We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This 800 year establishment is located in the the picturesque village of Middleton Stoney. I had been interested in reading this village is also mentioned in the Dooms Day book. A vast amount of history, and the hotel and additional facilities are welcoming. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The food had been to a very high standard, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcwgeary
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beer bad dinner bad breakfast bad and room bad.... staff not to bad ... beer flat and very little choice with 3 draught beer choices .. the flowers beer was flat .. changed for something slightly better .. chicken dinner , chef should call it a day, chicken was tough which complimented the flat beer ... breakfast was sent back... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeadie
dpl343677, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

WoW Jim, I guess you didn't enjoy your stay last Wednesday night. I was working last Wednesday night, and I changed your "Flat" beer for a becks. I think the flat beer was caused by a "Greasy lip" as there was no head on it, I did pull another glass of flowers which was ok and we didn't have any... More 

Travellers are raving about these Middleton Stoney hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and I have just had two days at The Jersey Arms. We used it because it was a short drive to Bicester Village, and only 10 minute drive to the park and ride for Oxford, Which the owners wife advised us to use. We had dinner on the Friday night, which very well cooked, the two German girls... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnlatter333
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

A 13th century building, not much to look at from the outside but has some interesting history. On arrival had to wait to be acknowledged. We were directed to our room which cost us a little more due to having a larger bed!. It was located in the annex, and was a large room. It was cold as the radiators... More 

Helpful?
Thank wonderfree41
dpl343677, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Michael, I am sorry you found our facilities limited compared to other BW properties, but we don't profess to have golf courses, spar or pool etc as some do. The reason the vast majority of our guests stay, is for the FANTACTIC location of the Jersey Arms The room you had is not disabled friendly, and we were... More 

Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Staff unfriendly, food appalling, towels dirty! Do not book to stay here!!! The first impression of the good was ok, but this is a lovely setting spoilt by tatty decorations and neglect. I was given a suite with a ground floor sitting room and a 4 poster bed. The light for the stairs only worked from the switch upstairs. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
dpl343677, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Jeff, I have just read your "review" of my Jersey Arms. To say I disagree with every thing you write is an understatement. If you had marks on your towels, I am surprise you didn't bring this to our attention after you had freshen up after arriving or before you went down to dinner. Your room is 10... More 

oxfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

If you want to step back in time to lousy, non existent service with no mod-cons, not even coffee/tea making facility in the room, never mind the laissez-faire attitude of the staff - go ahead check in, repent at leisure. Honestly I fail to understand how a Best Western hotel on the outskirts of Bicester which is now being developed... More 

Helpful?
Thank foxycroxy
Management response:

I do not believe you actually stayed with us! More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The room was clean and comfortable. Comfortable kingsize bed. The evening meal was very disappointing. The breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Mini bus pulled up outside our room (10) at 2.30 am. Lot of talking and engine running for half an hour. Maybe not hotel's fault but could have parked somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Roy H
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Management staff not very welcoming however bar/restaraut staff, who where of foreign nationality, very nice so maybe a lesson could be learnt. Local taxis driver advised me that the hotel is avaioded by most locals as the managment have driven them all away due to their attitude etc. Overpriced on all items especially the drinks and food is not freshly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Management response:

I am sorry that you found the door to your room a little low, but as the Jersey Arms is nearly 800 years old, the people at the time it was built were a little smaller hence they fitted through the doors. The only items off our menu which we do not make here are the bread and ice-cream, only... More 

Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Had stayed here before no change in fact everything is dated prices in bar over priced 2 Bombay gin and tonics £12 had the same drinks in a far better hotel earlier in the evening £9 Breakfast very bland nothing much to chose from this could be sorted easily !!! Traffic passing as hotel right on main road so could... More 

Helpful?
Thank valhalla4901
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed in room 12. Heavy smell of mothballs on arrival. Room clean and basic facilities nothing special. Bathroom tired and repairs needed to bath end. Bed was King size and comfortable. Service stopped at 10pm so when we rolled home at 10.05pm we were not to be able to get a drink at bar. We paid 99 pounds but breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigtonybeds

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton Stoney
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
3.3 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chesterton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
554 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
215 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bletchingdon
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Bicester Village Hotel, only a 3 minute drive. Stay in one of England's Premier Country Inns, With 800 years of history and a warm association with the Jersey family old and new. Pitted dining room floors, uneven walls and ceilings, A lovely place of joy to relax and dine with freshly prepared meals served lunchtime & evening. Cosy and comfortable - the only place to be. Helen & Donald Livingston, the current owners since April 1985, are only owner number 3 since the Jersey Arms was first written about in 1243. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel

Address: Middleton Stoney OX25 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Middleton Stoney
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Jersey Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room was in the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles johnlatter333, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the busy road”
 of 5 bubbles wonderfree41, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else - anywhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 306jeffn, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 downstairs.....anyone above you can hear moving around.”
 of 5 bubbles Bigtonybeds, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the bedrooms at the front near the road”
 of 5 bubbles 186336John_D, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay