We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sydney Central Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sydney Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Friendly place. Very clean. Kitchen small but there is a large rooftop where you can cook barbecue and have beers. I loved my 3 days here. It was hot but there was a heatwave. Very close to everything and so much cheaper than most other hostels. I stayed in 6 bed dorm it was bigger and better than 4 bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joboflin
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Could not sleep a single night. First night people having sex in the room next to me. Second night people in the night coming back with a lot of noise, screaming and all. Like this the nights went on... The toilet was filthy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If your plan is to meet people and chill everyday, i think this is a hostel for you. It has it bad things like rooms are too warm and the internet is hardly working, but on the other hand you have an amazing rooftop with the cityscape of Sydney, and the Opera. and everybody is there chilling so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is simply average and very jaded. It's been around too long with no upgrades and just wasting away. Pretty rundown with an unenthusiastic atmosphere. $30 key deposit (what?!) that you lose if you check out late, and a 2% charge on credit cards (what!?). Had a mixed experience with the staff. The girl who checked me in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taace1i1a
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Really bad hostel! Dont recommend it.. disgusting, customer service is really bad, would rather sleep on the street. Staff don't speak english which makes things pretty hard, rooms stink! STINK!! Really bad No cutlery in the kitchen so bring your own fork..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

The guest was escorted from the hostel by Kings Cross Police after he assaulted a female member of staff. The guest was not refunded monies paid notwithstanding him extending his stay at the hostel the night before his removal. We do not allow guests to engage in antisocial behaviour. This guest was placed on the banned list and as such...

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

The hostel located in a great place. Me and my friend was in a private room without shower and toilet. The room was clean and ok. The stuff really nice and helpful. The internet is really bad, even when you sit in the mutual area its bad, so if you need a place with internet i wouldn't recommend it. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterpen173
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I stayed two times at Sydney Central Backpackers for a total of 6 months, and after having travelling all around Australia and being in many hostels, I can tell that it is one of the best have been to! The staff and the owner (Mike) is very friendly and welcoming, they will always do their best to help you, doesn’t...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stéphanie M
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Stephanie It was great to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Australia!

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Couldn't ask for much more in a hostel - the rooftop is amazing, great views and always something going on. Mike is very welcoming and rooms are always clean and the kitchen is always clean. It's a 3 min walk to the train station, location is perfect. Great stAy'

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max H
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

While the front desk was very nice (all foreigners that are on a working holiday visa), I could not stand this hostel. It was filthy (the kitchen smelled awful) and so loud because it attracts irresponsible backpackers/working holiday kids that do not clean up after themselves in the kitchen at all (I seriously felt so bad for the workers there)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hostelexperience2929
Michael S, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We maintain a strict policy in relation to aggressive anti social behaviour. We refused to allow the guest to stay longer as some of our female guests complained about this guest's attitude to them. Our reception and cleaning staff work very hard to ensure the safety and comfort for the guests. Cleanliness is very important to us and we try...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I chose to stay here because the prices were more reasonable than anywhere else I could find. After having stayed I would definitely stay again and 100% recommend this hostel. The staff and other guests were incredibly friendly and helpful. The roof top area and kitchen facilities were clean but social. Sam & Michael (managers) do an amazing job at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalieowen18
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Natalie. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
245 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#42 of 133 in Sydney
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summer House Backpackers
#34 of 133 in Sydney
80 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 133 in Sydney
221 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#36 of 133 in Sydney
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney Central Backpackers has new owners as from this week. We are determined to provide the best value accommodation in the Kings Cross area. Our goal is to make sure your stay with us is one that you will be happy to recommend to friends you make while travelling this big beautiful Australia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sydney Central Backpackers

Address: 16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: £20 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sydney Central Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sydney Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sydney Central Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the front and in the rear are better because the windows head to the street and you have some good fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles francQ3424WQ, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great free wifi on 1st floor, in the smaller dorms opt for $2 blanket as it gets cold.”
 of 5 bubbles ryanf417, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Best views from the roof over Sydney opera house”
 of 5 bubbles NCCodrington, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just walk around King Cross there maaaaany”
 of 5 bubbles leonardob954, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are smaller, but not too small, and all were immaculate. I stayed in two.”
 of 5 bubbles tristonn, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay