We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vineyard Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU England
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$348
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$293
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/11/21
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$293
Expedia.comUS$293
eDreamsUS$348
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (645)
Dining (138)
Room & Suite (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Vineyard has been described as a temple to Californian wine. Just outside Newbury, about an hour from London, it certainly lives up to its reputation, and more. The cellar holds over 30,000 wines from the new and old worlds, as well as the award-winning estate wines of owner Sir Peter Michael. It is also celebrated for its contemporary cooking. Spacious contemporary suites, traditional bedrooms, an award winning spa and a private art collection to die for, make it the ideal venue for special events, weddings, and a delightful retreat for gourmands and the curious alike.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
2572Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,842
  • 464
  • 162
  • 60
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pjb wrote a review 10 Jun
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a hotel run by Wally's In November 2020 on the hotel web site l booked a two night stay in June this year. The hotel sent me a booking confirmation and reference and also confirmed dinner reservation timings. In early June this year my wife rang to book a treatment in the spa only to be told that there must be a mistake as the hotel is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and one of the days we booked was a Monday. Who would have thought it that a hotel of this status was still closed two days a week after the relaxations of restrictions. When l asked why their web site had accepted my booking and why it did not say they were closed two days a week they merely said they would have to talk to IT. They did apologise but did not offer any compensation for spoiling what was part of our holiday which we had booked many months before. When were they going to tell us ? If my wife had not rung about the spar we would not have found out until we got there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Service
Room Tip: Ring them to make sure the place is still open
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Q8894WEjanem wrote a review 6 Jun
Strachan, United Kingdom96 contributions75 helpful votes
The food was excellent. Magnificent roast pork with crackling, Yorkshire pudding etc. Spring pie exceptional and smoked salmon very good as starters. We ordered 2 bottles of wine from the brief under £30 list and they were good - a Chardonnay and a Malbec. But the service was pretty awful, and this was not the fault of the individual waiters who were charming, but rather of the organisation. When we sat down we waited ages and the amuse bouche arrived before we had seen a menu, or a wine list, and we had spent half an hour in the bar previously. The wine waiter arrived before we had seen the menu, and we didn’t see him again. There were long waits between courses. We ordered dessert, informing the waiter that we had a taxi in 15 minutes. The desserts arrived, and sat 2m from us whilst the waitress chased across the restaurant looking for our waiter to serve them - totally unnecessary. There seems a hierarchy of table waiting that means service is inefficient and slow. So sad! We were charged £65 for a bottle of wine we did not have, and refused to pay the mandatory 12.5% service charge. We will try again because of the food, and hope that something is done by the management to train the lovely staff to be more efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jake E wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions4 helpful votes
I have no issue paying good money for a hotel but if I’m being completely honest the vineyard isn’t at 5* standard at all . The entrance is beautiful with the glass bottom wine cellar but the rest of the hotel is extremely average and needs completely re decorating. Everything from the carpets , wall paper and paint need modernising . The spa is sadly the same you can tell it was nice 10-15 years ago but looking tired and in need of work . There’s no grounds to the hotel at all , the outside dining area has been taken up by a large marquee which Is actually the nicest part of the hotel , it’s been done beautifully but sadly we were unable to eat there as it was fully booked . Food is ok but again nothing to write home about and very over priced . I think if this was a 4* and you paid £150 for a night you would be happy with it but £300 a night just can’t be justified.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Shanahan, General Manager at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jake E, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of The Vineyard. I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay and that our Hotel was not to your liking. Best wishes Paul Shanahan General Manager
Read more
Ellie wrote a review May 2021
Wantage, United Kingdom17 contributions
Visited yesterday for Sunday lunch with family and have to say the whole experience was wonderful. Lovely wine, lovely food and lovely service. My only slight criticism would be that due to the staff training they had on, it felt a little crowded with staff, but fully understand staff need to train. Thanks for a lovely meal, will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Shanahan, General Manager at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Elltom9, Thank you for the lovely review and taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to you returning. Best wishes Paul Shanahan General Manager
Read more
Rose B wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband surprised me with a getaway to the Vineyards for our 25th Anniversary. He booked it as they had a special offer on due to Covid. The stay was OK and they half a special differ on wine in the restaurant 50% which was a bonus. However we left and they emailed us the bill, not only had they charged us full price for the room but also the wine. They promised us a refund back in September and we have written and spoken to their accounts dept over and over again and she promised to refund us to no avail. I'm actually at my wits end as the it was nearly £300! They are suppose to have a brilliant reputation not in my eyes! Don't stay here unless you want to be ripped off!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Shanahan, General Manager at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear A5464IUjacobb, Thank you for leaving your review. I am at a loss to understand your concerns raised. Our hotel has been closed throughout much of the duration you have been mentioned but I have been here throughout and no issue has been raised regarding a refund in this time as I would have personally looked into this. Please could I ask that you forward your correspondence to guestservices@the-vineyard.co.uk to understand you concerns better and I will look into this for you. Best wishes Paul Shanahan General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$200 - US$423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the vineyard at stockcross hotel newbury, vineyard at stockcross newbury, vineyard at stockcross hotel newbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireNewburyStockcross
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include ExCLUEsive Games Escape Rooms (2.7 miles), The Watermill Theatre (1.0 miles), and Welford Park (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Henry & Joe's, Spotted Dog, and The Sushi Maki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Vineyard Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Stockcross.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Vineyard Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Vineyard Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Donnington Castle (1.3 miles), Shaw House (2.1 miles), and Greenham Control Tower (4.1 miles).