We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Royalton Riviera Cancun

Carretera Federal 307 Tulum-Cancun Km 332,150, SM31, Puerto Morelos 77500 Mexico
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (20227)
Pool & Beach (2927)
Room & Suite (2017)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 7 resorts in Puerto Morelos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Royalton Riviera Cancun is consist of 3 distinct sections, all unique to our guests' needs and vacation styles. Choose from the Resort or Diamond Club sections or enjoy the ultimate luxury in our resort within a resort, the Hideaway at the Royalton Riviera Cancun. All of our 1,183 luxurious rooms and suites offer our exclusive DreamBed™ Guests can also take advantage of our All-In Connectivity exclusive features including: • Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort • Unlimited free in-room calling to North America and most of Europe • Convenient USB recharge and Bluetooth audio stations in your room
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Carretera Federal 307 Tulum-Cancun Km 332,150, SM31, Puerto Morelos 77500 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Royalton Riviera Cancun
19855Reviews5603Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 12,642
  • 3,839
  • 1,689
  • 661
  • 1,027
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
iainbeanie wrote a review Yesterday
Peterborough, United Kingdom32 contributions35 helpful votes
Amazing hotel. Was really good food and drinks, and the entertainment was brilliant. Room was so quiet and with great aircon. Pools were lovely and clean, perfect temperature with plenty of sun beds (thank god) Lots of the staff speak mostly Spanish with limited English but the concierge (fernando) went out of his way to get every request sorted and even made some great suggestions on excursions! Would definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mattjamon wrote a review Yesterday
Stamford, United Kingdom97 contributions76 helpful votes
Great stay would love to visit again soon. The staff and everything about our stay was first class. Wonderful treatment, great food and that fabulous Mexican service that leaves you feeling really special. Fernando on concierge couldn’t do enough for us, took time out to make sure we were looked after well and made to feel really special. Thanks for everything team
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shana L wrote a review 2 Mar
1 contribution
This hotel didn’t quite meet our expectations. The staff was fantastic….friendly, helpful, and patient. The restaurants were recently remodeled and beautiful but they did not take reservations and every time we tried to go to one they had no room for us or we were told to come back in 2-3 hours. The food was also just okay. There was not much difference in the food from the restaurants to the buffet. It was a frustrating experience. The fitness center was great and the tennis courts were a plus for us. The accommodations were clearly outdated and really need an update badly. The looked heavily worn and used. For what we paid we expected better. The pools did not have enough chairs for the guests and we had to set an alarm for 6:45am to go outside and claim pool or beach chairs. It was also not a relaxing area or atmosphere. The beach was full of seaweed and not really white sands beach. The coffee shop served coffee that was subpar. Ordering the same drink often was different each time. We had a nice vacation here together but would think twice before going back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Feb is too busy, 5 weddings a day….prepare for loud noise throughout the day and night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
colombiajan wrote a review 2 Mar
Saint Albans, West Virginia195 contributions80 helpful votes
This is a great resort. It is huge and even though we did not go with children, it is a great place for children. They will have plenty to do. The food was very good and the place was always clean. The beach is very nice and you could always find a chair. This was a nice change from some other resorts. If you prefer pools you will not be disappointed. The entertainment at night was not very good. They told us the restaurants did not need reservations but it turns out that if you are a diamond member you could get reservations. that left people with no reservations having long waits at some restaurants. Also if you chose this resort please be aware that is off the beat and path and not easy to get into Cancun. All it all it was a great trip and i would recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just make sure you know that getting into Cancun will cost about $100 each way. Other than that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marissa R wrote a review 2 Mar
Boulder, Colorado21 contributions15 helpful votes
We came to get married in the wedding gazebo. Wedding day was absolutely fantastic an the wedding team killed it. Aside from wedding review, I would not stay here again. My biggest complaint about our stay was the service. The resort is simply too big and not staffed well enough. The food was nothing memorable. We waited 2.5 hours for room service one night that came cold, inedible and the pizza was just gross. The hostess at Dorado was very rude multiple mornings in a row when we tried to wait for breakfast. She visibly gave us attitude and side eye and it felt very rude. We are there for both dinner and lunch and service was just SO slow. Like they didn’t realize we had sat down and we waited for probably 20 minutes for a server to even acknowledge us. I am unhappy with the check in and checkout process as well. We were in the hideaway and our checkin was very easy. We arrived with my sister and her family who had the regular side. We all arrived around 4:30pm. My sister waited in line for an hour to be told her room was not ready and would not be ready for at least an hour (so 6:30pm at this point! She had a tired toddler melting down and there was nothing the resort was doing to be helpful. We had multiple people have issues with their room in our party. A family of 3 being given a king bed… no that doesn’t work. Friends who roomed together being given a king. Couples being given double beds. My parents bathtub didn’t drain for 3 days. Nothing was done about it.. During check in- I told the woman we had the $300 in resort credit that came with our wedding package. She said she put it in the account. I asked guest services during our stay about it - they said not to worry, everything would be handled at checkout. We checked out and the man said “no you don’t have any credit” I explained to him I told them at checkin, I showed him my emails confirming I have credit. He had someone else come over, it was a back and forth and I kept trying to explain it to him but he couldn’t do anything about it. He didn’t seem to care. I asked him what else he can do and he said nothing. I do not feel that is an appropriate response for being in the service industry. An attempt at a solution would have been better than the nothing he offered. We went to guest services a few times during our stay for questions and each time it felt like we were just met with No’s from the staff. It was not a great experience. House keeping- it felt like they tidied the room but didn’t clean it. The fridge was never re-stocked. There was a bug I killed on the headboard Wednesday night - it was still there when we left Sunday. There were remnants of previous guests in the room - balloon pieces on the floor etc.. and the tub was not bolted into the floor!! I sat on one edge of it and the bathtub came up off the floor on the end - which can be a serious safety problem. The resort seemed like a walking death trap in some places. By the hideaway pool there were some large uneven stairs that if you didn’t know it was so uneven and such a large step down - you could break an ankle which one of our friends did trip and fall down the stairs. We had three guests in our party all trip, fall, and hurt themselves on an uneven surface by the main pool. The best restaurant was the Grazie. We were told by all our guests that one was the best and we had that the last night. The waiters there were nice and we ordered and ate everything. Other than that the food was not good. We went to the buffet for breakfast everyday and that was fine basic buffet food. If you’re coming for the wedding factory experience and to be pumped full of cheap alcohol - this is for you. It was a giant party resort. After being there 5 days, we just heard the same songs over and over and over again. If you want more attention to detail and better service, I would not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Everyone snags chairs at 7am. its so flipping annoying. You can't make dinner reservations, so...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BK wrote a review 2 Mar
Boulder, Colorado1 contribution
Our daughter got married here. Everything regarding the wedding was perfect, this is an excellent wedding venue.All details taken care of, so you can just enjoy your family and friends. I think they should fix the escalator. The disco dance floor needs to be less slippery and a fan in the disco would be great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Buildings 1-3 reek of sewer gas, we overcame this by keeping the sliding glass door shut and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bruce H wrote a review 2 Mar
1 contribution
The staff is wonderful with outstanding service. The entertainment was great. The resort has a good variety of options and an outstanding buffet. The resort is close to ten years old and is being maintained well. The beach was cleaned daily.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
fari a wrote a review 1 Mar
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Miguel es muy fantastico! Muy muy bien para ayudar mi familia. Tambien Miguel es una persona muy simpatico y trabajadora. Miguel went above and beyond, making our trip very special. He was always attentive, giving us the schedule and meeting our every need. Thank you Miguel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit! We are very delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at Royalton Riviera Cancun and couldn't be happier to learn our team, especially Miguel, made sure you had a top-notch experience. We look forward to welcoming you shortly. Luxury Regards Rodolfo Cobos General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Scott M wrote a review 1 Mar
1 contribution
After spending 2 1/2 hours at the airport waiting for luggage we were tired and thirsty. This was not the fault of the resort and we were happy that the shuttle was a short trip from the airport. Which is why we booked this location. Upon arrival we took our place inn line at the desk to check in and a short 1 hour later we had a room. Yeah….cuz the kids were raring to go. It was a long walk down continuous winding halls to our upgraded family room with an ocean view. Hmmm! You guessed it no view, but what’s worse is that the room was barely capable of fitting the needs of two adults. The couch was old and unable to cradle a four year old. Now there was a pullout bed. But no mattress or sheets, pillows. Unpin request they assured they’d fix that and bring us towels. As two small ones that were there weren’t enough for a family. They also apologized. Two days later things started showing up. Still they obviously had a towel shortage as all week we had to resort to stealing some from the maid carts. The pool had the same issue with towels the whole week we were there. Another thing is our daily quota for beer in the fridge was two. Two that’s it that’s all. Nothing could change their minds on this. Not even tips etc. Beer, towel and bed shortages must be a Royalton thing. Food was good to excellent at times, entertainment ok, pools nice. Promises after broken promises from the staff were constant. And frustrating as hell. There were too many issues here and would take far to long to delve into every problem we and seemingly everyone else we talked to that chose this most forgettable resort: Not recommended by us or anyone else that long week in February.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie wrote a review 1 Mar
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
We just returned from a wonderful one-week stay at the Royalton Riviera Cancun. Our 2-storey room in Block 6 of the Diamond Club was immaculate: clean and comfy bed, well-stocked and replenished refrigerator, attentive and responsive housekeeping staff, etc. Our butlers Vanessa, Mar and Enrique were absolutely lovely and managed all of our restaurant reservations, our spa treatments, etc. Food: We enjoyed breakfast (hot and plentiful) daily at Agave (special thanks to Pablo!), yummy lunches at the food trucks, and dinner at Armadillo, Zen, Grazie, Agave and Taj. We popped in at the buffet a few times: lots of options -- you won't go hungry! -- none of which were terribly warm (or cold) unfortunately. Pools and grounds: The resort is very clean, grounds and pools are maintained dutifully daily, and the beach is beautiful. Tractors and maintenance crews work hard to keep the seaweed away but expect to see some. Small price to pay to be in paradise. Service: Kindness and respect beget kindness and respect. All staff were responsive, helpful, and respectful. A small tip and kind words go a very long way... You will be asked to purchase excursions, spa treatments, bottles of alcohol but a simple "no thank" you on your part will do the trick. Would we return? Yep! Should you give it a try? Indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit! We are very delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at Royalton Riviera Cancun as a Diamond Club™ guest and couldn't be happier to learn our team made sure you had a top-notch experience. We look forward to welcoming you shortly. Luxury Regards Rodolfo Cobos General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Morelos area.
PRICE RANGE
£249 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPuerto Morelos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
840
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYALTON RIVIERA CANCUN - Updated 2024 (Riviera Maya, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Royalton Riviera Cancun
What are some of the property amenities at Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zen Restaurant, Malpeque, and Peacock Alley.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Royalton Riviera Cancun have airport transportation?
Yes, Royalton Riviera Cancun offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royalton Riviera Cancun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Royalton Riviera Cancun?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (9.7 miles).
Does Royalton Riviera Cancun have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.