Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort

New looking bed did not match old curtains and flooring. Twin beds pushed together for a "couple".
Traveller (2043)
golf view
Room & Suite (235)
Main Restaurant at the Slaley Hall
Dining (206)

View prices for your travel dates

£172
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 resort in Slaley
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
5,820Reviews43Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,201
  • 1,518
  • 1,080
  • 616
  • 411
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Craig wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom60 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited with my partner on New Year's Eve.

Check in time was 3pm but on arrival at 3.20 we were told the room was not ready. We were told to wait and come back in "around 20 minutes". When we asked why this was the case we were told "Well it's New Year's Eve, we are very busy today". The receptionist suggested we go for a drink at the bar which we did, upon return 20 minutes the room was still unavailable. We were told the room would be ready at 4pm. At 4pm we were given the keys and went to the room, the cleaner was still cleaning the room when we arrived at the room and we eventually got in at 4.20pm.

The room was of a decent size and standard with a nice view over the golf course.

After this we went to the spa. The spa was very busy which was understandable for New Years Eve. Staff at the Spa were friendly and welcoming, the facilities were good.

We went to book a table for dinner after this but we were told this was not possible unless we paid an additional £100 per head to attend the New Years Eve party.

We chose instead to eat at a local pub (Rose and Crown in Slaley Village).

On a positive in the morning we had a very warm welcome in the restaurant and the hot and cold breakfast buffet was delicious.

We also visited the Spa facilities again following breakfast.

Ironically, following the issues outlined above at check in, at 11.10am on New Years Day we had a knock on the door from a member of the housekeeping team who 'reminded' us that check out time was 11am!

I have visited Slaley Hall on a number of occasions for both business and leisure and have always previously had a great experience. I do feel, for £140, that this experience did not match what I expect from Slaley Hall.

Maybe we will try a less busy evening if we visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew F, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read you found your stay disappointing, we do endeavour to have all the rooms ready for check in from 3pm however this is not always possible especially during peak holiday season when guests may be later to check out. On New Years Eve we had several options available for guests, our sales team were available on arrival and advised all guests not on the packages of the options available to them. There were two events non package guests could join or the option for the bar or the dukes restaurant which was serving bar food also. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Andrew Fox General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DStr50 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited with my husband and 2 children had a 2 night stay. I had read the recent reviews and again was slightly concerned by the comments. I can honestly say that the experience we had bore no resemblance to the reviews I had read. From start to finish the staff were friendly and professional. We had pre booked our meal times and pool visits as you would expect to in this difficult time and in order to observe social distancing rules to keep all involved safe. We ate at the Claret Jug on the first night and the children were very impressed with their meals and portion sizes for the £10 kids menu. A special mention to our servers, first of all Liam who was friendly and helpful and then we had great attention from Adam and Lewis. The pool was relaxing and I noticed the extreme measures used while cleaning between groups, the lifeguard on duty was alert and attentive and it was noticeable how seriously he took the safety of the few children in the pool. At the end of our first day I requested extra pillows for the second night and the gentleman on the desk said he would have them sent to our room within ten minutes, which he did. All in all I was most impressed. My only negative was a situation that occurred during our dinner when a guest was rude, raising his voice and marching up to staff complaining. Completely unacceptable and I felt a manager should have stepped in and asked him to leave. The staff remained calm, handled it professionally but no one doing their job should have to tolerate being spoken to like that. The hotel is in a lovely location and yes as an older building there are a few snags but it is still attractive and very comfortable but the biggest plus they have is the staff. I lost count of the amount of times they said at breakfast, if there is anything else you want please just ask. Hope to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Fox, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear DStr50, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us. My colleagues take great pleasure in going the extra mile to ensure they meet and exceed all of our guests' needs and I'm thrilled that you recognised that. We discuss our guest reviews on a daily basis, so Liam, Adam, Lewis and the rest of team will be made aware of your feedback and I know they will be delighted by your comments. Once again, many thanks and on behalf of the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Alice - Guest Experience Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie R wrote a review Aug 2020
London, UK27 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The sun shone, golf course looked great, kids loved the pool and the activity centre next door (excellent!).

Communal areas are lovely. Our room was basic (some items looking shabby and hairs in the bath upon arrival).

We had dbb package which was good value for quantity but the quality not great. Most food is pre- prepared so you can’t deviate from the menu. Christian our waiter both nights was fabulous.

Bar was a lovely environment. Not operating some of the standard C19 process I’ve seen elsewhere (no masks, zoning, served customers at bar and didn’t track/trace).

Whilst the pool was a highlight. Interactions with Liam at the desk of the spa were quite upsetting. Whilst we are all recalibrating to a C19 normal - I found his tone and lack of customer empathy quite astounding.

For example, we were a room of 3 but didn’t have sufficient toiletries in the room. On our last day we were going for a swim. At check out I asked if it would be possible to have some shower gel (it’s been removed from the gym showers understandably to reduce contact. Also, there are signs in the rooms advising to feel free to ask for toiletries at reception). I was advised that they didn’t have any but the spa would happily supply them.

When I asked at the spa reception, they looked at me incredulously. I relayed what I’d been advised by reception. They advised that they didn’t have any... It was then escalated to whom I assume was the spa Or shift manager, Liam. Liam took the opportunity to tell me he didn’t like my tone. (I wasn’t being aggressive or using inappropriate language but I was relaying what I’d been advised by reception). He told me again that he didn’t like the way I spoke to him. I replied that I found him lacking in empathy - to which he replied “he didn’t need a lecture in customer services”.

The previous day I had experienced him as extremely passive aggressive too. I’d advise anyone to make sure you book your swim slot ahead of arrival and log your calls/messages.

Based on this experience i will be far more likely to book elsewhere in future. Coniston, for example , has a far better focus on the customer experience whilst offering comparable facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Fox, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear rixste, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. Whilst I am pleased you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, it is disappointing that other areas fell below expectations. Please be assured your comments will be discussed with the relevant team members so the points you raised can be addressed. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future and allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Kind regards, Alice - Guest Experience Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sylvia W wrote a review Aug 2020
Malton, England, United Kingdom19 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Slaley a few times over the years but will probably not again after our last visit this week,I know we are living with Covid-19 but I think a lot of places are using this as an excuse for poor service & poor food etc.When we arrived to check in we wanted to book breakfast for the 2 mornings we were staying, we were offered 11am yes 11Am!! as we had arranged to meet a friend at 10am to go walking this was a NO, some other people who were there were offered the same but as Golfers said they would be half way round the course by then!!we finally got offered 7-45 which is rather early but better than nothing!! If you can’t cope with too many people then STOP taking bookings for B&B just offer Bed!!Limited menu could only offer scrambled egg (using reconstituted stuff) so if you like fried egg with your English tuff, I thought the egg shortish ended months ago!! & on the second morning the scrambled egg was only lukewarm, not good. The evening meal was no better they could only offer 6 or 9pm in the restaurant so ate in the Claret Jug bar as they said it was the same menu.really!!! Burgers,Pizza, Fish & Chips or Steak. 3 of our party ordered Steak all medium, well 1 had to go back as it was still mooing, how difficult is it to cook a piece of small steak? Also this night ALL the bars had run out of draft lager!!& don’t even get me going on the decor, What is going on here, most places that have been in lockdown used the time to spruce things up, not here, threadbare carpets, holes in cushions & sofas, sticky tables etc. Also why remove cups & spoons from the rooms at least you can wash them, after having a tea in the evening from your paper cups & stirring stick I then had to take them out of the bin so I could have a drink next morning, not very Covid friendly .I just think it’s very sad that a lovely Hotel has gone downhill so much & am really hoping to hear that it is having a big makeover before we will consider coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Fox, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear SylviaW810, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us at Slaley Hall. I fully appreciate how disappointed and frustrated you must have been that your expectations were not met. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the Management team so the points you raised can be addressed. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of every guest that uses our facilities and I sincerely apologise that we were unable to do so on this occasion. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future and allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Kind regards, Alice - Guest Experience Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aimee F wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at around 3pm for overnight stay at Slaley hall. Reception staff gave good directions to spa and our room on arrival. When we got to the spa we had to negotiate through a gaggle of beauty therapists cluttering the hallway who weren’t very forthcoming inletting us through easily to get to the changing rooms. males changing rooms out of order my other half had to change in a disused treatment room. Spa pool area is absolutely tiny no beds were available and the bed were jammed in like sardines absolutely ridiculous. The place was full of kids splashing screaming diving off the plastic rocks just horrendous not relaxing at all. The female Changing room was small and dirty really grubby stains on walls and in groves of tiles. No robes of slippers available was given a small towel to use for the day. Was unable to get any treatments all fully booked. Also unable to get into restaurant had to drive to a pub. We were just told sarcastically “we have 200 other People dining here tonight” by reception staff like our custom was irrelevant. Found a general obnoxious attitudes from the staff we encountered tbh.
Had to ring hotel through the website to complain about noisy neighbours because reception appears to be unmanned overnight.
Just terrible service not 4 star hotel. Decor extremely dated and shabby really tired looking. Was not a patch on other places we’ve been such as ramside or wynyard hall etc we were so disappointed in the place.

