Waverley Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire