JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Traveller (8729)
Ultimate Relaxation in the Infinity Pool
Pool & Beach (1728)
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#5 of 18 hotels in Khuk Khak
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Reconnect with nature at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, where luxury meets natural beauty. Our resort features newly renovated rooms, a pristine white sand beach, and the uplifting JW Garden offering fresh, organic produce and a variety of farm and wilderness experiences. Indulge in culinary delights at 11 dining venues or rejuvenate at Quan Spa with luxury wellness therapies. The 2.5 km lagoon pool features swim-up bars, a family zone, Jacuzzis, water slides, wave pool and water trampolines, with the JW Boat offering fresh coconuts daily. Located in peaceful Phang Nga, our resort is a luxurious haven where you can unwind and enjoy lush tropical surroundings. Discover why JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa is your ideal getaway to create meaningful and unforgettable moments together.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Squash
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Walking tours
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, German, Korean and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82220 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Phuket Intl Airport
41.1 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles5,172 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa garners praise for its expansive amenities, including a variety of dining options and pools, and its dedication to family-friendly activities, all contributing to a luxurious and convenient experience. Guests appreciate the spacious, well-kept rooms with pool access, despite occasional maintenance concerns. While some find the on-site dining pricey, happy hour deals and local eateries offer cost-effective alternatives. The resort's ambiance, with elegant spaces and tropical gardens, creates a tranquil retreat. Cleanliness is highly regarded, though service quality can vary. Its peaceful location offers easy access to nature and city exploration.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
5,172Reviews739Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,794
  • 990
  • 246
  • 88
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
515andy wrote a review Mar 2020
West Sussex, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First impression is of the main reception is very impressive, we were dealt with by a very pleasant and very helpful member of staff, unfortunately we were made to wait for around 2 1/2 hours for our room, which after a 11 hour flight and 1 1/2 transfer we found this very annoying, eventually we were given our swim up room in block 4 which was a lovely peaceful location but unfortunately these are not rooms that get any sunshine on the terrace, this was something that didn’t bother us at all as we spent most of our time near the beach, if you want a swim up room that gets morning and afternoon sunshine you would have to request rooms in either blocks 1 or 3.
At check in they sell you a package where you can put money on your account to use in the restaurants and bars unfortunately this cannot be used in the shops or for the minibar, what ever amounts you choose to put your account they give you a little sweetner on top, what they don’t tell you at the time is that for every drink or meal in any of the bars and restaurants there is 10% service charge and a 7% vat charge, we don’t mind tipping if you get good service but why isn’t the vat charge incorporated into the price of the meals, breakfast in the hotel is fabulous so much choice and most times staffed by the most pleasant waitresses, in the evening we visited both the Ta Krai Thai restaurant and the Olive the Italian restaurant, the hotel is portrayed as a 5 star establishment unfortunately the service in the restaurants is at best 3 star, we always booked our meals for 8 pm and found we were being rushed to finish as they stop serving at 10pm, we like to take our time and not be rushed and enjoy our food, by 9-30pm most evenings we were the last couple in the restaurants, this is the reason I give the restaurants 3 stars.
The hotel is in a wonderful location in Khao Lak on a fabulous stretch of sand which we walked along most days as we found the slight sea breeze a little cooling in heat of the day, it was always nice to return to our quiet room in block 4 which was kept spotlessly clean by our housekeeper and kept at a pleasantly cool temperature, the bonus was having the swim up pool which stretches around the hotel grounds, unfortunately we had a occasion where we found a couple of peeping toms going around the pool in the darkness trying to look in peoples rooms at 11pm at night, they found it quite a shock when I shined a torch in there face, they turned around and disappeared, my recommendation to the hotel would be that as the pool lights are turned off, the swim up pools are put out of use after 9pm, after all why else would you want to go swimming in the dark it’s potentially quite dangerous.
Overall we had a lovely holiday in a comfortable hotel in a fabulous location, would we go back and visit the Marriott again, no I don’t think so
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JWMarriott-KL, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear 515andy, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We also love to hear about the aspects you enjoy and the factors you feel we should improve upon. Please accept our apology for the challenge you encountered with our service. We are very disappointed that you felt your stay was not up to par. At JW Marriott, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that your feedback have been looked into and we will definitely draw on your comments to make improvements to our standards. In spite of this we are so happy to know that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us including the beautiful and clean beach. 515andy, thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back at our resort and to restore your trust in us to prove that your recent experience was not in line with our usual high standards. Sincerely, Keith Massey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Majsan11 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the JW Marriott for ten nights and we were very pleased with everything. The rooms are big and the bed is very comfortable, they were cleaned every day and we got little flower and towel decorations on our bed almost everyday which was a nice touch. We went for the halfpension which was great, the breakfast was amazing and had everything you could have asked for and in the evnings you could try all their restaurants. They also do themenights where they have different buffets by the beach and so on. All the food we ate was very tasty and fresh, except when we had some chicken at their thai resturant that wasn't cooked and made my boyfriend sick for a day.
The hotel also has a very nice spa with lots of different treatments and I recommend that you try them out :).
The beach, pool and hotel was perfect, even though the hotel is big you never felt like it was crowded with people. And the staff were always very helpful and servicemined. I will definately go back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JWMarriott-KL, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Majsan11, Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and its facilities during your stay with us. We are certainly blessed with an enviable location, however, most important for me is that you found the team helpful and welcoming. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Keith Massey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Worldwide Travel wrote a review Feb 2021
Bangkok, Thailand
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a short stay at JW Marriott Khao Lak to check out this property and were positively impressed by almost all aspects of the stay, the service, the room, the pool, the beach, dining, etc. and can highly recommend it.

I booked two rooms and as Ambassador Elite one of them was upgraded to a duplex suite. The hotel closed during covid from April to October last year and they took the opportunity to renovate the rooms. Based on a close-up of the cushions, upholstery, the hardwood floors, etc. we might have been among the first to stay in that specific room because everything looked great. The suite was spacious at 85 square meters and even had two full bathrooms, a small one near the entrance with shower only, and a larger one on the upper floor off the bedroom, with shower plus a separate bathtub. Unfortunately because of the layout of the resort none of the rooms have sea views and instead overlook various parts of the swimming pool.

Given low occupancy only one restaurant was open; it had seating both indoors and outdoors. I thought the design of the restaurant was pleasant but the main positive was that instead of covid cutbacks for breakfast, there is now a very extensive a la carte menu with great choices either international or Thai served fresh out of the kitchen.

Happy hour was at the beach bar which is in a killer location on the beach looking straight at the sunset plus live music. I thought the beach was a strong point of the hotel: it was very long and walkable, unlike some hotels in Phuket which are either on a much smaller beach, or you need to cross a busy road to reach the beach, or you need to take a shuttle to go to a public beach.

The swimming pool has lots of twists and turns which give direct pool access to almost all, if not all guest rooms on the ground floor of the low-rise buildings, in addition to the large pool section in the middle of the resort with a swim-up bar which was unfortunately closed due to lack of guests.

Overall our stay was excellent and in this price range it would be hard to beat. JWM is currently priced much lower than the room rates at Pullman and also cheaper than at Le Meridien nearby despite the fact that JWM is a higher level brand than LM. In times of high occupancy perhaps it would not be the quietest resort for couples but it would be a good choice of families with young children thanks to the kids club and the several games available on the resort. For people looking to pay 500 USD per night for a luxury villa with private pool and sea views then obviously JWM would not be a good fit but in fairness in this price range JWM executes very well on what it was intended to be in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JW Marriott Khaolak, Marketing at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 21 Feb 2021
Dear WorldWideTravel88, Greetings from JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa! Thank you for sharing to us about your positive feedback during your honeymoon trip with others on TripAdvisor. We are excited to learn that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and also took advantage of our pool that meanders throughout the complex amongst the five wings and surrounded by gardens and trees, interspersed with bars and playgrounds and in excess of 1.93 kilometers in length. It was really a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our food offerings at breakfast time as our chefs and the food and beverage teams work hard every day to ensure that we provide a wide variety of high quality food and make sure the top-notch service to every guest . Please rest assured that your feedback are shared among the team and I am sure that your heartwarming words will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to provide an excellent service. Our staff will be glad to learn of your positive remarks, because their most prized reward is to know that their efforts to make you feel comfortable have paid off. Warm Regards, Nicolai Mitchell Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peema K wrote a review Apr 2021
Trang Province, Thailand
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second review of JW Marriott Khao Lak describing my seventh visit to the resort.

The queen of Khao Lak is as majestic as ever and she is about to become even grander after the ongoing expansion. The resort’s architecture, lush gardens and insanely long lagoon pool alone are more than enough to earn my 5-star rating.

The new interior design is impressive. The unsightly beach huts are now gone, hopefully for good. Loungers under the trees on the beach lawn make for a nice spot to chill during the day. Guests during the time of COVID-19 consist mainly of Caucasians and Thais, both of which are well mannered.

Before visiting the resort, I requested a specific room and my wish was fulfilled. After the first night, I came to dislike the location of that room and asked for a new one, and once again my wish was fulfilled. I really appreciate that.

The room change was taken care off by Khun Lek, who is in charge of the front desk. I have met him a couple of times and admire him for excelling at what he does. His perfect combination of courteous and friendly is what every front-desk person should strive to achieve.

I didn’t comment on service last time because I didn’t use much of it, but lately I started to dine at the hotel’s various food outlets and i hate to say that I find many staff members at these places not very hospitable. While some of them are polite and attentive, especially those at Waterfront, others remind me of those working at some roadside restaurant. Olive, Sakura and beach bar all have disappointed me in this aspect.

In fact, I find many people working at the resort in general, not just at the restaurants, not quite hospitable.

It seems that the resort hires a lot of locals. As a southerner myself, i hope the resort is aware that southerners are less than sweet by nature, so you better intensify training or consider importing people from other parts of the country.

In addition, sometime I drove a 4WD pickup truck to the hotel and every time people who stood at the entrance to the lobby would not approach or greet me when I got off the vehicle until I told them I came to check in. Maybe next time I should try a motorcycle and see how they will react.

One more thing, I don’t think instant coffee isn’t something a JW Marriott should provide guests with. I hope ground coffee will return after the renovation is done and COVID is over.

Smoked salmon is now available at breakfast at additional charge and I think this is a good solution. Given that every room rate is already inclusive of breakfast, I’m willing to pay THB188 more to make each breakfast a little more enjoyable.

Even though I’m not happy with every thing, JW Marriott Khao Lak is still my favorite resort and I will keep coming back to enjoy that insanely long pool, which is about to become even longer. Nevertheless, I guess I will have to stick to Deli and room service for food and drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JW Marriott Khaolak, Marketing at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Response 3 Dear peemak2015, Thank you very much for your valuable time to review for your recent stay. We love to hear about what you liked about us and the areas we should improve upon. First and foremost, we apologize for any inconveniences you have encountered with during your stay. The points you mentioned have been reviewed and brought up to our team’s attention. In order to prevent this to happen again in the future, we have provided additional trainings and also make sure that we will not drop the ball again for your next visit. Apart from that, we are very happy to know that you had a great memorable time here with us and would love to keep coming back. We are also pleased to learn that your enjoyed our professional service by our Front Office Manager ‘Khun Lek’. Your message to Lek has been shared and he was very impressed to learn that you highlighted him here as an epitome of professionalism and genuinely cares about his clients. At JW Marriott, we strive to meet our guest’s expectations and deliver the highest level of customer service. Your feedback is very important to us; please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments and will take them into consideration to further improvement of our services and facilities. peemak2015, thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have a chance to welcome you and your family back again in the future so that we have a chance to restore your trust in us. Warm regards, Nicolai Mitchell Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RachelDW1 wrote a review Feb 2020
Preston, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second stay at the JW Marriott. Overall our stay was very good. The hotel is set in a great location with a beautiful beach and well maintained gardens. Our room was large and we liked that the water in the rooms was in glass bottles rather than plastic. There was also a water station near the sunbeds where you could get chilled water all day which was a lovely touch.
There was plenty of sunbeds located around the huge pool areas and on the grass. The service across the hotel was very good. The breakfast selection is excellent with lots of variety.

If i was to be picky the room we stayed in was tired and in need of refurbishment and we were disappointed to be in one of the old rooms, especially when we found out that people who had not stayed at the hotel before, had asked for a refurbished room and were given one. Found it very strange that in our room we had a king size bed, but only one side had a bedside table. So I had to put my book, glasses cup of coffee etc on the floor. Also tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms needs upgrading rather than Instant coffee and powdered milk.

Reservation of sun beds was an issue, with a policy which I believe from other reviews was only recently introduced was not enforced. Beds saved on the beach from 8am and guests did not sit on them until after 10.30am
Drinks served at the beach bar were not very cold

Overall enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back again next year when all of the refurbishment has taken place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JWMarriott-KL, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear RachelDW1, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback during your recent stay at the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa. We also love to hear about the aspects you enjoy and the factors you feel we should improve upon. We do our best to attend to every detail and we are delighted to read you liked your room, enjoyed the professional service of the team, extensive breakfast spread, and the greatest satisfaction for us is to know even the smallest details of our work are noticed and appreciated. At JW Marriott, we believe that each moment of your stay is personally choreographed to delight and inspire your journey so that you may leave richer than when you arrived. Regarding to the sun lounger regulations, in fact, the regulations of using the sun loungers have been implemented for a long time and we would rather implemented in a more harmonious way, in order to acknowledge the guests about this gradually by showing every guest respect and care. We all have a good understanding about their requirements and privacy. Therefore, we will make sure that every opinion or issue is heard and all problems sorted out while maintaining harmony. Please rest assured that your voice is heard and we will make sure your next stay a more enjoyable than the previous one. Sincerely, Keith Massey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick wrote a review Jan 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I just completed a 5-night stay at this property and we already would like to go back. The location of the hotel is great as it is situated on a quiet stretch of beautiful beach. We had a pool-access room and the interconnected pool lagoons were a highlight of our trip as many afternoons were spent roaming the lagoons and enjoying the 2 different pool bars.

The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with so many options ranging from standard Western-style breakfast to Asian & Indian as well as an assortment of breads, salads, juices, etc. We did not eat any dinners at the hotel since there were a lot of good places to eat just outside of the hotel property that were much cheaper; however, the hotel restuarants did look nice.

All of the staff we encountered at the hotel were great. Most greet you with a smile and a "Sawasdee" (Hello in Thai). All of the staff work hard to maintain the grounds and provide great service. We enjoyed chatting with the bartenders throughout the property. In particular, Whisky at the Czar Bar was friendly, provided great service, and made great drinks.

The property also treats Marriott Titanium members well as we were upgraded to a pool access room, received 20% off food & beverage, had access to a free shuttle into town, and were able to choose daily breakfast as our welcome option.

The only negative we encountered was that we could hear the vibration of every footstep of the people staying in the room on top of ours, which got to be a little annoying as they were early risers. I'm not sure if this was unique to our room or if it is just the way the buildings are constructed.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing resort stay on a great beachfront location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JWMarriott-KL, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear famanator, Sawasdee Krub! Greetings from JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa. Thank you for choosing your stay at our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s truly rewarding to learn that you liked many aspect of your stay and especially our pool-access rooms that made your stay in Khao Lak even more memorable and relaxing when it allows you to enjoy our 1.93 kilometers swimming pool directly from your room balcony, and beautiful soft sand beach. Also, it is awesome that you enjoyed an extensive buffet breakfasts at Waterfront and that could left a lasting impression with you until now. It is always encouraging to learn that you are satisfied with our service. Everyone on our team do our best to keep our hotel looking at its finest and to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time at the hotel and leaves us with lasting memories. Particularly, Whisky provided you the exceptional service. We will pass on your much appreciated comments to our associates for their hard work. Lastly, we are not sure about the vibration of footsteps you mentioned, however I hope you had already informed our staffs otherwise I will alert my Engineering Department team again regarding the noise issue from the upper floors, it should not be the wall insulation but it might be something else. Please rest assured that we have taken your comments into consideration to improve our service. Once again famanator, Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon for another enjoyable stay with us. Sincerely, Keith Massey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bendig0pete wrote a review Feb 2020
Bendigo, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having found a unexpected week long gap in my schedule I sought about finding a tropical, all inclusive resort for a little R&R with my wife. Much Googling and TripAdvisoring later I chose JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. Actually, we found it through Luxury Escapes and with a little help from their friendly staff a 7 day booking was secured, along with Jetstar direct flights. For a little above room rates we got breakfast, lunch and dinner, a Thai cooking class and two complimentary massages. Along with Mariott Bonvoy membership we were set for a well earned break.

