We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (2)
Overview
Station House 790 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Internet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
32
63
56
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
63
56
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationbig lockersfridge spacebed female dormcommon roomlaundry facilitiesstayed here for a weekdouble roomdarling harbourcleaning staffdecent sizeopera househostelplugcbd
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Besides the great location it was very inexpensive, clean with very friendly staff. It was a last minute booking our plans had changed. My only complaint would be the noise and nothing they could do about that with the 24 hour street construction going on....More

Thank Bill S
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Great people great staff great environment I would recommend this place near china town near the heart of the cbd lots of good facilities a great affordable place to go so if u are visiting check it out

Thank nickfounder
Response from Prasanna790, Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 4 August 2018

Hey Nick! Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we really value our guests opinions and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again The Team @790

Reviewed 18 July 2018

The hostel is a decent place to stay for a few nights whilst exploring Sydney, we had a private room but the door didn't actually lock. There were lockers in the room though at least. The lockers in the kitchen are a really good idea...More

Thank 13Nic13
Response from Prasanna790, Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 4 August 2018

Hey! We really appreciate your review, so thank you for taking the time to write one. We're sorry about your door not locking properly, it was probably due to the locking mechanism needing new batteries, if we had known of it prior to you moving...More

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

A quiet hostel which is good for a couple nights stay but I think mainly workers lived there so it wasn’t super lively. Rooms and bathrooms were ok but there weren’t many plug sockets in the rooms and it wasn’t super clean. The kitchen downstairs...More

Thank Aimee T
Response from Prasanna790, Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 4 August 2018

Hey Aimee, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to write to us. We don't consider ourselves a party hostel for the reason you mentioned, but we do promote nights out from around the area, especially ones that are aimed...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018

Really not the best hostel considering it really isn't cheap compared to many other hostels where you get a lot more for roughly the same price. Only one lift which is obviously an issue when its a 7 floor building. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. I...More

Thank Lily T
Response from Prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 17 June 2018

Hello Lily! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review despite the hostel not reaching your standards. We appreciate all the feed back we receive as it helps us to continuously improve upon our standards! As you were unhappy with the room and amenities...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel class
Number of rooms
70
Price range
US$21 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
790 On George Hotel Sydney
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel class
Number of rooms
70
Price range
US$21 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
790 On George Hotel Sydney
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Photos
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 188 hotels in Sydney
The Great Southern Hotel
1,079 reviews
.05 miles away
Valentine On George
180 reviews
.07 miles away
Space Q Capsule Hotel
21 reviews
.08 miles away
The Ultimo
623 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6,740 restaurants in Sydney
Petaling Street
156 reviews
.06 miles away
Great Southern Hotel
102 reviews
.04 miles away
'In Cafe' Restaurant
81 reviews
.05 miles away
Colombia Organik
26 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,758 attractions in Sydney
Capitol Theatre
592 reviews
.14 miles away
Market City Shopping Centre
138 reviews
.12 miles away
Paddy's Market
1,238 reviews
.14 miles away
Chinatown
842 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sandrine-mathide
9 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Prasanna790 | Property representative |
Hi there, I can confirm the Wi-Fi does work in our kitchen/common area and is free for one hour each day. If you would like access to Wi-Fi in your room or anywhere else in the building it can be purchased from reception... More
0
Votes
123marns
6 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Prasanna790 | Property representative |
Hi there, We do supply towels the cost is $6.00 and $3.00 is returned when the towel is returned. Linen is provided at no additional cost. Kind regards, James
0
Votes
Matz T
28 July 2014|
Answer
Response from 790Management | Property representative |
$14!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try and get a room on a lower level to avoid waiting for the one elevator."
Read review
"Rooms 108, 208, 308 and so on have a great corner view up George St"
Read review
"anything above 07 e.g., 409 or 710"
Read review
"Rooms finishing in 8 are the most spacious, there are the corners ones. You will get a discount for future..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing