We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat

Thapae Road 9 Thapae Soi 5, Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (595)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (91)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£51
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Chang Moi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled in the Heart of Chiang Mai, the alluring Away Chiang Mai Thapae Resort is an ideal spot from which to discover Chiang Mai. The city center charm is only a short stroll away, while various temples and cultural points of interests are within easy walking distance. The airport, Night bazaar, Walking street, Old city can be reached within 5 - 10 minutes. This boutique property boasts 39 guestrooms, surrounded by ponds and gardens. Shaped from a classic colonial style of the early 1900s, it offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate guests. A holistic approach to health and wellness is also employed at the resort through organic vegan & plant based meals at Moreganic Restaurant. Graceful and modern rooms with plush linens, private balcony, and wireless internet will keep guests relaxed and connected throughout the property. Hotel check-in time: 15:00hrs Hotel check-out time: 11:00hrs
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Car hire
Taxi service
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
418Reviews7Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 48
  • 7
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bhat P T wrote a review 1 Feb
Bengaluru, India306 contributions267 helpful votes
we had booked 2 rooms for four of us during last week of January 2024 for 3 nights. Got a good deal through Agoda. It is an excellent vegan resort. Spotless clean rooms, nice vegan restaurant. We being strict vegetarians had good time and ordered for dishes safely. Tasty breakfast with good options. Very helpful staff with enough knowledge of English. Recommend to people who want to stay in quiet place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: if one wants to stay in a quiet area, this is the place in Chiangmai
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear BhatBangalore, Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your feedback to us. It is greatly to have you and hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue driving for exceeding our guest’s expectations and we truly look forward to welcome you again. Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Calvin T wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We stayed there in two room for 4 nights. As we checked out, they charged us US$30 for 3 pairs of slippers we used for these days. Since we were a bit late for our flight, and didn't have time to check our luggages, we paid and ran. It turned out my wife thought these slippers were used and going to be tossed anyway, she kept them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Calvin, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced, and rest assured that I am taking all the necessary actions to improve our services to meet the high expectations of our valued guests. I will also certainly discuss your feedback with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift our service level. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide an even more comfortable stay. Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MS wrote a review Jan 2024
Tokyo, Japan7 contributions
+1
The location is close to Thapae road, but it is very quiet. There is a lot of greenery and it feels very nice. The restaurant can be a little noisy when there are groups of people, so consider the time you go. The breakfast was very delicious, and since it was vegan, I was able to eat it with confidence. You can relax comfortably on the terrace. I would like to stay again^_^
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Marco, Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your feedback to us. It is greatly to have you and hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue driving for exceeding our guest’s expectations and we truly look forward to welcome you again. Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lydia m wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
+1
We love this hotel, beautiful oasis in great location. We’ve stayed here several times. Staff is always welcoming. Easy walk to everything. Wonderful vegan breakfast buffet. We took a terrific cooking class (with Som). A highlight! Pretty pool area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear C2025NJIydiam, Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your feedback to us. It is greatly to have you and hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue driving for exceeding our guest’s expectations and we truly look forward to welcome you again. Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David N wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions3 helpful votes
First time experience of a vegan hotel, and it was great. Rooms were clean and housekeeping attended daily. Consistently had good options for breakfast and the included thai dessert buffet was delicious. Hotel was located centrally close to the old town
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear davidnK3214BC, Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your feedback to us. It is greatly to have you and hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue driving for exceeding our guest’s expectations and we truly look forward to welcome you again. Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leann B wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful and Comfortable rooms and pool . The food is delicious and so very Healthy. Centrally located. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. I would and hopefully will stay there on my next trip to Chiang Mai. It was a great part of an amazing trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear 935leannb Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are dedicated to the complete satisfaction of all our valued guests and your kind words go a long way in inspiring us to continue on this path. We look forward to welcome you back Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
VeganMadeEasy wrote a review Jan 2024
Glen Ellyn, Illinois1573 contributions325 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is only 15 min from the ai. Get a voucher at the Taxi booth at the airport and a taxi assigned outside door 1. The ride is 150 BHT. We love the fact that the restaurant is 100% plant based and on top of that organic. Breakfast buffet is outstanding, although some of the dishes could have been a little warmer. That only happened in the first day. You get warm dishes as well as a variety of bread. Nice selection of tea and coffee as well. You can also prepare your own freshly made vegetable juice. Nice dinner menu although the portions tend to be a little smaller than we like them to be. Food was tasty! The afternoon tea, which we received a coupon for, wasn’t our thing. Primarily some form of sweet glibber. Nice colorful set up. The ginger in the ginger tea seems to have been recycled a few times already. The only downside currently is that there is a construction site just across from the hotel. So it gets a little noisy during the day which can be annoying when you sit outside wanting to read in quiet. Nice a quiet at night! We slept very well here! We loved having a refrigerator in the room. You also get a nice bath rope and slippers. Comfortable seating on the balcony to top it all off! The location is great. Everything we looked for within walking distance but tucked away enough to offer quiet and tranquility! Very much enjoyed our stay here! If you feel like mixing things up for a meal, highly recommend Vegan Heaven. It’s around the corner, 5 minutes walk. Very tasty food in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly service. Great ginger tea, made from fresh ginger and lots of it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear VeganMadeEasy Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are dedicated to the complete satisfaction of all our valued guests and your kind words go a long way in inspiring us to continue on this path. It is noted that there were some aspect did not meet to your expectation which we will review and address to improve where is possible. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chariot70 wrote a review Jan 2024
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates10 contributions6 helpful votes
I looked at google reviews and booked this hotel for my sister for a solo trip. Everything is great and my sister is currently staying at the hotel. There is one problem only - The hotel is nosy and has no double glazing of the window glass. I understand that the hotel is full and there are families with young children traveling The noise levels are very high. A splash in the pool can be heard! If someone walks into their room its heard! Conversations can be heard! Walls are paper thin. I have written o the assistant reservation manager requesting if my sister can be moved to a quieter room. Just disappointed about this problem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear chariotindxb Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret the noise disturbing you during stay. Our hotel is running full during the past few week and we try as much as we can to accommodate according to guest's preference. Please accept our sincere apologize. If we can have a chance to welcome you back, we will be more than happy to assign one of the quieter room on your next visit. Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Candice L wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto, Canada152 contributions74 helpful votes
I want to live here forever. The service at this hotel is incredible and the rooms are beautiful. The restaurant breakfast is worth the extra. We stayed in one of the deluxe pool rooms and it was wonderful to be able to go for a quick dip in the afternoon without having to leave the room. This hotel is also in the perfect area, close to everything you need but off on a quiet street.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Order the deluxe pool room for an extra special stay. Add on the breakfast in the morning.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Dear Candice127xo, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are dedicated to the complete satisfaction of all our valued guests and your kind words go a long way in inspiring us to continue on this path. We look forward to welcome you back Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alisa L wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful vegan retreat! We came to celebrate our 40th anniversary and were not disappointed!! Initially while booking on Agoda, we were not able to reserve a suite. But on arrival we just told the staff we were celebrating our anniversary and they upgraded us to a suite. They also gave us a complementary coupon for afternoon tea. The room, amenities, food and atmosphere were all excellent, as well as the staff. So glad we decided to book.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is limited, but available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerawee Thepprachum, General Manager at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Dear Alisa, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are dedicated to the complete satisfaction of all our valued guests and your kind words go a long way in inspiring us to continue on this path. We look forward to welcome you back Warm regards, Katerawee Thepprachum General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chang Moi area.
PRICE RANGE
£48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang MaiChang Moi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AWAY CHIANG MAI THAPAE - A VEGAN RETREAT - Updated 2024 (Chang Moi, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Rescue Park (0.2 miles), Thailand Mountain Trail (0.3 miles), and Mr K Best Tailor (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hummus Chiang Mai, Renegade Craft Beer & Ciders, and Sababa Chiang Mai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Chang Moi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Away Chiang Mai Thapae - A Vegan Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.