The hotel contacted us before departure and guaranteed our transfers and sent us brochures on what was on offer. We felt secure that we had chosen a great place.

We were not to be disappointed. From check in to check out the service has been spectacular. Nothing has been too much trouble and the place is kept in great condition. Tang, our wonderful cleaner had our room always spic and span and the restaurants were all well stocked and provided for any palate imaginable. They also have a variety of areas, catering to the insiders, the outsiders and those without children.

JW Marriott Khao Lak, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JWMarriott-KL, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear bendig0pete, Warm greetings! Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa and for writing your review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased that you found the hotel was pleasant and you could take advantage of various benefits from benefits of being a member of Marriott Bonvoy travel program along with all-inclusive package of LE that includes wide range of food and beverage options, Thai cooking class, and relaxing aromatherapy massage. JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa also has a package called “Escape to Paradise” where you could enjoy a lot of Marriott Bonvoy benefits while you can collect your points. We are glad that our staffs could reach and put a lasting impression on your mind, especially “Tang” from Housekeeping Department who is an epitome of true hospitality and really embodies the spirit of excellence and work very hard each day in order to deliver authentic experiences to our guests. And we are very fortunate that we have Tang on our team. bendig0pete, I am thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations with our “sincere” hospitality. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, Keith Massey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AR&RR wrote a review Jan 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The first thing to say is that this is not one of the Marriott chain hotels. It used to be but was sold with agreement the Marriott name could continue to be used. If I’d know that before I booked I probably wouldn’t have booked it as I like the Marriott chain. We travelled for a 50th birthday in early Oct. After lots of research we chose this hotel. The positives, setting and beach, Italian restaurant. Negatives, We knew there had been renovation work going on but it would be finished by September. It hadn’t. Despite asking for a quiet room we were taken to the first room in a block with work ongoing to extent we had to step over cables and there were ‘task lists’ still on bedroom doors. The smell of fresh paint hit you the minute you walked in. So we asked for another room. Block 1 is quieter but still has maintenance work. You cannot relax in your room between 9 and 5 for the sound of drilling, sanding etc. Avoid blocks 3,4,5 as that is where all the families are and it’s very noisy. Two restaurants closed due to renovation but they just ended up using parts of the main restaurant to offer this food which didn’t really work. We also didn’t realise it was half term in Australia so there were lots and lots of children which made breakfast a nightmare. The food is ok but not at that price, we were B&B but ended up buying a voucher to cover our stay which worked out cheaper. So personal opinion, avoid until you know the renovations are completed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicolai_Mitchell, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear AR&RR, thank you very much for taking the time for writing a review of your stay last year in October. We are of course very saddened that you did not fully enjoy your vacation with us and we are very sorry that the over-run of the renovation had such an impact to your stay. The renovation was indeed planned to be completed by end of September but due to unforeseen circumstances the contractors were not able to complete their works as per the promised deadline. Please do allow me to respectfully correct you on the point you mentioned of us not being a part of the Marriott chain, we absolutely and 100% are and I am unsure where you would have received any information that indicates anything different. I am very pleased to inform you that the renovations of wings 1 and 2 as well as the two restaurants have since been fully completed and we are now in the great position to not only offer our guests newly renovated rooms but also completely redesigned restaurants with beautiful designs and additional outdoor seating. We do hope that we will have the chance to serve you better on your next visit and restore your confidence in our beautiful resort. Warmest regards, Nicolai Nicolai Mitchell Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FlyingDutchman80 wrote a review May 2021
Bangkok, Thailand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thailand has many great hotels and seldom do we return to the same beach in the same year. However the JW Khao Lak broke the trend going back within 6 weeks for the Songkran break. The hotel managed the high volume of guests easily with perfect social distancing for breakfast. All food was plated by the Chefs so Zero cross contact between guests as self service utensils were not found. The food for a property so far away from the big cities is outstanding. Chef Silvano, Enzo, Sa, Mohan, Fathi are continuously guest facing and doing their best to please. Highlight for our family was to enjoy our food in touch with nature, feet in the sand, on the beach. Amazing. The bar team under the leadership of Khun Tony and Kong are friendly and always kept us re-hydrated with their wide variations of mocktails and cocktails at reasonable prices. If you have a good appetite, they offer a fantastic selection of rotating buffets, that are so good that I saw local residents come to join the feast. Our favorite was the Rock and Roll and Persian buffet. Pictures say a thousand words, so check out some of the food memories.

