We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

986 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 978: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
 Click to rate
Blue Mountains, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed the night here for a weekend away. I am a Rydges member and basucally had a fine comfortable night. The only problem we hadno restaurant service on Sundays so had to go out. Ae we were not in the room much we did not have a thorough search or look around. On the morning of leaving we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gone2Dogs
South Brisbane
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room had light not working. Return air in corridor outside room very loud in middle of night. Been a Rydges member for many years. They refuse to give you the advertised discount of 20% on "all meals and drinks in the bar or restaurant " when you have the buffet breakfast. Had dinner in restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank O7808KDpeterm
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was part of a car club weekend group booking. This was such a disappointment. Worse hotel experience ever for me and I've travelled a lot. Breakfast tables not cleared, no one offered any service to a table or to show where anything was. Had to chase someone to order a coffee. Bar service dreadful no entertaining of anything not on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KayeFar
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear KayeFar, It was disappointing to read your feedback from your stay at the hotel last weekend. The breakfast buffet offered by the hotel is not an a la carte breakfast service, meaning that there is no table service as all the food is available as a serve yourself buffet including juices and coffee. Espresso coffees can be order at...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

When checking in reception was busy. Customer in front asked how the receptionist was and he complained about work. 1 receptionist on, hotel was full, 5pm check in. No welcome, no greeting, and walked off half way through serving me. When I left, reception staff provided no greeting and stared at the computer instead of acknowledging me. Rooms fine, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanne72
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Deanne72, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your stay with us. I am very sorry to read that you did not receive a warm welcome or a fond farewell from our reception staff. No matter how busy they are; there is no excuse for our guests not receiving great service. Your comments...

Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night as a Palace of Versailles package. Our tickets to the exhibition were ready on arrival and when we checked in later in the day we were upgraded to a suite, very comfortable. Fantastic bathroom. Our evening meal at the restaurant was very good and the breakfast plentiful. The package was very good value. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline2795
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Pauline2795, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Canberra and it was great to read your comments regarding the Treasures from the Palace of Versailles package. This exhibition and the package offered at the hotel has been extremely popular and we have received some great feedback from guests. We hope to welcome you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Probably great in its day but desperately needs a facelift. Chosen for its location as close to conference venue but it was very average. Room was a good size but outdated. Bathroom needed a good clean as mould in shower corners. Sliding door on balcony came off tracks..so once back on i chose not to use that again :) Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty F, Thank you for your feedback and it is a shame to read that you found the hotel dated. We are fortunate to have some of the largest accommodation rooms in Canberra and you will be pleased to know that we are in the final stages of our bathroom refurbishment but your comments will be passed onto our...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Our room was poorly lit and gloomy, even with the low kW bulbs on. The bathroom had been updated and was nice - except when you step out of the shower you virtually walk straight into the toilet (poor design). Bed was comfortable. On the Saturday night we arrived back at our room at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SalCo7
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took the Versailles package offered, on pre-booking, (on the net) asked for a ground floor near the front. I was given a top floor room almost as far from the front as possible, the hot afternoon sun 'cooked' the room, with the air con not putting much out in the way of cooling. Sorry Rydges, will be staying somewhere else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter7628
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear peter7628, I am sorry to read that you had a disappointing stay with us. We do our best to accommodate guest requests for certain rooms. On this occasion we were unable to accommodate your request and the room that you were allocated was not to your liking. It is a shame that you would not come and stay with...

Bermagui, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has been around for a while but is in good condition. Big rooms king sized beds chairs and lounge. Wifi. Happy hour at the bar lasts 2 hours. Restaurant serves good breakfast and dinner. Plenty of car parking. Convenient location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry I
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Terry I, Thank you for the 5 out 5 review from your recent stay at the hotel. I was great to read your comments regarding the rooms, bar & restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Kirsty Tomas Director of Sales & Marketing

Morisset, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the bathroom was in need of refreshing, the room was spacious. A three seater lounge, a tub chair and an office chair were comfortable features. All was clean and tidy. Plenty of hot water. Buffet breakfast was adequate and filling with gluten free bread available for coeliacs. Lower ground parking was available at a moderate cost. Joining the loyalty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive N
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Clive, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the local area of Forrest and that the staff were helpful and assisted you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time that you plan...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
2,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#25 of 58 in Canberra
454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: £76 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to Parliament house”
 of 5 bubbles Deanne72, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best at the ground floor at the front (road side) not at the top (3rd floor) in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles peter7628, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a higher level room but all rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles RedGallah, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A higher floor may be a little quieter!!”
 of 5 bubbles samlobianco, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Paraffle, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5