Avoid and book elsewhere unless you’re easily impressed. Will not be revisiting or recommending to anyone I know.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew F, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Aimee Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read your stay fell below expectations. It is disappointing to read your comments regarding the staff as we usually get great feedback regarding their helpfulness and attitude. During peak holiday season the hotel can get extremely busy and advance booking of the restaurant and spa would always be advised. We do also have adult only times for the spa when children are not permitted, these times are advertised in and around the hotel as well as the website and I can only apologise if you were not aware of these times. The hotel is about to undergo a large refurbishment programme which will address your comments regarding the décor and changing rooms. I am sorry to read you would not recommend or revisit us again in the future. Regards Andrew Fox General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
50angie50 wrote a review Sept 2020
Knaresborough, United Kingdom118 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a few times but has gone downhill and is not worthy of the 4 stars. The hotel decor is tired and needs a refit, in addition it seems that Covid has been an excuse to provide lower service.
On arrival we went to our room but another guest was in it as they had also been allocated that room, not the best start!
Rooms are cleaned every 3rd day but you are not given supplies to account for this,(or a room rate discount) 2 disposable paper cups for a 3 night stay, so as soon as you had a hot drink you cannot have another, asked reception for more but they could not help, had to stop the cleaning staff in the corridor for clean towels and a paper cup!
Food is mediocre, very poor pizza in The Claret Jug, breakfast was table service due to local lockdown but options were poor, if you wanted cooked it was full English or veggie breakfast, I asked for just scrambled egg and mushroom but was told you had to have the complete plate which was bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes so I didn’t bother as would have just wasted it.
Will not be rushing back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Fox, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Dear 50angie50, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for many aspects not matching your expectations. Your comments regarding the room allocation, the housekeeping and breakfast have been noted and will result in re-training. Thank you once again, it is invaluable at this time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MizWum wrote a review Aug 2020
Hinckley, United Kingdom28 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel had provided plenty of sanitiser and devised a one way route around the building which most people followed. Staff were all very pleasant and our room met our expectations and bore little relationship to some reviews we had read. Tea and coffee had been provided together with paper cups and surprisingly the room was cleaned and supplies topped up in the morning.
The grounds were lovely and well worth exploring although we did not set eyes on red squirrels in the woods.
The main disappointment was the restaurant where we saw mixed standards. With the hotel full, the serving staff under constant pressure especially as, unlike competitors, pre-ordering was not required. Drinks were promptly delivered but where food was concerned at dinner, waiting became the norm. When my terrine arrived with a little salad but no bread or toast, I asked if I could have some. It took 3 requests followed by ten minute wait to produce a single slice. Prawn and pineapple cocktail had no pineapple, watercress, roquette and parsley salad proved to be roquette.
To the team's great credit, breakfast service changed totally between our first and second day. The change involving guests going up to be served with cold items whist the team delivered drinks and toast and then to a separate point to be served hot food had a dramatic effect, making breakfast a calmer and more pleasant experience for us , less frenetic for the team. It also helped them to turn the tables in around a third less time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Fox, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Dear MizWum, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and found the staff pleasant. Naturally, it is disappointing that other areas fell below expectations. Your comments will be reviewed by all of our team as we continually work to improve our guest experience. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Alice - Guest Experience Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrew c wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to have a spa experience and a luxuries night away in the country side.

I will start with the positive, the walk from the car park to the reception and check-in

After that things go down hill quickly.

Upon checking in we were informed that the restaurant was "very busy tonight" and can only reserve a table for 9pm. (Okay that is fine. We have the full day and spa to look forward too)

We went to our room (double deluxe) this was basically 2 single beds of different heights pushed together with a massive gap between them (see picture) There was a massive clump of the previous occupant hair on the floor and in the sink! (See picture) I could also complain about the horrendously worn out furniture in the room chewing gum stains on the carpet and the random hole in the wall.

Bit trying to stay positive we thought at least we can just go to the spa and relax and we will feel better when we get back. We got to the spa to be told it is "really busy" so there are no robes available. We walked into the spa, which is more like a leisure pool. I foolishly wonder why are all of the people looking annoyed and standing up? The mistery was solved quickly, Too many people not enough seats or bed! Couples were so angry that when a chair became available it was like watching kids fighting over seats playing musical chairs 🤣😂

After 20 mins of being in the pleasure pool with young children dive bombing us, people steadfastly refusing to leave their seats, or the jacuzzi (the funniest thing was watching 15 ppl squeezing into a 8 person sauna) we gave up left and came back to the subpar room.

As we were not booked for dinner until 9pm we dared to risk room service. Shockingly it did not disappoint! 40 minutes later we were presented with a cold pizza and a cold pitta bread and dips (not sure if it was ordered from a nearby takeaway? see picture).

Nevermind at least we have the meal at 9pm.

We arrived for our dinner just before 9pm, sadly I must report we were back in the very subpar room by 9:20pm. I have lost the will to write how poor the food was. Let us say it was the worse part of the day.

Unfortunately we both had a couple of glasses of wine so we could not leave and drive home immediately (which we both wanted to do). But did leave first thing in the morning.

It was terrible. This experience cost more than £200+

My advise is just don't go to slaley hall!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew F, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am sorry to read your stay fell below expectations and you did not enjoy the same experience as many of our guests do. During peak holidays we would always advise pre booking dinning times and can only apologise if you were not informed about this. Again during holidays our pool and spa area can become very busy with guests wanting to access the facilities. We do offer adult only times in the spa when we can create a more tranquil experience. Naturally during children's swim times families will want to access the facilities. Your feedback regarding the meals and room standards will be shared with the team to review and make changes where necessary. Once again allow me to apologise that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Andrew Fox General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bordersgeezer wrote a review Jan 2020
Hawick, United Kingdom2,969 contributions400 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit to Staley Hall and we weren’t disappointed. We stayed on a Thursday evening. No problems with parking which caters for numerous vehicles and is only a very short walk to reception. Drop off directly outside reception is also permitted and valet parking is also available. Check in was extremely quick and the porter assisted with our luggage to our room. We had room 356 which was extremely spacious. If slightly critical, the room was slightly tired. An old wardrobe, smallish tv considering the size of the room and limited mains electric sockets. However the room was extremely clean. The room also consisted of a large comfortable sofa with a mini fridge containing complimentary water. The en-suite was large but had an old hairdryer reminiscent of the 80s. The shower could cause the elderly an issue as it was contained within the bath which a bit slippy, with no ridges for anti slip platform or mat. Good quality towels were supplied as were robes for use at the spa. However no spa slippers were supplied which I was surprised at. Could do with a shaving mirror as the wash basin is huge, the vent didn’t work in the bathroom therefor the mirrors steamed up immediately making a shaving experience shall we say challenging. The massive King size bed was extremely comfortable.The spa was a good experience, very relaxing not overly busy and a sauna was also available. The changing rooms were modern and well equipped. Drinks could also be purchased. We were on a half board basis and our evening meal was very enjoyable. We both had steak and it was faultless. The peppercorn sauce one of the best that I’ve tasted. The young waiting staff very attentive and courteous. We used the bar which was good with the drinks as you would expect, slightly on the more expensive side. Didn’t try the cocktails but the bar staff appeared to be skilled in their making. All the furnishings throughout the hotel is tastefully furnished with lovely couches, sofas and chairs available in the different lounges. Breakfast was also a very good experience, busy nearer 10am which is the cut off point midweek but again the waiting staff coped very well and were helpful and courteous. A good selection of just about every type of food that most people require and if you’re gluten free, also plenty to choose from. Overall, a very nice stay, comfortable but room for improvement in the bedrooms
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew F, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and will share your feedback with the team. We are beginning a programme of refurbishments this year which will see many of our rooms including the old hall suites given a fresh new look. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back n the future to see the changes. Kind regards Andrew Fox General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sbn98 wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom50 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had been looking forward to a Christmas stay here for some time, we nearly stayed at Christmas 2018 but thankfully went somewhere much better!

We booked the two night stay from Christmas Eve until Boxing Day but was totally underwhelmed by the experience.

The evening meal on the 24th was reasonable but the restaurant was awful. No table clothes on the tables which showed the scratched and marked tables underneath. Minimal decorations give it a distant lack of Christmas spirit. This would have been ok in a local pub for lunch but dinner on Christmas Eve in a so called luxury hotel?!? Absolutely not ok.

Breakfast on Christmas Day was ok and in a different function room that looked nice with table clothes and chairs covered in white covers, a pleasant place for the buffet breakfast and I was hoping that the previous evening was an exception - I was horrified to be directed back to the awful main restaurant for Christmas lunch.

To make matters worse we walked past an open door and got a glimpse of a lovely room set out beautifully for someone’s lunch - clearly the £1600 we spent for three people was not enough!!

Again the food was good but the awful setting again spoiled it. No table clothes, no table decorations, scratched tables. Thankfully the three Christmas crackers we a minimal reminder that it was Christmas as we set in a depressing half empty restaurant with zero atmosphere.

By contrast, the Christmas night buffet was excellent and back in the half decent room that we had breakfast in early - this is the only reason why I upped my rating to two stars otherwise it would have been one!

Very very disappointed by what should have been a wonderful Christmas stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew F, General Manager at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read your Christmas stay was underwhelming and not the same level as many of our guests have enjoyed. Your comments will be shared with the team to review. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Regards Andrew Fox General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathyjon1965 asked a question Jan 2024
Newcastle178 contributions95 helpful votes
Do standard rooms have shampoo, conditioner and shower gel?
Answer from Syeg1
Derbyshire4 contributions
Yes
Answer from Arthur O
Gloucester, United Kingdom235 contributions63 helpful votes
Lodges have different facilities, so I suggest you ring Slaley Hall directly and ask them.
Wende asked a question May 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom26 contributions79 helpful votes
Can guest use pool the day of departure and if so upto what time ?
Answer from craiglbrydon
Cramlington, United Kingdom10 contributions12 helpful votes
As far as I'm aware you have to be out by 11am. I'm sure you can use the pool all day.
Brenda D asked a question Sept 2021
hexham7 contributions4 helpful votes
Phone number please so I can speak to someone not a machine
Brenda D asked a question Sept 2021
hexham7 contributions4 helpful votes
What is the phone number
Katherine C wrote a tip Today
Harrogate, United Kingdom13 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take sliders for pool"
Read full review
Mike L wrote a tip Yesterday
UK116 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool gets busy - keep an eye on your towel!"
Read full review
Billy H wrote a tip Yesterday
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"£1 for spa lockers."
Read full review
Callum wrote a tip 18 Apr
United Kingdom32 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed midweek so potentially quieter than a weekend, if you’re going in the ‘spa’ take sliders and a pound coin for the lockers."
Read full review
Terry J wrote a tip 17 Apr
57 contributions47 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would say total hit and miss so I would give it a miss not with the hassle"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Slaley area.
PRICE RANGE
£103 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de vere slaley hall hotel hexham, de vere slaley hall hexham, slaley hall, hall hotel slaley, hall slaley
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Slaley Hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandHexhamSlaley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
141
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SLALEY HALL, HOTEL SPA & GOLF RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Allout Adventures (0.1 miles), Derwent Reservoir (3.5 miles), and Blanchland Abbey (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rose & Crown, The White Monk Refectory & Tearoom, and The Manor House Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blanchland Abbey (3.6 miles).
Does Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Slaley HotelsSlaley Hotel DealsHotels near Slaley Hall, Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire