Post Ranch Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Post Ranch Inn

A morning soak in the Jade Pool.
Traveller (1384)
Day time view from coastal room
Room & Suite (496)
Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn
Dining (117)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 9 hotels in Big Sur
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Welcome to Post Ranch Inn, your Big Sur “home away from home.” Post Ranch Inn aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity to Seal Beach Scenic Overlook (2.7 mi), guests of Post Ranch Hotel can easily experience one of Big Sur's most popular landmarks.

Rooms at Post Ranch Hotel provide air conditioning, a minibar, and a refrigerator, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Post Ranch Hotel guests have access to room service and a concierge. You can also enjoy a pool and free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Post Ranch Hotel.

Travellers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to Nepenthe or The Sur House. Otherwise, you may want to check out a cafe such as Cafe Kevah or Ripplewood Resrt Restaurant.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Hawthorne Gallery (0.9 mi), which is a popular Big Sur attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Post Ranch Inn puts the best of Big Sur at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Spa
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,765 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Post Ranch Inn is celebrated for its unique and tranquil experience, with many guests considering it a worthwhile indulgence, despite some concerns over value. The hotel's breathtaking location earns high marks, though there's room for improvement in management. Service is generally commended for being warm and professional, but occasional lapses in attentiveness are noted. Luxurious amenities, including infinity pools and spa services, add to the allure, as do the inviting rooms with fireplaces and ocean views. The hotel's cleanliness and cozy atmosphere, with unique architectural elements, also garner considerable appreciation.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,765Review33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,483
  • 139
  • 76
  • 32
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Boutique_Freak wrote a review Mar 2021
Orange County, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second stay at the Post Ranch Inn. Our first stay was this same time last year, and it was exceptional / Five Stars. This is a truly special property, and that, combined with excellent service and food convinced us that the Post Ranch Inn was worth the (very steep) price. However, this year our experience was a little different.

For our most recent trip, we booked a Tree House, and it was first rate — gorgeous ocean and tree views, lovely, rustic decor and understated amenities. Where we had some bumps were with cleanliness and service. Despite advertising a special COVID cleaning protocol, the IPad that controlled the music in our room clearly had not been cleaned prior to our arrival (though cleaning solition and microfiber cloths were available). Similarly, we noticed at least two occasions when tables were not properly cleaned in the restaurant. We watched as the host tried to seat another couple at a dirty table, and then experienced the same thing ourselves the next morning at breakfast. (All seating was on the patio and set up very well for social distancing.)

On the service side, we received a warm welcome and were impressed that the staff knew from last year’s visit that we were celebrating a birthday. We also received wonderful service from Bryan, our dinner server for 2 nights. However, when we asked to have our mini bar area restocked while we were at dinner, we were disappointed to find that the staff had not cleared away the dirty dish ware on the bar in the process. We also asked if our stay could be extended for an additional night. When we did not hear back, I asked the woman at the front desk and she replied that she’d left me a voice mail. I checked both my phone and room voice mails, and if she’d left a message it was not delivered. In the end, we decided not to stay the additional night partly because of the tone of this interaction.

At checkout I told the person at the desk that our stay had been “good plus, but not excellent,” citing the cleanliness and service gaffes above. He said that he would “note it,” and also awkwardly applied a small credit to our bill. This was fine, but actually underscored the less-than-exceptional service experience this visit.

I understand that this is a very difficult and stressful time for all of us, and even more so for people who do front line work in the hospitality industry. In my judgement, however, the issues we had this trip reflect more on management than on the staff. Things felt a little disorganized and a little off for a hotel at this level. The Post Ranch Inn is an exceptional property, and when the service is on, it’s worth every penny. But in this trip, we were left a little disappointed, and so can give only four stars. We will likely return, but our enthusiasm is just a little dampened....
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Hildreth, Innkeeper at Post Ranch Inn
Responded 9 Mar 2021
Greetings!! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. My sincerest apologies for not reaching the level of service that both you and I expect. I must say we missed the service mark on multiple levels and we will learn from your comments. Cleanliness is up there with the most basic expectations and I assure you your experience is not the norm. I hope that you enjoyed your birthday celebration and the bottle of champagne as well as some peace and quiet during your stay. I look forward to the opportunity to have you back with us so that you can feel the love from Post Ranch, the sincere dedication of our Team and the sense of rejuvenation and beauty that Big Sur holds for you. Again, thank you for your honesty and remember that this is how we get better. Your Friends at Post Ranch Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan S wrote a review Mar 2021
Burlingame, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Post Ranch Inn for our 20th anniversary celebration. We have been trying to plan a trip to this destination for years but could never quite find the right opportunity. It was worth the wait. The property is over the top gorgeous, and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating.
Because we could not decide whether to commit to two nights with a mountain view or an ocean view, we decided to ask if we could stay in a different room for each of our two nights. The resort was happy to accommodate us, and even upgraded us to a suite with ocean views on our second night. The restaurant has excellent food and waitstaff. Because of Covid protocols, they have placed very high efficiency air purifiers throughout the restaurant and even on your table. Although we typically have not been eating indoors during the pandemic, we felt very safe and secure in the restaurant which had tables that were well spaced out. The Falconry exhibition was incredible and well worth the time and extra costs. On the day of checkout, we took advantage of their free Lexus auto loaners and drove down the coast in a luxury convertible for some hiking. Overall, blissful and wonderful (at a price tag to match!).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Jgrammatic wrote a review Nov 2020
Rolling Hills Estates, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We just stayed here to celebrate our one year anniversary. It was a wonderful relaxing stay and lived up to the expectations. It was not crowded at all and really felt like there were not many people on the property. The views are incredible and the heated pool was an amazing experience. We saw live deer and wild turkey on the property while cruising around on a morning hike. We ate at the fine dining restaurant Sierra Mar and while it was a good experience, I feel it did fall just a little short of expectations. Regardless still a wonderful experience. The place is definitely an expensive ticket but the good news is that they include breakfast and a room full stocked of snacks including wine, cookies, fruit and lots more . They even provided us with a breakfast to go on our way out the door. Overall I would recommend this place for relaxation , romance, and quiet time. Just a note there is no TV in the room so make sure to bring a book or other means of entertainment if you need it. The views and other things going on at the property should keep you plenty occupied. Again a majestic wonderful stay that is highly recommended. You will need to dish out some money to stay here but if you are ready to splurge then this is a great place to do so.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Hildreth, Innkeeper at Post Ranch Inn
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Dear Jgrammatic, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so happy you chose to celebrate your Anniversary with us.. and yes, the Inn was full however, it rarely feels like it. We appreciate your gracious feedback - and hope that you all will come back to see us again soon to enjoy the relaxation, romance and quiet time that we all need. Safe travels, Your friends at Post Ranch Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry W wrote a review Sept 2020
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We could not have had a more delightful two nights than we had in our mountain room. We had a glorious view across to the mountains that was fascinating with occasional wildlife and sheer natural beauty. The room was architecturally spectacular and luxuriously comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were soft. There were plenty of outlets and enough lighting. The minibar included a sink and complimentary treats and drinks. The fireplace was stocked each morning. Amenities were in large bottles and were all in a delightful lavender. There were bath salts at the jacuzzi Japanese soaking tub combo shower. Towels were fluffy and plentiful. The deck was very large and had a table and two comfortable wooden chaises. Internet was good, but the service employs the annoying requirement of an abbreviated sign in each time. Breakfasts in the room were served hot and were delicious. The food in Sierra Mar, the restaurant, was prepared and plated with enthusiasm, ingenuity, and an eye for beauty. We were very impressed with our two dinners and our lunch. The level of service there was of the same very high standard as in the rest of the resort. Everyone was professional, friendly, and gracious. Given their sanitation efforts, we felt pretty comfortable about the pandemic. We enjoyed our hike around the property and our visit to the chef's garden. My girlfriend had an exciting and informative time with the falconry program. We loved our time at Post Ranch and are eager to return. A very special place that is world class.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ClaireB456123 wrote a review Sept 2021
La Center, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The website does not do justice to what a magnificent hotel the Post Ranch Inn is. If prices seem high, trust me that the property, service, and amenities make it worth it. The sites are essentially little modern houses, lots of privacy, direct ocean views and wooded hills that make you feel immersed in nature. Inside you will find a real wood fireplace with logs already set up for your first fire and relaxing music playing in the background. Relax in your comfortable kind size bed or on the day bed by the window or comfy leather chairs as you enjoy free wine and a cheese platter.

The amenities are exceptional; you'll find a well stocked refrigerator that is restocked as many times as you like with cheese, chocolate chip cookies, seed and nuts bars, chips, beer, seltzer, iced coffee drinks, almost all from local small businesses. They've also thought of other amenities you might need, like sunscreen (and yes we had a beautifully warm, sunny day by the pool, so that was much needed!), binoculars, walking sticks, umbrellas. There were even two beautiful steel water bottles that are free to take home as a souvenir. We were extremely impressed.

The service is exceptional and matches the fantastic amenities and property. They have Lexus cars that will drive you around, and since I had a back injury, I was incredibly thankful for their kind and prompt service helping us get between the suite and the pool for example. All of the staff is exceptionally attentive, they know who you are, they have your car ready whenever you need it, they have water bottles available to go, the lady at the gift shop noticed right away that I had a disability and offered me a chair. Absolutely everybody was kind, friendly, and ready to help at any time. Room service was very friendly and super fast as well, and we had our breakfast each morning in the room from a lovely picnic basket. Fantastic breakfast selection!

The property has so many extras as well, you can book a session with the falconer and get to know their birds, they have exercise like yoga and walks across the trails, we would love to come back and do more of that in the future. Oh and there's also a lap pool for exercise, and a spa.

This is truly the hotel experience of a lifetime. I highly recommend it, they make it worth the price, I promise. Unforgettable!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janette Simplicio wrote a review Aug 2020
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I travel often and stay primarily in five-star hotels. We don't mind spending the extra money on a beautiful room that is updated, comfortable, and quiet. This was not the case when we recently stayed at The Post Ranch Inn.
Having been there fifteen years ago the views are everything at this property so we booked a room with a view, the lower coast house. We were traveling with another couple and they booked the same for three nights. We were not aware that there is a lower coast and an upper coast house meaning we would have people staying above us. Most people visit The Post Ranch Inn because it's so peaceful, relaxing, quiet, etc. Our experience was the complete opposite, from the very first night we were woken up by the guests staying above us, and this continued for all three nights. The couple that were with us had their own room and had the same experience with noise from the people staying above them. In addition to the noise from the guests above, there was a mouse that would make a noise every night. We spent our days walking and having lunch at the "meditation" pool listening to the sounds of construction going on in the three units next to the meditation pool The whole time we could hear the saw cutting the stone for the walking paths and the sounds of construction.
Bottom line if you are still reading this is. Don't go until the rooms are updated, they finish the remodel and they have a management staff in place to deal with these issues. When we complained they told us that they have never had anyone complain about the guests above in the upper coast houses. It's not worth the money and the risk of exposure to COVID19.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go when they finish updating ALL the rooms and stay in an UPPER coast house
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Hildreth, Innkeeper at Post Ranch Inn
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear Janette, I am so sorry that you left the Ranch disappointed. It is our highest mission to provide a peaceful and rejuvenating atmosphere where our guests can enjoy themselves without distraction. That said, when we do not reach our goal it is important to take responsibility, apologize and welcome you back with us again. While it is true that we do not have noise complaints often, it is not impossible and I am sincerely sorry that your predicament was not handled to your satisfaction right away. We are in the final stages of a renovation on the far north end of the property that will be complete in a couple of weeks and we are very happy to have the Ocean Houses back online. On your next stay I would love to have you in one of these new homes - please contact me directly for this arrangement - philip@postranchinn.com Thank you for staying with us, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you back with us! Your Friends at Post Ranch Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CSSTravel wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to the Post Ranch Inn a few days after our wedding as a "mini-moon". Every part of our stay exceeded expectationas. The location is unmatched, Big Sur is a very special place and PRI is directly on the coast with incredible views of the ocean from above. Even on cloudy days, you sit above the clouds and still have a beautiful view.

The rooms have very comfy beds + sonos and an ipad for easy listening to whatever you chose. The mini bar was fully complementary and very above average. It included an assortment of local cheeses that we called to have restocked it was so good!

What really makes the stay is the staff. Everyone we interacted with was so nice and so helpful. Chris the gardener was great, do the chef's garden tour! Also, the forest meditation was fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The entire property is beautiful. We splurged on an ocean view room but I don't think you can...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DressagerLA wrote a review Aug 2021
Los Angeles, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We selected Post Ranch Inn as the place to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. It IS one of the romantic places on the planet with very unique rooms set on a cliff over the Pacific in a redwood forest. Our fireplace, our view + our daily forest walks among the fairy circles were beyond inspiring. This setting is in a class by itself. A falconry lesson takes on new meaning in this setting - it was beyond magical. The fitness room & the pools were lovely. The restaurant works very hard to innovate & offer unique food. The amenities (e.g., quality of the included mini bar) and some service capabilities (e.g., need room service delivery of hot food & cold beverages to improve) need to upgraded at this price point. Those are the reasons for my value & service ratings. Post Ranch has every right to be pricey given the magic & romance their setting offers, but that price raises the bar for every aspect of their offerings. However, Post Ranch is STILL the most romantic place on the planet in my view.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beav wrote a review May 2021
Boston, Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the Post Ranch Inn as a birthday present to my husband and celebration of post-Covid travel. I booked a Pacific suite and am so glad that I did. You never know if you can trust the website's photos, but my hopes were certainly exceeded. Jaegar is a beautiful suite with separate living room, patio overlooking the ocean, and private hot tub. The bed was very comfortable and the organic linens out of this world. The bathroom with its view of the ocean and its own bath and body materials was equally as spectacular. The fridge contained everything we could have asked for including the inn's own filtered, bottled water, a sparkling water I had never tried before called Dram, and milk for our Nespresso. We were greeted with fresh fruit and two half bottles of wine. I could go on and on but will end saying thank you to the Post Ranch Inn and giving it my highest recommendation. And I am very, very particular about my travel bookings.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Hildreth, Innkeeper at Post Ranch Inn
Responded 28 May 2021
Dear Beav! Thank you for sharing your story! We're so happy that the birthday present was a huge success for the two of you and that your maiden journey out of the house was worth the wait. Let's not wait so long for your next trip to Big Sur, we will be waiting for you, all of us. Your Post Ranch Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tina wrote a review Dec 2022
New Jersey
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Post Ranch Inn is tucked away off the side of the PCH, and if you're not looking for it, you can completely pass the entrance. You pull into the driveway, and up to the reception desk, where your magical stay starts. We were offered a choice of different (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) refreshing beverages, given maps of the property and our keys. Our car was valet parked, and they had loaded our luggage into one of the property's Lexus vehicles. We were whisked on a tour of the property and up to our house. The property is absolute sustainable and eco-luxury. Our room was stocked with fresh fruit, mixed nuts, chocolate, cookies, cheese and crackers, non-alcoholic beverages, and two 1/2 bottles of wine, one red, one white. We had a beautiful view through the trees to the Pacific Ocean (our room was one of the Upper Coast Tree and Ocean view). The terrace was quiet and private, and we had coffee out there watching the sun rise in the morning, and wine and cheese watching the sunset in the evenings. The property has a fitness room, a lap pool, 2 "basking" pools (big hot tubs set on the cliff overlooking the ocean). There is an art gallery and a small mercantile shop. We took part in some of the complimentary activities, and went on some small hikes around the property. The breakfast is delicious, although they could/should change the menu so you're not choosing from the same thing each day. Lunch we had delivered to the pool, and while not inexpensive, it was served hot and with everything we needed, and we only had to call from the "house" phone and order. Dinner is in the Sierra Mar restaurant overlooking the ocean, although after sunset, all you see is darkness. The food is good, although I feel that the 4 course menu at $145 per person is a bit much. Maybe an a la carte menu should be offered as well....It's too much food and it was the only part of the experience that was just 'okay'. We ate dinner at a different restaurant one night, and it was much better and much less expensive, and much less food! The room was big and comfortable, with a real wood burning fireplace. My only suggestion is to ask about the shower/bath situation if you have trouble climbing over the edge of a deep soaking tub. The tub is fabulous for a soak, (and watch the sunset !), but climbing into it every day to take a shower was a bit much even with the provided step stool. Would have been better to have a walk in shower. If it's a clear night you can see every star in the sky. Every staff person was SO nice and knowledgeable and I would not hesitate to recommend the Post Ranch Inn if you want the best relaxation and digital detox! We will be back !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you get a house with an ocean view if that is what you are looking for. Not all houses...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Lee, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn
Responded 16 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Post Ranch is dedicated to providing a magical stay and we are happy to hear that you will be back! We look forward to your return when your travel brings you back to Big Sur. Happy Holidays! Tim Lee General Manager Post Ranch Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Cindy V
1 contribution
The treehouses have been updated in the last five years. I am not sure what it is that you are looking for in a room, but we have stayed in all the different rooms and prefer the treehouse. The rooms are not big but they are big enough. There are window coverings, although we never use them. Some treehouses have ocean views and some have mountain views. If you want a sofa, then the rooms on the south end of the property are your best choice. They are bigger in size. Depends on how much time you plan to spend in your room, I guess. We spend less time in the room and more time outdoors.
VOLPETK asked a question Jan 2022
Lake Orion, Michigan42 contributions
How is the weather late february
Answer from Ibetrippin
Powell, Ohio159 contributions94 helpful votes
Hit or miss on sun. That is the "rainy" season in Big Sur and central- and northern-cal. Temp, low 60s for a high, low 40s for a low.
Paul asked a question Jan 2022
Cupertino, California4 contributions
Which room has the best ocean view? - Cliff vs Pacific vs Ocean vs Coast
California19 contributions4 helpful votes
So here's the deal.......the Ocean houses are smaller inside. the Coast houses have no hot tubs outside, the Cliff and Pacific houses, I feel are the best. They are on the Southern part of the property, both have the outdoor stainless steel hot tubs, and they are bigger in size. We stayed in a lower Coast room, and did not really care for it, as it was smaller and dark inside, and had no hot tub outside, then we stayed in the Cooper House, which was incredible and huge, beyond words, and nothing compares to that incredible stand alone 2 bedroom house, we also stayed in a lower Pacific room, which was so nice. So, that is my advice. They all have ocean views, just the square footage inside varies and no outdoor hot tubs in some, if that is a deal breaker for you. Personally, I would only stay in a room with the outdoor hot tub as we used them sooo much when we were there! :) Enjoy your stay, just being at The Ranch is a blessing!!!
Answer from Rebecca Z
Laguna Niguel, California172 contributions187 helpful votes
No, no pets allowed. It’s stated on their website
Codatrek wrote a tip Jun 2024
Malibu, California125 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check Highway 1 conditions as subject to change with seasons. Book ahead with Reservations for Sierra Mer dinner times"
Read full review
Bitsy B wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be ready for more than you expect - in a very good way!"
Read full review
Curiosity31097651033 wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Allow yourself lots of time to make the trip down the coast, and time to explore the grounds."
Read full review
CNordenstam wrote a tip May 2024
Tustin, California9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fog is a fact of life on the California coast. In general, fall tends to be clearer."
Read full review
Will R wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The property itself is a Wonderland and I would plan to leave to hike maybe once a day but spend time there"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Big Sur area.
PRICE RANGE
£1,420 - £1,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
post ranch hotel big sur, post hotel big sur, post ranch inn, post big sur
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBig Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POST RANCH INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Post Ranch Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Post Ranch Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pfeiffer Beach (2.5 miles), Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park (1.5 miles), and Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Post Ranch Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Post Ranch Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Post Ranch Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Post Ranch Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Post Ranch Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant, Nepenthe, and Sierra Mar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Post Ranch Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Post Ranch Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Post Ranch Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Post Ranch Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Point Sur Light Station (8.9 miles).
Does Post Ranch Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Big Sur HotelsBig Sur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Big SurHotels near Post Ranch Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire