We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$140*
US$75*
Great Deal
US$84*
US$140*
US$75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pigeon Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Good place to relax and enjoy the superb beach (although some loungers and sun umbrellas should be repaired). The restaurant and pool area are nice, the rooms are a bit blank in comparison though. Good middle class hotel with a top beach location!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julia W
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Delhi
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had nothing to complain about with this hotel. It's not super luxury but it's very nicely done and the staff were fantastic - quiet and unobtrusive, but very helpful. The location was simply stunning, with a beautiful beach at the end of the garden - on which we were often the only people. This is definitely a hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LJ_DEL
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Cuthbert, Georgia
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a regular room and found it clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, the satellite TV had several English channels to choose from, and the bed was comfortable and large. The free WiFi worked well in the dining area. The grounds are well kept, which make all the difference in whether or not a hotel in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shonrand
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely medium size hotel and felt right at home. The staff were all lovely and made every effort to make our stay as good as possible. We got a good deal on agoda which made it good value. The food was excellent and the hotel is beach side with a lovely pool to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paulsirwin
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This resort is feel like home , the beach here is the best we saw in Sri Lanka , the staff is profesional , excellent breakfast , and food. Nice rooms with cable tv and ac. In the center such a nice swimming pool. U can easily get to pigeon island on a boat from the resort. We came for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadirflash
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Pigeon Island would have to do quite a lot wrong for you not to enjoy your stay with such a beautiful beach! Luckily, they don't. We had a lovely stay, very attentive stuff and a good buffet breakfast with lots of selection. Great little pool bar too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katemd123
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The area is now getting the first tourists after years of war. This is one of the first hotels. Staff is very friendly, food is very good and is just a walk away from the beach (don't forget to visit the most beautiful snorkeling experience: pigeon island). The rooms could be better and there's bugs trying to enter the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mundo222
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for Visiting Pigeon Island Beach Resort and for your honest review posted to Trip Advisor, sorry about the insect attack its a seasonal problem where we have to face every year in this period, but we have taken action to prevent them coming to the rooms. appreciate a lot for the feedback, looking forward...

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Despite the ambivalent comment of our guide book about this hotel (especially about the rooms), we trusted tripadvisor and book a room there. We were not disapointed at all. It was exactly what we were looking for: clean and high quality rooms, elegant common spaces, very good restaurant, large swimming pool, very helpful staff, additional services like massages. The highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benjamin D
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

pamunugama
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked this hotel without knowing anything about it.....and we we're not disappointed! SUPERB! Great hotel, fantastic staff, excellent service.we stayed in September for 2 nights. Had lots of fun staying there, we had a good room it was clean. And food was also nice. Hotel was very welcoming and Great base to explore the rest of the city. Hoping...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sachindilan
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort. looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!

Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel is a long way out of Trincomalee and is certainly not a "luxury" hotel although priced as such. It is a plain simple resort that is getting rather old with basic rooms. The furniture is old and worn; rooms are not spotlessly clean, the towels smell and had large holes, the sofa was stained and there were dead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betula103

382 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (91)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
148 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
444 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 38 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Price Range: £62 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Nilaveli
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pigeon Island Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pigeon Island Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sew view rooms are the best”
Ramasitha, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the beach end for views”
brett153, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Difficult to book sea view rooms, most of the rooms facing pool area”
vinodkumarana36, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms with balcony”
stelcosa, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and a get a room directly with a sea view”
steuartanne314, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$84
TripAdvisorUS$75
Hotwire.comUS$140
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates