Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tewinbury

Hertford Road B1000, Tewin AL60JB England
Traveller (430)
Dining (98)
Room & Suite (77)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Dec
£145
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Tewin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Tewinbury is a small, independent boutique hotel . Set alongside the river Mimram and within 700 acres of farmland, it conveniently sits 25 miles north of London in the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside. Owned and run by the Williams family, we take great pride in offering traditional values of good service with the modern comforts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Foot massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
1451Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 969
  • 292
  • 82
  • 53
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jimmy0d0nnell wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
We were given a Virgin Experience voucher as a wedding gift and decided to visit this hotel from the huge list of potential places. We made an excellent choice. The staff were amazing - especially the ever present Ruth who was there for our afternoon tea, our evening meal and breakfast in the morning. Does this lady sleep! The hotel is simple to get to from our North London home and was set in acres of farm land. Due to the heavy storm we didn’t get a chance to venture too far from the farm house but really enjoyed our stay. The afternoon tea was amazing value given what you got and tasty too, the evening meal was burgers - just right for a stormy night and the breakfast had everything we wanted. Our room was in the main building and was spotlessly clean with everything we needed to make our stay perfect and the exposed beams throughout made you feel that you are in a proper country house. We are already planning our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a basin room but it contained everything we needed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tewin Bury Farm, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear jimmy0d0nnell, I am thrilled to hear that you still had a wonderful stay with us despite the weather! I am so pleased to hear that Ruth did a wonderful job of looking after you during your stay and I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto her. Our afternoon tea is always incredibly popular with our guests and I am so pleased to read that you had the chance to enjoy this during your stay. We look forward to your return visit and fingers crossed the weather will be better. Hopefully you can explore our many local walks, towns and villages next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rockley wrote a review Aug 2020
London, England2 contributions5 helpful votes
Highly recommend Tewin Bury Farm Hotel.

Enjoyed a one night stay with the family (2 adults, 2 children).

Even before we arrived, we were impressed with the friendly helpful service over the phone when booking. Nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival, there was plenty of signage of where to go/what to do. There were multiple hand sanitizer points dotted at many building entry/exit points as well as around the grounds.

We were impressed with the friendly service and an efficient contactless check-in at reception.

We were directed to the 'Oak' Room a short walk from reception. The door handle included a seal showing that the room had been deep cleaned and ready for guests. The bedrooms and bathroom were spotless. The room is ideal for families as includes a mezzanine floor which served as a second bedroom for children.

We enjoyed both Dinner and Breakfast in the 'CowShed' - the main hotel restaurant. Again excellent procedures in place to keep all guests safe. Friendly attentive service, great menus, and delicious food. The only feedback would be - to not be so generous with the size of the children's puddings!!! the children's Eton Mess was a huge bowl of mainly double cream!

We look forward to returning for a longer stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Oak Room - ideal for families with the mezzanine level which serves as a second bedroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear BusheyPark, I am overjoyed to hear that you and your family had a great time with us! I will make sure to pass on your lovely feedback to our reservation's and reception team and also our housekeeping team. I am glad to read that you felt safe and comfortable in our CowShed while dining and that you enjoyed the food. I will mention your feedback about the children's puddings to our chef, I don't think he can bear to think of any little ones going hungry! I hope you will visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rediffusion wrote a review Jan 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom261 contributions149 helpful votes
Rooms are not all in one building but in various blocks, this meant we could park right outside our room, which felt a little more like a mini-lodge than a hotel room. Really lovely and comfortable and the bed was of a good standard. Our room had a double and single. The single was upstairs on a mezzanine and also up there was a kitchenette with kettle, hob, sink. Good sized bathroom.

Breakfast was excellent and above the normal standard that you would find in a hotel (slightly bigger range, and better quality, e.g. the scrambled eggs tasted nice, thick bacon etc.)

As others have alluded to, you can hear noise from anyone walking about outside or cars moving, but this didn't cause us any issues- and it was really nice being able to park outside your room.

And they have 3 EV charging points, 2 Tesla and one type 2.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Theres lots of variety in the room layouts so check with the hotel if you want something specific.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear rediffusion, Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your recent visit to Tewin Bury Farm Hotel. Our Executive Head Chef will be delighted to hear that you found our breakfast to be "excellent" and above the standard of other hotel breakfasts. I am so pleased to read that you found your bedroom to your liking and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick14541 wrote a review Jun 2021
137 contributions52 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room which was in a new block of rooms, and we had a private terrace which we enjoyed in super weather. The room style was very pleasant and spacious, the air conditioning worked well although the WiFi had its moods and didn’t seem to like more than one device per room being logged in. We elected to stay in our room for breakfast and the room service was punctual and excellent. There were Small touches such as fresh milk in the fridge too.
We also enjoyed the grounds of the hotel, and the open air terrace for a drink one day. Very comfortable, felt safe in these tricky times,
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware they host weddings and ask for a quiet room if you want one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Dear Nick14541, Thank you for your 5* review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the recent lovely weather meant that you could enjoy not only your private patio but our hotel grounds as well. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with connecting one of your devices to our WIFI. We do not have a limit to how many devices can be connect per room. We do hope you will visit us again next time you are in the local area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rwilli421938 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We had a very nice relaxing stay in Bury Farm, and a lovely lamb meal in the Cowshed restaurant. The Gardeners room where we stayed, has a patio, and lovely views on nearby fields from within a walled garden. The bathroom was newly refurbished to a very high modern standard, which is a lovely combination with the traditional style of the room located in the old cottage part of the hotel.
Thank you for a lovely stay, we shall be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 22 Jul 2020
Dear rwilli421938, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the lamb in our Cowshed restaurant. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alis2ne wrote a review Nov 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom1 contribution
We attended a wedding here and stayed two nights. The accommodation was of a high standard and had everything you would expect - tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, TV, soft towels, toiletries, etc. Plenty of places to visit or meet up with family or friends - Farm Shop, cafe, bar, restaurant. Walking to the village shop for a newspaper was easy - about 15 minutes through fields and a wooded area and not too muddy. The only drawback was that our room was right next to the recycling area, so hearing bottles being tipped into the container gone midnight was something we could have done without!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Dear alis2ne, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding you attended with us and found the accommodation to be of a high standard. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by the noise from our recycling area, we do do our best to minimise any noise and normally only work in this area during the daytime. We hope you will visit us next time you are in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corinne O wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Our daughter and partner chose Tewin Bury Farm from the amazing reviews and on visiting the venue fell in love with the surroundings.
The wedding was a small, uncomplicated one which makes it hard to understand why there were so many issues, in particular poor communication and management.
We were assigned a wedding planner who made a plan with us of what we wanted for the day.
Everything went well until the week of the wedding.
We were told we had unrestricted access to the room the day before the wedding in order to decorate it but the events team forgot to inform us they had accepted a late booking for a meeting in there.
We arrived in the evening to a room that had not been cleared or cleaned . Eventually after the duty manager,Phoebe, cleaned the room herself as she informed us they were short staffed, we were allowed entry.
We had to finish the cleaning as it was clear the room and patio area was not appropriate for a wedding the next day.
The day of the wedding Phoebe was our Operations Manager and she was supposed to follow our plan to ensure timings and requests were adhered to. Guest drinks were served but Phoebe decided without discussing with us, that orange juice would be offered to guests on request. We had paid for orange juice, beer and Pimms and our guests were unaware of orange juice being available.
We had to tell our guests to be seated for the meal and we had to ask for the bride and groom to be announced.
There wasn’t orange juice on the tables and told that we hadn’t requested it even though we had paid for it. Likewise a similar situation with the beer not being available.
The wedding cake was to be cut at 6.30pm and served with tea and coffee.
After numerous requests and just after 8pm the cake finally arrived without serviettes or plates but by then tea and coffee was gone.
There was confusion with the final payment. On several attempts to rectify this my husband was told that the original contract price and had been increased without informing us.
They did eventually say this was wrong on their part and corrected this.
We felt that we missed parts of our daughter’s wedding as we were constantly chasing Phoebe to implement the plan.
We sent an email to the events manager detailing the shortfalls but there was no apology, no acceptance of wrong doing and certainly no customer service,as if we had no right to question their decisions or integrity.
Tewin bury Farm prides itself on customer service but we certainly didn’t experience it.
This was supposed to be a special day, our first child’s wedding, and feel very let down by the way things were done on the eve of the wedding and on the day itself. Tewin bury Farm need to listen to their customer instead of making excuses.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 27 Nov 2022
Dear Corinne O. I understand that our team have been in touch with your daughter directly,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Jan 2020
Staines, United Kingdom58 contributions60 helpful votes
My friend and I stayed here for a girls weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location was quite remote but there is plenty to do with two different restaurants and beautiful scenery to explore.

We tried both the Williams Restaurant for dinner and the Cowshed for breakfast & afternoon tea and both were lovely and easily able to cater to my allergies. Ruth who served us was very friendly and always made sure we had a drink! :)

Our room was very nice too and super warm despite it being freezing outside.

We would definitely stay again if we were in the area and would definitely recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear W2970VAsarahb, Thank you so much for taking the time write a review about your recent visit to us at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted to read that you would recommend us! I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josephine Yoke ... P wrote a review Sept 2020
12 contributions7 helpful votes
The rooms with en-suite were exceptionally spacious, good sound proofing with ample sockets for many devices. The surrounding areas were tidy and welcoming with car parking near the barbecue and restaurant areas. A high standard of hygiene all round.
The housekeeping, reception and restaurant staff were all friendly and happy to look after whatever you ask for. The Front desk receptionists Briony and Tracy were very helpful and friendly with all requests.
Will definitely visit again.
Thank you to the Tewin Team
Mrs Yoke Pearce
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with patio served us well for drinks, snacking and chatting
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear Mrs Pearce, I am so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us and that your families wedding plans went so well. I'm really pleased to hear that the team, along with Briony and Tracy looked after you well during your time with us. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruthie F wrote a review Jun 2021
leeds11 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel is beautiful, rooms excellently finished in a fantastic surroundings. Unfortunately, the care does not extend to maintenance and our stay was ruined by a foul drain smell which pervaded through the room, even after we had covered up the drains and wedged the bathroom door with towels.

We complained to the night manager, were told hotel full but maintenance would be called... they weren't and he never called back.

Stuck on the room with two small children we made the best of it, but for £199, this was a rotten time.

In the morning when we raised the issue with the general manager we were told nothing could be done because 'I can't smell anything as I have hayfever... it doesn't smell now'. This even as the cleaning team were in the room being apologetic and saying they would look into it.

Appalling service and contempt for their customers makes me rate this place so poorly. There are a number of other excellent hotels in Welwyn, similarly priced or cheaper and with both sound drains and friendly staff,and I would encourage everyone to explore those instead.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Salem Retibi, General Manager at Tewinbury
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Ruufee, When you called the night manager after 8.30pm unfortunately we didn't have any maintenance onsite and therefore the following morning I made it a priority to attend your room to try and understand why there might have been a drainage smell. I could not smell anything and therefore I asked two other members of staff to attend the room to see if they could smell something, they could not. Conveniently at that time you also agreed that the smell had gone! Immediately you asked what money was going to be taken off your bill.... £199 for a family room for 4 people including breakfast is a very competitive rate and we would be surprised if you could find anything better than this for a hotel that is 'beautiful with excellently finished rooms and fantastic surroundings'. We pride ourselves on customer service and we have no doubt that we dealt with this situation how we should. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evanthia P asked a question May 2022
1 contribution
Are dogs allowed to stay at the hotel?
Answer from Jacqueline M
Kings Lynn684 contributions235 helpful votes
Better to contact the Hotel directly. Some hotels have dog friendly rooms as well as non dog friendly rooms. Guests may have had different experiences.
Show all answers
Answer from melda_aygin
Greater London, United Kingdom4 contributions
Not that I'm aware of
Show all answers
Janice C asked a question Nov 2021
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom1 contribution
Can you tell me about your Afternoon Tea please
Answer from ursulae755
Canterbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
I did not have a traditional afternoon tea whilst staying at Tewin Bury but I would be very surprised if they did not do an absolutely superb one.
Show all answers
Ollienixs wrote a tip Oct 2023
21 contributions25 helpful votes
"Two logs at a time in the hot tub"
Read full review
Kong248 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Baldock, United Kingdom17 contributions17 helpful votes
"Would definitely recommend Tewinbury for a break away from the norm. Totally relaxing atmosphere."
Read full review
Eudora wrote a tip Aug 2023
Altrincham, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
"If you want breakfast included, book direct with the hotel. Loads of wedding/hen parties attending!"
Read full review
sophiekatasi1 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
"Plenty of free parking"
Read full review
caro wrote a tip Jul 2023
8 contributions
"Book early as the rooms go fast!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tewin area.
PRICE RANGE
£118 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel tewin bury farm
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireTewin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Tewinbury Hotel Reviews, Tewin

Frequently Asked Questions about Tewinbury
Which popular attractions are close to Tewinbury?
Nearby attractions include ART @ MG - Mardleybury Gallery (2.8 miles), Hatfield House (4.0 miles), and Welwyn Escape Rooms (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tewinbury?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Tewinbury?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tewinbury?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tewinbury?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tewinbury?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Station Pub Knebworth, The Tilbury, and Misya Meze & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tewinbury?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Is Tewinbury located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Tewin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tewinbury?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tewinbury offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tewinbury?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.