Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Newton Hall

High Newton, Newton by the Sea, Alnwick NE66 3DZ England
Traveller (417)
View from our £230/night room, sit in the bath and look at Static Caravans!!!
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

£201
Get rewarded with One Key
£190
Get rewarded with One Key
£190
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Newton by the Sea
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Gorgeous boutique bedrooms, seriously sophisticated suites, charming retreats and cosy cottages… one of the many things you are going to love about Northumberland’s favourite luxury boutique hotel is the accommodation. Here at Newton Hall, all our accommodation is individually designed to put the luxe into our luxury hotel, with irresistible charms like four-poster beds, private roof terraces and gardens and lots of room for love – the perfect post-wedding accommodation. Unique among boutique hotels Newcastle and Northumberland, Newton Hall is blessed with Italian style, retro cool, Oriental mystery, colonial splendour, loft-style living, French chic and more… and all of it marvellously, wonderfully and beautifully relaxing. So take a deep breath and relax! Unwind in the ultimate comfort that is Newton Hall accommodation, because we are devoted to making your stay with us that extra bit special. You will be spoilt for choice when selecting which one of our unique, distinctive rooms is for you. From those drawn in by our bedrooms and suites, each one offers an air of individualism which you will not find elsewhere – with the theme of each one of our bedrooms being dedicated to an extra special global destination you will be transported into one of the many wonders of the world. To those looking for an even more luxurious experience, our courtyard rooms offer more than you could ever dream of. These rooms take centre stage at Newton Hall and offer a truly authentic Northumbrian feel. Curl up with a good book and take in the breathtaking views that this stunning landscape has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
410Reviews16Q+A72Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 279
  • 50
  • 38
  • 18
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anna P wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I were greeted by lovely friendly staff everywhere we went and shown to our incredible cabin (details found below)

We only stayed one night but have already
recommended to all friends and family

I saw a review from someone who went as soon as
it opened and I can confirm

There was always someone to help with whatever we needed
No problems with hot tub
No problem with chimineas
Lovely food from joiners arms for breakfast!
Definitely no dog poo litter or general mess anywhere it was spotless
All sockets worked perfectly well
Wifi was great
We did have to pop and get some milk but not a problem at all as we needed snacks anyway etc

To reiterate what someone else said

Amazing cabin design (both interior and exterior).

Modern yet cosy and not cold with amazing ambient lighting options
Plush materials and fixtures, attention to detail in the finish.
Private from other cabins (given the close proximity).
Plenty of parking.
Great location on the coast.
Large room (ultimate garden room).
Plenty of storage space.
TV that can spin to face the bed or the sitting area, nice touch.
Great water pressure and shower.
Good toiletries.
Comfortable bed.
Very spacious room with full sofa and dining
Huge sliding doors

To add to this, lush features that made it even better

Gorgeous little radio that I didn’t turn off,
Chimineas with wood already in
Gorgeous wooden hot tub
Soft fluffy big robes and slippers of course
Plenty of crockery
Gorgeous little neapresso machine and pods (luxe)

Great stay and the investment definitely paid off!
Would recommend to everyone of all ages!

Even people with children (I saw a cot through someone’s window while I was snooping)

Thanks again Newton hall
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Venue Manager, Other at Newton Hall
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Dear Anna, Thank you so much for your feedback for your visit to the Cabin Walk. We do really appreciate your kind words and I will make sure to pass this onto our team. We hope to see you back at the Cabin Walk Garden Rooms again in the future! Kind Regards, The Newton Hall Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glen1212 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my girlfriend just stayed 2 nights at Newton hall in the cabin walk, what a gorgeous place. I honestly can’t understand why anyone would leave a bad review, I paid £225 for 2 nights in the deluxe detached cabin which included breakfast every morning & discount on food in the joiners arms. The room was beautifully designed and spotless, hot tub was perfect temperature, the whole place was very peaceful yet you could still head out to the pubs close by for a few drinks, it’s also a short walk to the beach that has a nice pub there also. Staff very polite & helpful, the pub is quirky and nicely designed along with the food being very nice. I would recommend staying here to anyone & I would definitely recommend the 2 nights as after 1 you won’t want to leave. Perfect place to switch off & enjoy yourself, I look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Venue Manager, Other at Newton Hall
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear Glen, Thank you for your feedback, we really do appreciate your kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, The Newton Hall Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evielou wrote a review Jan 2020
South Shields, United Kingdom227 contributions81 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this as a last minute one night getaway. We contacted the hotel prior by telephone and were given details off all the rooms available and offered a special low rate. After much deliberation we chose Ocean Road. When we arrived we were informed that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to Sukuji, while the upgrade was appreciated this is not a room that I would have chosen and therefore I asked if we could move to the room that we had booked. I was then informed that there is no bath in the Ocean Road suite which confused me as the photos show a bath in that room and I was informed during my I total enquiry that this room does have a bath? The receptionist was helpful and allowed us to move and we ended up in St Maxine which we were quite happy with for the price we paid however this room is on the smaller side, fine for a one night stay though. The room had nice amenities including a cocktail kit which was a nice touch. We ate at the joiners arms and were kindly given a lift there by the GM. Later that evening upon returning back to Newton Hall Andrew was kind enough to show us all of the available rooms and I have to say the pictures on the website don’t really do justice, if i has seen these rooms earlier then I would have chosen differently. Our rate included Breakfast the next morning which was delicious and plenty of choice. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed our short stay and would definitely stay again, we will keep an eye open for similar offers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Venue M, General Manager at Newton Hall
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Hi evielou. Thank you for your response. I'm sorry of there was any confusion over the rooms. As you rightly say, Ocean Road (one of my personal favourites) does have a bath so I'm also confused with our reception team's comments. I'm also glad that you enjoyed the complimentary cocktail - we think it's a great idea and we love to showcase some of our local spirit suppliers products. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Regards, John Parker. GM (and part-time 'taxi' driver!)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
motherluv wrote a review Feb 2020
north east45 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so excited to be visiting Newton Hall on the Ivy Package. The rooms looked amazing. We arrived around 5pm and checked straight in, the receptionist checked our dinner reservation time. She seemed a little disinterested as we'd interrupted her conversation but was polite. Our room, Jerico, was up 3 flights of stairs which I wasnt aware of and struggled with having had half of my lung removed due to stage 4 cancer, the fact I was slow seemed to cause her some irritation. The room was absolutely beautiful, we loved the exposed brickwork but as I lay on the bed I could see dustballs hanging from the beams swaying with the heat current from the radiator, the curtain pleats were thick of dust too. The bed linen was beautifully crisp and white and the bed very comfortable however we were unable to sleep due to the gurgling of the radiator. We went downstairs to head to the joiners arms but were unsure how to summon the car, as the receptionist was not there we went to ask in the bar, the barman was serving and I was surprised not to be acknowledged. Our meal when we arrived was beautiful. Breakfast was a little confusing- do you find a seat or wait to be seated. Nobody explained about the self service options so we just sat... I ordered eggs Benedict which were hard and over cooked, my husband's eggs were cooked to perfection and his Farne Island Breakfast was delicious. Upon check out I handed my key to the receptionist and was surprised not to be asked if I'd enjoyed my stair or given a goodbye, even a budget hotel do this. All in all the trip fell short of expectations due to the dust, poor customer service and communication.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Venue M, General Manager at Newton Hall
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Hello motherluv. You seem to have had a bit of a mixed quality stay with us and, for that, I can only apologise. We do pride ourselves on the high quality training we give to all of our staff so I am really disappointed that you feel let down in any way. I do hope you re-ordered your eggs so that your experience was as wonderful as your husband's? We look forward to welcoming you to Newton Hall again at sometime in the future and I can assure you that we can find you a room with much easier access on your return. Kindest regards, John Parker. GM.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deighton wrote a review Sept 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom141 contributions94 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Start with the good points.

We stayed in Shell Beach which was a very pleasant room if a bit over the top in decoration.
Breakfast and breakfast staff very good
Cleanliness excellent and extensive grounds well kept.

Bad points.

The bath and shower are a perfect example of design winning over functionality.
The lip of the faux Victorian bath is about 600mm above floor level making it difficult for anyone with even slight mobility problems to get in or out.
Furthermore there are no grab handles on the bath or wall to assist with the above.
The water supply to the fixed shower head and bath is controlled by two taps on the wall. One controls the hot water supply and depending on which way it is turned delivers very hot water to the bath or shower. The other controls the cold water supply in a similar manner.
The real hazard in all this is that there are no instructions and one can get easily injured by very hot water when experimenting as the scald patch on my right shoulder reminds me.
Between lack of grab handles and eccentric plumbing I, if I was the proprietor, would have difficulty sleeping thinking of the accident and subsequent claim waiting to happen.

The wi-fi service is sporadic, not the hotel’s fault, just that in a countryside situation they are at the end of a very long copper cable.

Sorry to add that the reception staff always look as though they are having a series of bad days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Other at Newton Hall
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Hello, Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience. We have taken all of your feedback on board and I hope that you will return to us in the future (all of our rooms are individually decorated so I hope there is another more to your style than Shell Beach) to see that we have implemented your feedback. The Newton Hall Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony Wilson wrote a review Sept 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we entered the hotel we were asked to and were happy to wear masks but only one other couple actually wore masks during our 2 night stay. When we asked the receptionist why, we were told they don't like to enforce it because guests complain. That is just not good enough in this pandemic. Only the bar and breakfast staff wore visors and overall the sanitisation procedures were wholly inadequate.
At breakfast the tables were wiped down, presumably with sanitisor but that was always standard practice before the pandemic. The seat cushions were given a quick superficial nab of a cloth but none of chair arms were touched. This is not a venue in which you feel safe in this pandemic. Heaven only knows what this hotel is like when it resumes its major function as a wedding venue. The staff in general were not particularly friendly with the exception of the two barmen.
Most of the breakfast staff looked as though they were doing the job under sufferance. It's not what you expect from a 5 star hotel/venue. Other minor complaints include - no tissues, face cloths and shower caps were provided in the room .The latter was inconvenient because of the deluge shower heads. And to cap it all when we asked to see and pay the bill we were told we can't have one. They would take the money from the credit card we gave them on arrival and they would e-mail us with the bill, but this could arrive as an e-mail from any of three different sources.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Other at Newton Hall
Responded 5 Sept 2020
Dear Tony, Thank-you for leaving a review, we take all feedback extremely seriously, especially concerning COVID-19 safety. Please contact me on alixthorpe@newton-hall.com to discuss the matter further. Please rest assured, we have sanitiser stations available throughout the venue, staff wear PPE, all guests on check in are asked to wear masks in public areas, and all frequent touch points are regularly sanitized. I understand that you spoke with one of our management team about your concerns during your stay, so I am extremely disappointed that you did not feel the situation resolved or recieved a satisfying explanation that has led you to publically share your concerns. I look forward to hearing from you to reassure you that health and safety is of paramount importance to us, now more than ever. Alix Thorpe Senior Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NRW wrote a review Jan 2020
County Durham, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from an overnight stay in the Boston Revere room on 2nd January for our anniversary. We had booked a package deal with the room at Newton Hall and a 2 course meal at the Joiners Arms. On arrival we were very happy as the grounds and room looked amazing and clean. The cocktail kit was a lovely touch.

When we arrived the receptionist asked if we still wanted our table for 7pm which we requested when booking, to which we replied yes. The receptionist said that the table hadn’t been booked but she would ring up and double check 7pm was still available. We went upstairs got ourselves ready and came down for 6pm to be told that the restaurant could only do 8pm. It would have been helpful if the receptionist had rang up to the room and let us know this, however we decided we would still head down for some drinks before the meal.

The 5 minute walk from the Newton Hall hotel to The Joiners Arms was along a pitch black country road without a single street light or footpath. We did not feel safe and had to have our phone torches on, 1 facing forwards and 1 facing backwards so that we could be seen by the cars driving past.

When we arrived at the restaurant by quarter past 6, it was really really busy and very understaffed. The female manager was fantastic and tried all she could to get us a table as soon as possible and gave us drinks on the house for waiting. There were people complaining all around the bar but we didn’t want to put a downer on our night so tried to stay positive. By the time a table came available it was 8.30pm, which by then they were out of the starters we wanted to order in which the waiter said ‘that’s good for us but not for you’. The rest of the meal was nice. When we were ready to leave the waiter brought us the food bill in which we explained we had already prepaid as part of our booking with Newton Hall. He came back and said ‘I have spoke to the female manager that is correct’ and he walked off without giving an apology.

By then we decided to head back to the hotel, again it was pitch black and I did not feel safe walking back so we thought we would walk through the caravan site as this would be safer then another walk along the road. We ended up at a dead end standing in a field of mud and surrounded by barbed wire. So we had to walk back through the mud and back along the road. When we got to the hotel I asked Andrew on reception what way he would advise walking to the Joiners Arms because that road is not safe. Andrew was very rude and said we should have asked the receptionist before we left and if we had they would sort us out a lift. He then went on to be even more patronising saying that he walks down that road everyday and he feels perfectly safe!

When we were back in the room, we noticed that the brick wall has been crumbling and landed all over our clothes and inside the suitcase. To top it off, we had a very sleepless night due to radiator in the Boston Revere room making loud gurgling noises the whole night! Overall we are very disappointed as we were looking forward to spending our anniversary here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Venue M, Manager at Newton Hall
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Nicole, I am really disappointed to read this as not only do we take all feedback very seriously, but it was also myself who checked you and your partner out on Friday morning, and when asked you both commented that you had enjoyed your stay and did not raise any issues while you paid your bar bill. It is a shame that you have chosen to publicly state your disappointment rather than speaking to myself, one of the Hotel Managers, before you departed or made an attempt to get in touch with us directly since your stay. Nonetheless, I am saddened that your stay was disappointing. This is certainly not how we want our guests to leave feeling, and on behalf of the team both at Newton Hall and The Joiners Arms I apologise profusely that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I have passed on your comments to the maintenance team to investigate, I have raised your issues regarding the Joiners Arms with their management team, and passed on your kind feedback about Megan. I am very sorry that you felt unsafe walking in the dark, however, we do have a company car that shuttles people to and from the Joiners - informing guests of this is part of our check-in procedure, the receptionist on duty that day has stated that she informed all couples about the car. I do apologise that there appears to have been a miscommunication here and that you felt unaware that this service was available to you. Please do email me on alixthorpe@newton-hall.com if you wish to discuss this further, and I do hope that you will return to Newton Hall or another one of our venues in the not too distant future to allow us to redeem ourselves in your opinions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
salcrow69 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom77 contributions53 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked 3 nights at Newton Hall but were told the day before we came we couldnt have the 3rd night as the hotel was overbooked. Not much in the way of an apology but we were determined not to let it spoil our judgement of the hotel. The hotel blamed Booking.com and Booking.com blamed the hotel!

Our room was lovely, nice comfy bed and bedding, fluffy towels, fridge and tea tray. Immaculate bathroom. Stone floor made it a little cold but it was warm outside so we were fine. Very little natural light in the room.

We hardly saw any staff, were told not to approach the reception desk and given a phone number to ring with any problems. None of the staff were at all friendly, with the exception of one young girl with a pony tail who was serving at The Joiners Arms in the evening.  The wifi was dreadful.

Breakfast was nice, good selection, but you were not able to have fruit and yoghurt and cooked breakfast it was one or the other. There was no replacement for a buffet table. Teapot had a big chip on the spout.

Lovely looking building, great grounds.

We were not able to book a table for dinner at the joiners arms despite getting constant automated messages asking us if we would like a table. Luckily the weather was good so we were able to get a table outside on our second night. Very little in the local area in the way of places to eat in the evening.

We walked to the beach which was about 15-20 mins walk. Beautiful!

The hotel was fine but none of the extra touches we have got used to in some other hotels we have stayed at. I did not feel we had good value for money. We expected something special but our expectations were not met.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Other at Newton Hall
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Hello, this is certainly troubling to find that you found the staff to be unfriendly as this is not our usual service standard. Please could you email me with more information about your stay so that i can look into the date and time of your visit. Sadly, a lot of our lovely extra touches that both us and our guests have come to know and love have had to be taken out of bedrooms given the current COVID guidelines to ensure the safety of our guests and staff is paramount at all times. I so sorry that this left us falling short of your expectations. I am really disappointed that breakfast also let you down, on our menu there is both a yohurt bowl and a granola and yoghurt crunch pot which you can eat alongside your cooked breakfast, and the menu states that fruit and pastries are available upon request as we cannot offer the buffet table at the current time. I'm so pleased that the room was immaculate and the grounds to be so lovely. I look forward to hearing you so that i can hopefully provide some further explanation regarding the overbooking and the staffing. Alix Thorpe - alixthorpe@newton-hall.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah L wrote a review Jul 2022
32 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Garden Rooms Newton Hall. We stayed in a family cabin and to say we were impressed is an understatement. From the minute we arrived polite and friendly staff checked us in and showed us around and made sure we had everything we needed and how to contact them. The General Manager Ricky was attentive and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect, and nothing was too much trouble.

We were in cabin no 7. The décor is beautiful and there is such attention to detail. The bedding, towels, and robes are so soft, and the toiletries provided are wonderful. The kitchen area has everything we needed, including a Nespresso machine and pods (much to my husband’s delight).

Our cabin had a hot tub which was set up and ready to use, it was spotlessly clean and well maintained. There was also a chiminea which was also ready to go and made the small outside area a cosy place to relax together in the evening.

The location is fantastic, we were able to walk to Low Newton Beach and pop into the Joiners Arms, where we enjoyed breakfast. They offered a continental breakfast and a wide choice of options from the made-to-order menu.

We have recommended it to friends and family and will be returning both as a romantic break and also with our children.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jasmine wrote a review Oct 2022
United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were luxurious, the decor was very model and rooms were spotless, perfect location for a special occasion or just to relax. The staff were very welcoming, on site free parking, large rooms, fire box, hot tub, smart TV. I had a lovely nights stay at Newton Hall in the Garden Room. I will absolutly be returning, and have recommended this lodge to my friends and family.

Just down the road is also the Joiners Arms which we had a lovely evening meal and breakfast, 5 star experience overall from both locations, thank you!😁
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Venue Manager, Other at Newton Hall
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Dear Jasmine, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Garden Rooms and your dining experience at the Joiners Arms. We hope to see you back soon! Kind Regards, The Newton Hall Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rach H asked a question Jul 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
Are all garden rooms ensuite?
Answer from carolinedurhams
County Durham, United Kingdom85 contributions14 helpful votes
Yes, they are all separate little buildings in the gardens of the Hall so all have bathrooms.
Answer from Melanie N
Sunderland, United Kingdom167 contributions79 helpful votes
Sorry I don’t recall exactly but I found it generally expensive for drinks
Answer from jellyhed
Stalybridge, United Kingdom27 contributions26 helpful votes
it's about 10 yards across a gravel courtyard, then youre into the main building.
karen r asked a question Mar 2019
Gateshead, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
Does anyone know how long it takes to walk to the nearest beach please?
Answer from Metith
3 contributions
About 45 minutes and once at the beach there are different walks to take. In the joiners arms pub the 1st of 2 pubs you pass while walking from newton hall to the beach had a leaflet on walks you can do and the time they take.
Catherine E asked a question Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Anyone know the average price of drinks here?
Answer from turnbulltribe
Newcastle Upon Tyne14 contributions54 helpful votes
About £10 for two drinks, i.e. Pint and a spirit and mixer. Our wedding had free cocktails, free flowing wine and cocktail mixers in our room, we were very squiffy. Spirits were top shelf. Staff lovely and knowledgeable. We expected expensive and it was no more than town prices, so pleasantly surprised. It was an amazing venue and a day we won’t forget.
Brad K wrote a tip 4 Apr
Plymouth, United Kingdom2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take your own pillow and eat before you arrive. "
Read full review
Gemma T wrote a tip Mar 2024
Heaton, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would honestly pick somewhere else no customer service and definitely not worth the money."
Read full review
Tuban1 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom59 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a taxi from home and back. Cost of room extortionate for what you get"
Read full review
Beth wrote a tip Jan 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"£50 damage deposit required on check in. No immediate refund, be prepared to chase this up after leaving"
Read full review
AngelaandTrevor wrote a tip Jan 2024
County Durham, United Kingdom8 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of stoney paths must carry cases ..to the small garden rooms .. dark path to Joiners Arms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newton by the Sea area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandAlnwickNewton by the Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEWTON HALL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Newton Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Newton Hall?
Nearby attractions include Embleton Bay (1.2 miles), Low Newton by the Sea Beach (0.6 miles), and Beadnell Bay Beach (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Newton Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Newton Hall?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Newton Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newton Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Stable Yard, The Horseshoes Inn, and Piper's Pitch.
Is Newton Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Newton by the Sea.
Are pets allowed at Newton Hall?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Newton Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Longstone Lighthouse (4.8 miles), Beadnell Harbour and Lime Kilns (2.3 miles), and Preston Tower (1.4 miles).
Is Newton Hall accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire