We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 304: English reviews
Start your review of Elephant Backpacker
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

For one, the building was very old and had probably not been renovated in years. The room was okay, except for one of our buck beds, which had no staircases so we had to climb onto it from behind. The common areas were very dirty; I had to wonder if they were any cleaning staff. It is not uncommon to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanne-Charlott... W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only good thing I can say about this place is that it has a good location. I checked out yesterday after staying there for 5 nights and could not wait to get away. We arrived late at night and the receptionist was rude to us straight away. Not once did he smile or make us feel welcome. He couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cookejoanne
Lille, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a double in Elephant Hostel for $70 a night a week before Christmas! This was a really a great spot located 5 minutes out of the town, so an easy walk to everything. After reading the poor reviews here, I was prepared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was actually a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garcellem
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that having no alcohol in the hostel makes it a much more pleasant place to be. Thank you for the feedback regarding the TV room, we are in the process of upgrading (which you noted)...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE Just to start, I'm not picky at all with hostels. I've been to bad ones and to this one... Our room was dirty, there as nails on the floor, dirt on the walls and even on the mirror (there was a sweaty dick on it?!?!). Room was hotter than a sauna, not even with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GDD1002
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I am also surprised as you came to reception on a regular basis and never mentioned that you were unhappy. If you felt your room did not meet your expectations we would have been happy to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My best friend and me decided to splurge and come to Sydney for NY. The fireworks were amazing and worth standing in the sun for 16 hours to get the best spot! Seriously this is what you have to do to get a great view and not pay a fortune. We booked at Elephant with some apprehension cause some of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindytso22
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Lindy. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you ever visit Sydney again we would love for you to stay with us again.

Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Certainly different than hostels in Asia! Its large and has lots of guests. Atmospher great - I met a lot of people in the dining room and their café. The dining area is really the only communal area as there is only a small tv room to sit. Hostel is very close to city centre and supermarket is 2 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guen-Hye
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 28 December 2016

I really liked this hotel. It's walking distance from the city train station and quite close to City. Facilities were generally quite clean. Wifi works on ground and first floor and consistent. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a no alcohol policy so it had a different vibe from party hostels but I appreciated it particularly as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meridith1111
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing your review Meredith. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you as a guest again in the future.

Chur, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stuff was very nice Kitchen and Bathrooms were ok Rooms are big and they coul'd be more clean....the mattrasses aren't comfortable, but for the price ok... I like that they have an elevator and that the hostel is wheelchair-accsessible. The bar downstairs is just not really a bar ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bily2
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Overall it seems you had a pleasant stay. The cafe & bar is a small area for our guests to socialise and has very cheap rates for alcohol and food.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I was rather nervous booking and staying in this hostel cause the recent reviews were terrible. BUT I was surprisedas it was in a good location, my 4 bed dorm was clean and cleaned daily. The linen on my bed was fresh and I could change it as often as I wanted. The kitchen got very busy at night and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lunchgirlparty
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your feedback on board and always aim to make the hostel better for our guests. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Reviewed 8 December 2016

I stayed in a 4-bed room for 5-6 nights. Hotel is VERY old and smelly. Internet works in very specifc places (at least they have free wifi). At my arrival, the receptionist was clueless about some procedures (she didn't know I had to pay the shuttle from the airport, for example). Bathrooms were a nightmare. At one point, I turned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Makoto Y

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
388 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#23 of 133 in Sydney
275 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 133 in Sydney
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
790 on George
#47 of 133 in Sydney
194 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: £15 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book here at all.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Anything outside this hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5