We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,310: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
 Click to rate
West Linn, Oregon, USA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

As others indicated in their reviews, it is close to Chinatown, darling harbor and transportation! Check-in was disappointing. First time I haven't been upgraded or given some perk for being a platinum elite rewards member, or even acknowledged as platinum! We did get free wi-if but so does anyone who is a rewards member along with late checkout. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldge
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear ldge, Thanks so much for sharing your genuine feedback with us. We sincerely apologise that you weren't acknowledge as a platinum elite member when you were checking in and we couldn't provide you with an upgrade. I will pass your message to our front office manager and have him consult the team. Thanks for your compliments on our breakfast,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked this after deciding at the last minute on a weekend in Sydney. The best thing about it is the fantastic location. Between darling harbour and Chinatown and you can walk / public transport everywhere. The hotel is about what you would expect from a chain like this but it was let down by a few basic things. (1)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cate K
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Cate K, Thanks so much for sharing your honest feedback with us. We are really sorry that we have made you wait for both breakfast and dinner for serving you. I will pass your comments to our Food and Beverage manager for him to review. Thanks for loving our location and having you feel the great convenience by staying...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent three nights here on our Distant Journeys Highlights of New Zealand and Australia tour. The hotel is in a convenient location just a few minutes’ walk from Darling Harbour, but unfortunately the land opposite the hotel is a building site at the moment. You must use the room key to access the lift. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Peter L, Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us here. We are pleased to hear you have truly enjoyed your time where you were in the Sydney city and had a great time. Much appreciate that you have provided so much information about our hotel in general as well as other aspects that relates to travel to...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a great location near Darling Harbour and Chinatown. Certainly within easy walking distance for all of Sydney CBD. The rooms are a reasonable size but definitely look very tired in terms of decor. Bathrooms small but functional. Shower over bath. Pressure in shower - one of my key requirements - was average at best. Service was adequate without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveler23
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear KiwiTraveler23, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that we couldnt be able to provide our up coming reno rooms with you this time. We are really sorry that we have made you feel the inconvenience of phoning our front office staff at night. Thanks for staying with Holiday Inn Darling Harbour and we hope to...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location for Darling Harbour, the hotel is getting a little tired , staff very friendly but the bar and restaurant was under staffed for a sold out tourist hotel, one guy on the bar , no one cleaning up glasses or tables he had to do it all . I saw a few people frustrated and leave so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank techman33
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear techman33, Thanks for sharing your honest feedback with us. We are really sorry that we didnt make your a much pleasant experience with us, especially with our restaurant. Thanks for pointing this out to bring this to our attention. Thanks for staying with Holiday Inn Darling Harbour and we hope to see you next time when you travel back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay at this hotel, it offers a good city base to go around the city in 30 minutes walk. Opera house, brid,darling harbour all nearby. Asha at reception was exceptional In hospitality. She arranged our stay to be honoured with platinum club membership. I would come here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahuva110
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Mahuva110, Welcome back!!! Much appreciate that you loved our hotel and its location! Thanks for complimenting Asha for her service and we will pass this to her. Its great that you have joined our membership program for so much more entitlements. We will be welcoming you again when you next time travel back to us. Kind Regards, Daniel Wang...

Chattaroy, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was large, nice, clean, and comfortable. It faced a large construction site, and might have been a problem except that it was a holiday weekend and no one was working. less than 5 minutes walking distance to local food, shopping and train. Very easy to get around. Darling Harbour is ten minutes away on foot. Lots to do there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safety247
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear safety247, Thanks so much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. A great thanks to you for feeling the convenient location of our hotel and the helpfulness of our staff. It's awesome that you had a great time in Sydney whilst you were with us and we hope to see you on your next travel back to us. Kind...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Building work outside the hotel and I would imagine going on for a long time. Lots of noise... bathrooms need renovation. A long walk to most attractions about 40 minutes to circular quay...no swimming pool?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandajane692015
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear amandajane692015, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are really sorry about the construction work going on in front of the hotel. We wish we can do something about it yet we have no control of it, which we hope our guests can understand. We are actually gonna do the reno very soon this year and we definitely...

Albion Park, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived a few hours earlier than scheduled check in time. We just wanted to see if we could drop our bag off and wander around Darling Harbour but we were told that there was a room ready for us if we wanted to freshen up before going out. That was a great surprise and we accepted. Breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krasbro
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Krasbro, Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us here. We are pleased to hear you have truly enjoyed your time where you were in the Sydney city and had a great time. Thanks for complimenting our service. We apologise that we couldn't be able to offer onsite parking to make our guests life much easier. As for...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Average hotel. Good size room, huge comfortable bed with choice of pillows but bathroom in need of refurbishments. Views over building site, not their fault I know but slightly off putting. Bar and dining room lack luster and needs some tlc and refurbishment. Food good Very convenient to light rail and China town but needs a face lift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee T
Daniel W, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Dee T, Thanks so much for sharing your genuine feedback with us. We are really sorry that we didn't make your stay completely satisfied and meet our service standard. We are actually going to do the refurbishment very soon and hopefully you would be able to enjoy our new fresh room when you next time travel back to us....

658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Family Executive Room (36)
Viewed
King Executive Room (40)
Viewed
Queen Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Suite (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 179 in Sydney
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the Southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: Darling Harbour 68 Harbour St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Price Range: £123 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darling Harbour staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darling Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for north-facing room”
 of 5 bubbles KiwiTraveler23, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotels on the road/reception side are overlooking a worksite currently”
 of 5 bubbles LeS339, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Excellent breakfast, try JB's next door too”
 of 5 bubbles staggite, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“cannot really help here”
 of 5 bubbles cliffdaniel, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The triple rooms, with three beds, are spacious and terrific.”
 of 5 bubbles Paigeturner2, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5