We will be back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JW Marriott Khaolak, Marketing at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear FlyingDutchman80, Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that you had such a lovely time during your stay at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa. Moreover finding that our associates Chef Silvano, Chef Enzo, Chef Sa, Chef Mohan, Chef Fathi, Khun Tony and Khun Kong provided an excellent customer service to you was rewarding indeed. Moreover, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Breakfast, Bar Service and Persian Night Buffet – these attributes are the main ingredients for a pleasant holiday. FlyingDutchman80, once again, thanks for sharing your experience. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back to our beautiful resort in the near future. Kind regards, Nicolai Mitchell Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam S wrote a review Feb 2020
Hong Kong, China
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stand for 3 nights in a room with pool access. The room was newly refurbished and was quit comfortable. Specially the access to the big and very clean pool was great and invented us to swim nearly the whole day.

The breakfast was great with a good mix between western and Asia food.

The beach was the highlight. Due to the location the beach was not so crowded and therefore we were able to enjoy the full beauty of the beach.

All in all, the hotel and everything related to the team and the hotel itself was great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JWMarriott-KL, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear adambs90, Thank you for your review and I greatly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa. Nothing makes my day like knowing our staff left a good impression on you. I am glad that you found our team to be friendly and courteous and glad to hear you enjoyed a vast variety of International food on our buffets, found the beach was the highlight of your trip, and also your pool access room that was always well-kept and allowed you to experience the largest lagoon pool in South East Asia. adambs90, Your nice compliments will not come to pass without sharing them with my whole team and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Khao Lak and highly appreciate taking your time to give us a positive review! Sincerely, Keith Massey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mike H
Bangkok, Thailand
Hi yes there is really fast Wi-Fi plus if you are a Marriott Bonvoy member the app automatically connects you to the Wi-Fi
Answer from Ryan H
Singapore, Singapore129 contributions16 helpful votes
Yes they do, My wife and I plus 2 kids had breakfast included during our stay as platinum members
Simon B asked a question Mar 2024
Tow Law, United Kingdom1 contribution
Can you upgrade to half board/ ful board when you’re there and how much thanks
Answer from דן וינברג
Ganei Tikva, Israel69 contributions50 helpful votes
Well, you don‘t need to. They have plenty of restaurants.Well, you don‘t need to. They have plenty of restaurants.I agree with my 2 forward answering reviewers.
Answer from Ben E
Singapore, Singapore91 contributions23 helpful votes
One side of the hotel is older than the other. We stayed in the older side and the rooms were lovely, clean and modern.
Darsh wrote a tip 11 Jul
South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book spa treatments early, for any dietary restrictions send an email to reservations and they will gladly caterer accordingly. "
Read full review
Cone B wrote a tip 10 Jul
39 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
" Outside the hotel you have a supermarket, money exchange, travel agency, coffee shop and more... "
Read full review
Sashank J wrote a tip 7 Jul
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just Have Fun!"
Read full review
Dave M wrote a tip 6 Jul
Perth101 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring Wine from home. Book a pool access Room. Book 1xxx or 6xxx room. "
Read full review
J0hnnyA wrote a tip 4 Jul
Zipolite, Mexico22 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are going to this region of Thailand, don't waste your time anywhere else. This is a secret hideout that oozes quality!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Khuk Khak area.
PRICE RANGE
£94 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jw marriott khao lak hotel khao lak, jw marriott khao lak resort and spa, cher fah hotel, cher fah resort
LOCATION
ThailandPhang Nga ProvinceTakua PaKhao LakKhuk Khak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
424
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JW MARRIOTT KHAO LAK RESORT & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olive Italian Restaurant, Waterfront Khao Lak International Dining, and Sakura Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Chinese, Thai, and Korean.
Does JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Khuk Khak HotelsKhuk Khak Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Khuk KhakHotels near JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire