Old Rectory Howick
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Old Rectory Howick

Old Rectory, Howick, Alnwick NE66 3LE England
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (23)
Dessert: David's Delicious Ginger Cheesecake
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Howick
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Property amenities
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
194Reviews2Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Justgo wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 2 night stay early August. My sister stayed in Jack, and we stayed in Jill. Both lovely rooms.
The location is excellent for walking and exploring the coastal path. The rooms we had were spacious and there is a very tasty varied breakfast choice to set you up for the day.
The public rooms are well set out, allowing you a place to relax with friends after a day of walking.
The food in the evening needs 24 hours notice, however is highly recommended.
Jude and Dave are excellent hosts, achieving a great balance between sharing local information and leaving you to enjoy your stay.
The honesty bar was a nice touch, with a good choice of local ales.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Thanks for your kind comments. It was lovely having you stay with us and we're very glad you were able to relax together and enjoy your stay. We hope to see you on the Northumberland Coast again before too long.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annmapmoon wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to celebrate a 60th Birthday and everything about our stay was perfect .
From the warm welcome and flexibility from our hosts, to the lovely spacious room with a view reaching to the sea, beautiful grounds, excellent food , breakfast sausage for our dog and a fantastic location meaning that in 15 minutes we could walk to a beautiful part of the coastal path.
All of our requests were met with a positive response, after a few moments thought and a reply of "well no one has asked that before but ..... yes we could make that happen.
Huge thanks to Jude and Dave for making this such a wonderful and special stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 19 Aug 2020
We loved having you both to stay with us and honoured we were included in your birthday celebrations. Its lovely to have guests who bring such life to the house - come back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eve wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom20 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second stay at The Old Rectory in 2 months because I loved it so much the first time! It really is a spacious, comfortable and relaxed home from home. Jude and Dave could not be more welcoming and attentive. They source and cook local food (when they haven't grown it themselves) - the breakfasts are tremendous and the mustardy beef at the evening meal was particularly tasty!
When we explained that one of our 4 was very COVID-anxious about eating indoors, they immediately set up an enchanting table in their garden
Their prices for both the room and the evening meal are very reasonable. Top marks! They really deserve to succeed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 30 Sept 2020
It was lovely to see you again Eve, along with family and friends. It was lovely to see our walled garden being enjoyed especially if it meant you could all be at your ease. We'll very much look forward to seeing you again, perhaps for a Christmas break!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evallonia wrote a review Aug 2020
nottinghamshire120 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Old Rectory is an elegant 18th century house in a small, quiet estate village a couple of miles south of Craster. It is furnished in keeping with the house itself and our room was spacious and comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. The view over the walled garden was delighful and it was a lovely place to sit and watch the sunset. The bed was perfect for a very comfortable night's sleep, the breakfast menu was imaginatively varied and the evening mels (available on request), which we sampled 2 or 3 times, were tasty and superbly cooked. Although in a very quiet spot there are plenty of places to visit and things to do within a short drive - castles, coastal walks, beautiful gardens, little market towns. Jude and Dave are friendly hosts, always ready to chat about the area and yet with no sense of being 'on top' of you. Looking forward to an opportunity to visit again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Holly faces west and is warmed by the evening sun and has the delightful sound of the hens and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thanks for your kind comments. We're very pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We're also looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura wrote a review May 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a wonderful stay at The Old Rectory. We were warmly greeted by Dave and Jude and their beautiful cats. The house is so cosy, and makes you feel right at home. We enjoyed a beautiful dinner all cooked by Dave, and had such a comfortable night’s sleep. Jude and Dave really focus on the small, but memorable details - fresh milk in the rooms, local Northumberland soaps and other products in the bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes, an honesty box for additional drinks, freshly laid eggs for breakfast, etc. Dave also knew I was a cat lover, and he even gave me some Dreamies to give to their beautiful cat, Patsy. Such a kind gesture. It was our best accommodation of the holiday following a week of costal hiking. We will definitely return and plan to recommend it to all our friends in North Yorkshire! Thank you Jude and Dave! Lots of love, Laura, Yvonne and Irene xxx
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Thank you Laura, Yvonne & Irene. We enjoyed having you to stay with us - and Patsy says thank you for the attention! Come back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vanmor12 wrote a review Sept 2020
Rotherham, United Kingdom24 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made a last minute booking at the Old Rectory after quite a stressful couple of days. It is off the beaten track, which for us was ideal. We had a lovely warm welcome from Jude, who showed us around their charming house
We stayed In Jill bedroom which is a very spacious but also cosy and welcoming. Lovely views over fields and from the bathroom views towards to coast with a few cows in between. Lots of nice touches in our room fridge with milk and water, tea and coffee tray, quality toiletries. Bed really comfortable had a great nights sleep
Breakfast choice really good, high quality and cooked to perfection
If you like bland corporate hotels with lots of hustle and bustle then this probably wouldn’t be for you. But if you want somewhere peaceful to stay to recharge the batteries in a beautiful part of Northumberland with friendly helpful hosts we couldn’t recommend the Old Rectory more .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and are glad you were able to relax and de-stress. Hearing that you had a great night's sleep is the best compliment we could get!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoyOfTheNew wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at the Old Rectory en route northwards on a family walking tour up the Northumberland Coastal Path. We arrived, exhausted, after a 12 mile walk but our daughter had been stung by a wasp and was feeling pretty wretched. Jude couldn't have been more helpful and the Old Rectory couldn't have been a better place to recuperate. We dined in and had a stunning meal and a lovely bottle of wine in the spacious dining room, and slept soundly in very comfortable beds in large and beautiful rooms. The gardens are delightful with a tipi and tree house, and chickens everywhere. The only down side was that there was no hot water when we wanted it in the evening, nor had it warmed enough in the morning, but that was trivial. Lovely stay and we were looked after so kindly and well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Glad you could break your walk with us and that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for letting us know about the water issue, we were able to get the plumbers out and get it fixed quickly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
celticchickadee wrote a review Jul 2020
Yorkshire, United Kingdom209 contributions88 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were the first guests after the lifting of Covid restrictions, on our last night of a short much needed quiet break. From the moment we arrived we were looked after perfectly and had a most relaxing evening enjoying the ambience of the lounge, the interesting offerings in the honesty bar and a totally delicious mixed seafood and cheese platter for a relaxed supper. There is the offer of transport should you want to go out to eat but we’d had fish n chips on the beach at lunchtime and this was perfect. Oh - and Dave’s lemon cheesecake tempted is after! I’m sure the rest of the supper menu would be equally yummy.

The house is simply gorgeous, full of charm and great attention to detail in terms of what you might need. There’s a great sense of atmosphere and warmth with some period charm - at one point I was looking for Mr D’Arcy to rock up on his horse! We stayed in Jill which is an absolutely beautiful room, super comfy enormous bed, sitting area, huge en-suite with good shower and lovely hospitality tray. Breakfast was excellent, and nice to see the hens & ducks pottering about just thru the window! The garden would be a lovely place to sit on a pleasant day too, and we would not hesitate to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 19 Aug 2020
We were very pleased to see you after a very long and quiet lockdown! The house isn't the same when its quiet so its lovely to have people back enjoying the lounge and gardens. Glad you enjoyed the cheesecake too.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RitaBritanni wrote a review Jan 2024
Rolleston on Dove, United Kingdom75 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had another wonderful stay at this beautiful house. As always we were well looked after by the hosts, Jude and Dave who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Everything is beautifully appointed, the breakfasts and dinners were superb. Local produce and ingredients were top quality and shows care and attention to detail, even their own fresh eggs and herbs from the garden.
Our room was beautiful, very relaxing and everything had been considered. Fresh milk and water in a silent fridge, fresh coffee and homemade cookies in the room was a lovely extra touch. Our bathroom was clean and spacious with plenty of towels, robes and quality toiletries. The location is ideal for exploring the nearby stunning coastal region. Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas S wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An absolutely brilliant stay. I can't recommend this more. The hosts are very accommodating and friendly and the food was homecooked and delicious. They offer better dinner than the local pubs! The accommodation is very dog friendly and homely with large comfortable rooms (we had a seperate bathroom but enjoyed its large space and the novelty). It was good to come back in the evening and use the lounge area to get some drinks and listen to the record player. Little gestures like giving the dog a sausage for breakfast was very sweet and made the trip really stand out. Many thanks to Judith and David for our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check if the bedroom is ensuite or bathroom across the corridor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jude Leitch, Owner at Old Rectory Howick
Responded 19 Apr 2022
It was lovely to have you all to stay with us and we're very glad you enjoyed your special break. Come again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine M asked a question May 2021
Do you allow small dog
Answer from judelei
Howick, Craster, Northumberland9 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, We do welcome dogs, we just ask that they are kept on a lead in the garden as we have free range chickens and ducks. We also have cats in the house but they sensibly keep away from dogs. Kind regards, Jude
Answer from Gemski00
Hong Kong, China12 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi Liesbeth, you will have to contact them directly!
Helen R wrote a tip 2 Jun
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to book dinner and breakfast in advance."
Read full review
Jay W wrote a tip Sept 2023
33 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a table at The Jolly Fisherman in Craster while you're there"
Read full review
KH4W wrote a tip Jul 2023
Cheshire, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a beautiful place close to so many places to visit, but our sat nav had problems with the postcode. We used Howick Hall Gardens."
Read full review
christinegl52 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Cheltenham15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely coastline, lots of places to visit. Popular stay for walkers."
Read full review
Nicholas S wrote a tip Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check if the bedroom is ensuite or bathroom across the corridor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Howick area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandAlnwickHowick
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OLD RECTORY HOWICK - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos