We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Coronation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Coronation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
los angeles
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for the week of New Year's so it was marked up by a lot but even on a regular week I wouldn't pay more than $100 AUD a night for this place. The only redeeming quality was the location which was a 15 min walk to the harbor. The rooms are much more like a motel from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oneinfivebill
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation an affordable Hotel located in the heart of Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the is hotel for six nights in early January 2017 as a tourist. My second visit. Rates were very reasonable, location is terrific but accommodation is fairly basic. It is essentially an old style hotel with rooms to let upstairs. The room I had was renovated with an on-suite and air conditioner, small but adequate and a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DougNewcastle2300
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation an affordable Hotel located in the heart of Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good value. Room clean and safe. Small but enough for two... Quaint pub feel. A little noisy but thats city living...absolutely fantastic location. .... will not hesitate to stay again...great staff at reception. ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d q
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please visit us again when your next in Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked it. Location is perfect. It is right next to a metro station. There is a supermarket next door. A pub and restaurant downstairs. The attendent is good. I just love it there. It is not that pricy. The elevator is old and small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen19922228
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please visit us again when your next in Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Brisbane
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was the cheapest in Sydney at the time and my mother always stays here. The staff are friendly and always say hello. The rooms, although old and in need of a good renovation, are quiet. The bathroom is clean with good shower pressure. The bed isnt really that comfortable but does the job....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dustin W
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please visit us again when next in Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation.

Batemans Bay
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The location is ideal, right at Town Hall Food is abundant, well priced and delicious Rooms are small, however, for such a central location, quiet and convenient Highly recommended... and the James Squires on Tap is a distinct bonus !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bargainboxBBay
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Our room was very small. One chair which was broken. bed very uncomfortable. Bed pushed right up against the wall. Long life milk was out of date. Replaced and out of date again. Finished up with fresh milk. Manager and bar staff were great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqui5253
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Housekeeping have been informed. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Hello, I would like to make a complaint about two of your security guards from this morning at the door who refused me entry due to intoxication between 4 - 5am. I was wearing a white t shirt and black pants if you would like to review the footage. My first complaint is not due to the fact I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johnny S
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Your report has been passed onto management. Kindly, Hotyel Coronation

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night either side of our cruise out of circular. The hotel is very conveniently located on park street just next to woolworths at town hall so easy to travel anywhere in Sydney cbd. Rooms itself where well kept and basic and had private bathrooms. Travis on reception was fantastic! Will stay here each time I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph_H_106
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you when next in Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

Great Lakes Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Excellent location in the centre of Sydney. Old Hotel, vibrant bar on ground level, level 1 has a bar/boutique type atmosphere, where you can order some yummy snacks at reasonable prices. Bathrooms have been renovated, beds comfortable, but pillows a little too firm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please vist us when next in Sydney. Kindly, Hotel Coronation

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#118 of 178 in Sydney
1,796 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#116 of 178 in Sydney
119 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 178 in Sydney
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 178 in Sydney
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room

Additional Information about Hotel Coronation

Address: 5 -7 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coronation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Coronation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Coronation staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Coronation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very few rooms all on floor 2 and above. Top floor 2 rooms have balconies Background noise 24 hours.”
 of 5 bubbles DougNewcastle2300, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear, as the rooms on Park Street suffer from traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles dianed164, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel, that's the only way”
 of 5 bubbles Vicki146, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor was excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles 755lisat, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“One of the the Suites gives you more room.”
 of 5 bubbles Zoekiama, 5 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay