We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands - Waiheke Island

Save
Traveller (20)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (14)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair access
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
29
18
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
29
18
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonetangi beachwashing machinebedroom apartmentshort walkvery pleasant staycasita mirowithin walking distancegreat apartmentsbbq facilitieswaiheke islandwould definitely stay here againviews are spectacularmain bedroomperfect locationlong weekendnew zealanddryer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the open lounge windows and main bedroom was breathtaking. As two couples I appreciated the ensuite bathrooms for each bed room. Plenty of luxurious towels and beach towels were available from reception. Loved the recliner lounge chairs...More

Thank maitai2203
Reviewed 30 January 2018

On arrival, the manager did not even get up from his chair to greet us. The room was not ready which was not a problem at all, however we returned at the allotted time to find no one to check us in, a child seated...More

1  Thank 212sharon2017
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The apartment where we stayed (#6) was spacy and light. Location is really nice, near the beach and it has a big, good bed. However, it was not very clean (kitchen supplies & bathroom) and some equipment did not work (e.g. bedside lights). Also the...More

Thank Fien D
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 6 December 2017

Sorry, you had a bad stay with us at the Sands, We will pass your concerns onto the cleaning team and get them to be more diligent in the future. The bedside lights do work the power switch on the wall just needs to be...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a fruitful business conference at The Sands, where our group was looked after from start to finish - hosts went above and beyond (including ferrying our group to the restaurant down the road when it was raining). Catering was great, rooms were beautiful. 5stars,...More

Thank jameswalkernz
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Room was not ready when we arrived.. The dryer never worked. Hosts were not friendly. Bad smell coming from the broom closet. Maybe the septic system needs to be cleaned. The location was nice, but not worth the price. The worst service we received in...More

2  Thank chrisjrd39
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 10 June 2017

Thanks for the feedback Chris, if you had told us about the problems when you were staying we would have addressed them at that time and moved you to a better apartment. Reviewing this after your stay meant we are unable to help you.

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Waiheke Island, New Zealand
See all 6 hotels in Waiheke IslandSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$184 - US$318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$184 - US$318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (20)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MagsF_Arch
8 December 2017|
Answer
Response from TheSandsWaiheke | Property representative |
Yes they do the rooms have sliding door in the front bedroom and standard doors for the back bedrooms
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Worth paying a little more for first floor or higher for great views of the beach and bay"
Read review
"Bring bug repellent if you are really bothered by mosquitos. They make their way into the rooms at night."
Read review
"Because of its location, you need a car to get around. Unless you are in to walking!!"
Read review
"IF you are not as quiet as a mouse do not stay here."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing