We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

George & Falcon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
George & Falcon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have been coming here fairly regularly for a while now and never been disappointed yet! Always very good service and excellent food. Its dog friendly too. The Sunday carvery is very good and the Yorkshire puddings really excellent. If you don't want the carvery, try the Beef and Tomato pie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your continued patronage and kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stopped with my wife at The George and Falcon on the Warnford Road for lunch, after a thirty year break - we were both pleased that we had stopped, the host was most welcoming and despite some customer being turned away due to the popularity of the venue, the waiting staff were excellent during the busy period. The lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baz S
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Delighted that we were able to accommodate you at such a busy time and that we exceeded your expectations. Don't leave it so long until the next visit! And please do make a reservation to avoid possibly having to wait for a table.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for 6 of us including two mid-range children. I really can't fault our visit. The staff were very friendly, the carvery was excellent - good quantity of tender meat with crisp, light Yorkshires and a fantastic selection of well cooked veggies (so often they let down the show). The desserts were tasty, and the beer was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daz4710
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Delighted that we delighted you! Come back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 16 that booked a table for a mid-week lunch time meal. When we arrived a table was already neatly laid. After we had purchased our drinks at the bar and sat down a friendly young lady gave us menus and took orders. After about 30 minutes we were all served together. The meals were excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bern C
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year!

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been to this pub for many years so was not sure what to expect. Very warm and welcoming fire lit etc. We had the carvery, very tasty, good value and it was nice to hear that local produce is used. Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 5 December 2016

We called in at The George and Falcon after a walk on nearby Old Winchester Hill and had a brilliant lunch. The food is locally sourced and beautifully cooked, my cauliflower and parmesan soup was creamy and delicious, served with crusty warm brown bread and butter. Others in our group had a baked camembert and pigeon breast, all lovely. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

We are pleased we delighted you and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ickenham
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We booked this hotel last minute as it was a very reasonable price and we weren't disappointed. We had both lunch and dinner here and found the prices and quality to be extremely reasonable, and a bottle of house wine was £15 - and it was a very nice wine. We stayed the whole evening in front of the open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancesLangton
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Thank you for your most generous comments which will be passed on to staff. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Last minute booking for overnight stay. Really attractive bar and restaurant... Didn't have time to eat but heard good things from others in the bar. Very friendly staff and locals. Very comfy bed with full bathroom and loads of hot water. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Thank you for your most generous comments; much appreciated. Hopefully you will have the time to eat next time!

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We were travelling to Portsmouth and wanted to break our journey and have an enjoyable evening. The George and Falcon was perfect. Our room was spacious very clean and nicely appointed. Windows opened and heating worked so we got comfortable. The bar and restaurant areas were excellent and we enjoyed a drink before a very reasonable and well cooked dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank val B
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Thank you for the most generous review. We are pleased that we delighted you and look forward to seeing you in the Spring/Summer if not before!

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Lazy leather arm chairs and a spacious lounge this really is the Traditional pub! Local beers and a great selection of food from the menu although we did not eat, but ambience just perfect. Service was fast and friendly and we were given fast free wifi. Will return to sample food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; your comments are much appreciated. Please do come back soon and sample our freshly prepared food as well as our hospitality.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warnford
4.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 2 in Petersfield
302 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
924 reviews
6.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
970 reviews
7.1 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.6 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run 18th-century Coaching Inn and Restaurant in village of Warnford on the A32 in the Meon Valley, Hampshire. Five en-suite rooms all AA rated 4*, restaurant for up to 120 people, riverside garden, alfresco dining on the terrace, dogs welcome throughout, log fires during winter months, friendly and welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about George & Falcon

Address: Warnford Rd (A32), Warnford SO32 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Warnford
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Falcon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your George & Falcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Falcon Warnford, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George & Falcon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Another Great Country Pub in a Good location”
 of 5 bubbles bazs_11, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back otherwise you'll be overlooking the road witch can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles ludwig123, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“View over the rear”
 of 5 bubbles HerrFUDGE, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here but if one did it's hard on the A32 so a good night's sleep would require a room facing the river rather than the road”
 of 5 bubbles Sm0ky, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay in the hotel. Have only been for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles suesI733FT, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay