We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1115)
Room & Suite (307)
Dining (72)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Hot bath
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
1134Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 782
  • 241
  • 60
  • 31
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Linnea C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We had an excellent time staying at Treebones this November. The lounge is cozy and complete with a fireplace, snuggly couches and warm tea. Dinner was excellent, recommend lettuce wraps and kale salad. The yurts were soothing, warm and more spacious than expected. Each yurt has a fireplace and sink as well as a very comfortable bed. It was foggy and lots of mist in the evening which only added to the fireplace vibes. We enjoyed the grab and go breakfast, and sunshine in the morning. Bathrooms were clean, easily accessible and fully stocked with all needs. Would recommend for fellow outdoor lovers! Lots of nearby hikes and waterfalls.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan At Treebones Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Treebones Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for this great review! We do our best to keep the vibes very cozy in the Lodge and appreciate that you noticed! The propane fireplace heaters in the yurts do keep things nice and toasty on those foggy evenings, and we're glad you enjoyed our breakfast and dinners as well as the beautiful nearby hikes :) Come back soon and re-yurt!
Read more
Jillian C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
If you are planning a trip to Big Sur, you have to stay at Treebones. From the views, to the staff, the food and morning Yoga... you can't go wrong. The only warning I would give is to leave plenty of time to drive up to the resort during daylight because it's a challenging drive. If you are vegan or have gluten restrictions their menu is pretty accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Every yurt has a good view but certain yurts have full ocean view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan At Treebones Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Treebones Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for this lovely review! It's important for us to have our guests be able to dine at our amazing restaurants no matter what kind of dietary needs they have. Our Saigon Lettuce Wraps are a big hit with our vegan/vegetarian diners and feature veggies picked fresh from our organic garden! The 1 is most definitely a road that is best travelled during the light of day. We advise going only as fast as you are comfortable driving and planning on taking a few breaks at some of the gorgeous vista points and turn-outs! Come back soon!
Read more
Megan K wrote a review Nov 2021
Seattle, Washington13 contributions7 helpful votes
Loved this place! I took my husband here for his birthday as a surprise and this was a highlight! We stayed in yurt 15 (best yurt if you can chose as its separated away from the others, yet close to one of the bathroom houses). We wish we could have stayed longer! One night we just stayed up on the Adirondacks on our deck and watched the stars until 2am. Peaceful, quiet, and welcoming. The food was excellent (sushi dinner is a must) and the staff was very friendly. We look forward to returning. important to note that this is excellent if you are looking for a peaceful stay. Internet doesn’t really work outside of the reception area, but mine didn’t even work there..... kinda refreshing to just be unplugged! Also, quiet hours go into effect at 9:30-10pm ish and with yurts it’s key to keep the environment peaceful for all. Not a party spot.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Yurts 15 and 16, and the treehouse preferred (private with great views). Campsite 3 and 5 preferred.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan At Treebones Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Treebones Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Checkout is truly the most bittersweet time at Treebones. It sounds like you had the kind of experience that we want all our guests to have! We are indeed a good place to come for a digital detox! Internet is available to overnight guests only but is still limited-- enough to make phone calls and do some emailing but that's about it. Thank you for pointing out that we are not a party spot! We love having small groups of friends (6 people is the maximum group size we allow) but anything larger than that tends to disrupt the peaceful vibe that folks are looking for at Treebones. We look forward to you returning too! See you soon!
Read more
Kelci G wrote a review Nov 2021
San Diego, California13 contributions4 helpful votes
This review is about the costumer service at Treebones, not the resort. We never made it to the resort. Just before our trip my wife got hurt and could not make the 6 hour drive. Knowing the strict cancelation policy, we called the resort right away to say we would not make it up. This was the day before we were supposed to check in and did not expect a refund. The person who answered the phone was very distracted and when I ex painted the issue, asked if I wanted to release the reservation. If it was re-booked we might get a refund. Ofcourse we said yes. But the next day we got a phone call from Treebones asking where we were. It appears that whoever answered the phone when we called never followed through and because of that we lost our chance at a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan At Treebones Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Treebones Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for bringing this to our attention. I've looked into this particular matter and while I can definitely see how your experience led to you feeling like you lost your chance for a refund, I can assure that this was not actually the case. Your room was cancelled and opened up on our reservation software and the evening Front Desk staff were aware that the room was available to be rebooked. But because we print our list of incoming guests ahead of time, you were still on that list--this was an error on our part, and we apologize for the confusion. We care about the safety of our traveling guests, and so we always call and check in on anyone who hasn't arrived by the evening-- and that's why you received the call, not because the room wasn't marked as available. The only reason you didn't receive a refund was that no one rebooked the yurt for that evening. We're sorry that your wife had an injury and that you had to cancel last minute-- it's always disappointing when things like that happen. We hope that you'll come stay with us when she's healed up!
Read more
SFPSA wrote a review Nov 2021
San Francisco, California13 contributions23 helpful votes
My recent stay was my 2nd adventure at Treebones. My sisters & I thought we might take a hike at Pfeiffer State Park but we couldn't tear ourselves away from the beauty and tranquility of Treebones. Yoga both mornings and star gazing; simply magnificent, don't forget to look up at the stars! WOW, it felt like I could touch them they were so bright. Sean, the all around helper, Dan and Sarah, the managers and Donna who handled the reservations were all warm and welcoming. I left a pair of earrings and they promptly contacted me and returned them, I'm so grateful as they were a precious gift. The restaurant staff were also great, friendly and warm. I will be back again and again. Thank you all for another memorable stay, Treebones is so unique!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring a small flashlight, bring a few snacks, a warm wrap for the chilly nights and slippers
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan At Treebones Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Treebones Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
What a great reminder!! You're so right, on a clear night you can see the whole Milky way stretching overhead and it is always a breathtaking sight. From our Lodge railing you can often watch Venus rise after sunset-- so bright that you can see the light reflecting on the Pacific :) We are so proud of our hardworking staff and are glad you had such great experiences with Shawn, Sarah, and Donna-- this is Dan writing so thank you! Please come back soon, it was lovely having you and your sisters stay with us!
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
treebones resort big sur, treebones hotel big sur
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBig Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Treebones Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Treebones Resort?
Nearby attractions include Sand Dollar Beach (2.8 miles), Los Padres National Forest (0.7 miles), and Salmon Creek Falls Trail (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Treebones Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Treebones Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Treebones Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Treebones Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Treebones Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Motel Inn (10.0 miles).
Does Treebones Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.