We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (461)
Room & Suite (124)
Dining (63)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Leavenheath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa Resort is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including; the a la carte Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, six function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences, and hi-tech Peake Fitness facilities. Our tranquil Peake Spa is also located within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro, and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Resort also offers ten self-catering Apple Tree Lodge apartments on the grounds, which can be booked separately.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1499Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 687
  • 405
  • 217
  • 110
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gemmarie11 wrote a review Feb 2024
14 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed here whilst my husband attended the James Andrews 2 day Golf school. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant with impeccable service, couldn’t fault it at all. The room was nice enough, although the window didn’t seem to shut properly so was a bit cold and noisy. The breakfast was very good, and again great staff. I would highly recommend that they advertise the fact that if you have a night booked, this doesn’t entitle you to a full days use of the Spa, but in fact a two hour slot that you must book. Reading previous comments, this seems to be a common misunderstanding, and their response seems to be the same each time stating that you are not entitled unless you pre book a full spa day. It also says in the information leaflet that the two hour slot includes use of towels, robe and slippers as well as a reserved lounger. This wasn’t the case, I was told to grab a towel on the way to the changing room and that was it. The spa facilities were average, but I did manage to relax in the two hrs that I was allowed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pre book Spa…..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Gemmarie, thank you for your constructive review. We are pleased on the whole you enjoyed your stay and am sorry that on this occasion you were not given robes and slippers, this has been addressed with the Spa. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Wishes SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mia P wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Best hotel experience ever it's so clean and well looked after loved my experience there will defo be going back ! The breakfast provided was lively and the restaurants were all amazing with really good customer service and lovely reception bed was also so comfy and large !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful 5* review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best Wishes SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rebecca M wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Just returned from an overnight stay. Very dissatisfied and will not be returning. Upon Arrival we were checked in, all the receptionist was interested in was getting a card set up on the account. We were given no information about where the facilities were, opening times, general information. When we got to the room we found an information leaflet which stated you needed to book a two hour spa slot? I called reception to book a slot to be told there was nothing left for today or tomorrow?! Unless we went after 6pm ( which we did but it was full of kids running around and bombing in the pool. Not relaxing at all) Bearing in mind this is an overnight Spa stay? She eventually said we could have 10-12 tomorrow. I had already booked a full body massage at 9.30 which would be running into my two hour spa time. She was very rude and said it is either 10-12 or 12-2 and theres nothing she could do about it. The spa facilities were poor! Not clean. How this hotel can be classed as a spa resort is beyond me. I booked x 2 hot stone full body massages (55 minutes) both started at least 15 minutes late and lasted 40 minutes. Dinner is a set menu, very limited choice. Food was nice. The restaurant staff at both dinner and breakfast were great and very attentive. The tv in the room had such bad signal that we watched tv on our ipad. Mould seen in the air vent in the bathroom. Cleanliness of the room was poor. No fridge in the room which i also found strange. To summarise we didn't even use the spa on the second day. We just wanted out of there. If you are looking for a relaxing spa stay i would recommend “lifehouse” or “five lakes”
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Rebecca, thank you for your feedback which is very disappointing however booking a room does not guarantee unlimited access to the Spa, we offer our guests 2-hours complimentary use of the pool and adjoining facilities which must be booked, we encourage any guests who would like to spend a longer period of time in the Spa to book a Spa Day. If you would like to discuss further please email customercare@stokebynayland.com. Kind regards SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Go53046656012 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
My partner and I have come away for the weekend as our last treat before we welcome our new baby. The hotel and room we couldn’t fault.. also restaurant staff were amazing and food was 10/10 …However we came in hopes to spend the day at the spa. Once we came downstairs we were welcomed by three young ladies at reception. When we asked to use the spa for the day it was as if I asked if I could punch their mum in the face. They answered my question with ‘well have you booked’ - We weren’t made aware we had too. She then huffed and said they only get two hour slots for anyone staying in the hotel to use the spa. Luckily there was one spot left.. then she reluctantly asked if we wanted to borrow robes.. I sarcastically asked back ‘are we allowed..’ she then decided to explain to me thoroughly about how we can’t keep them. ( I am aware of that having worked in this spa and multiple different spas in the last 6 years) So to round it up..if you’re planning on a spa day here if you’re staying at the hotel.. plan to book ahead to relax for literally two hours. Oh and prepare for the rudest reception staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback which is very disappointing however booking a room does not guarantee unlimited access to the Spa, we offer our guests 2-hours complimentary use of the pool and adjoining facilities which must be booked, we encourage any guests who would like to spend a longer period of time in the Spa to book a Spa Day. If you would like to discuss further please email customercare@stokebynayland.com. Kind regards SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adnan r wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We booked this place for a business event. The main hall is quite huge and can accommodate big events. Preparations were great. Staff was helpful to support. All was great and organized on a short notice. I will be looking again to book for future events.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review which we really appreciate. We are delighted that your business workshop went well and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lisadal wrote a review Jan 2024
Wickford, United Kingdom28 contributions47 helpful votes
Was treated to a signature spa day with afternoon tea for myself and my husband as a gift so booked for an overnight stay too. Spa was beautiful, treatment was lush and we were lucky enough to have a free upgrade on our room which was beautiful. Drinks were very reasonably priced and bar was lovely. Had a meal in the lakes restaurant which was lovely but did think the £8 supplement for sirloin steak was a little steep ! Would definitely recommend it 🥰
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Lisa, thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely 5* review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our resort and the upgraded room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donna wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Had the most perfect day for our brother in laws birthday, served by Maddie & Max for dinner & they couldn’t of been more attentive they ended the day on a perfect note … we will definitely be back also would like to mention Honey in the spa bar too *****
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Thank you for leaving us a 5* review, your comments have been shared with the respective teams. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elaine S wrote a review Jan 2024
Oakham, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Brilliant New Year Gala Ball celebrations. Food, staff, service, cleanliness were very good. The Christmas decorations were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely re visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great pool and spa facilities.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Thank you for leaving us a 5* review. It is good to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JGb40 wrote a review Jan 2024
Rayleigh, United Kingdom54 contributions37 helpful votes
I went with my husband on a 2 day break to Celebrate the New Year and all I can say it was AMAZING the best New Years break we have every attended. The hotel was set up beautifully for Christmas, tree's, reindeers and nutcrackers in the foyer's, bar and reception, so pretty, really made you feel like you were somewhere special. The staff were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived, check in was seamless and we were directed to our room which was newly refurnished and spacious with a lovely bathroom. The New Years Ball started with champagne and canape's. The dining room was beautifully decorated and we were sat with a group of attendees who were chatty and friendly. The meal was beautifully presented each course was delicious so well done to the chef's who catered for so many at a very high standard. 'The roast beef was tender and the chocolate desert was a real treat. Band on the Run were great and played a variation of music through the night and the piper at midnight brought a tear to my eye, then the wonderful firework display to round the night off. The nights sleep was peaceful, no noise from the corridors outside. Awoke on New Years Day to a wonderful breakfast, cereal, fruit, full english. Relaxed in the Spa and pool for a few hours before having lunch in the bar. Again very attentive young staff who were a credit to the resort. Our break included an evening meal in the restaurant, 3 courses again were gorgeous the duck especially. And really did not want the break to end. Our last day we enjoyed breakfast before visiting reception to what we thought would be an extortionate wine bill, but were were wrong the prices were reasonable for a high class hotel. I can't thank everyone at Stoke By Nayland enough for making this break truly wonderful. If you didnt attend you definitely missed out and if work permits I will be attending again next year. Thank you all so so much.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you book your pool slot
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review which is very much appreciated, we are so pleased you had such a wonderful break at our resort and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again. Best Wishes SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
madowninguk wrote a review Dec 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom386 contributions275 helpful votes
My husband, adult daughter and myself attended an all day wedding here. We had a room booked for the night along with breakfast. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas. We found all the staff for both the wedding and hotel professional and very friendly. The triple room was perfect for our needs - clean, neat, tidy, had three comfortable single beds, plenty of storage, a tv, a kettle for coffee/tea etc and a balcony. We found a table with a nice view overlooking the golf course for the buffet breakfast consisting of drinks, hot and cold food which was presented nicely and plentiful. The whole stay was great value. We didn’t have time to use the spa facilities but I’m hoping to make a return visit for a dinner, bed and breakfast break with both my daughters at some point :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandra McWhirter, Guest Services / Front Office at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Thank you for your 5* review and your lovely comments. We are so pleased you had such a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best Wishes SbN
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Leavenheath area.
PRICE RANGE
£108 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stoke by nayland hotel, golf hotel leavenheath, stoke by nayland hotel, golf and spa, best western colchester, colchester best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictLeavenheath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STOKE BY NAYLAND HOTEL, GOLF & SPA - Updated 2024 (Leavenheath)

Frequently Asked Questions about Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Nearby attractions include White Dragon Activity Centre (4.9 miles), Blue Owl (3.2 miles), and Assington Barn (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tito's Ristorante, The Angel Inn, Stoke-by-Nayland, and The Crown Stoke-By-Nayland.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lindsey St James's Chapel (4.5 miles).
Does Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.