YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD

Kent House 88 Liverpool St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (288)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#128 of 193 hotels in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Central Location Sydney Hotel CBD 88 Liverpool Street is central to all Sydney's night life and amenities. It is at the doorsteps of Town hall train station, Event Cinema, World Square Shopping Centre, Chinatown, Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall and less than 10 minutes by public transports from Opera House, The Rocks, Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Coffee shop
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Complimentary tea
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

Kent House 88 Liverpool St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Sydney Airport
Town Hall
4 minSydney Trains
Museum
5 minSydney Trains
403Reviews23Q+A64Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 150
  • 101
  • 35
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mema F wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia12 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed for 4 nights here, the location is in the midst of the night club part of the city so it is very busy at night but you won't hear the noise from the rooms. the entrance is very small and cluttered, does need some kind of interior design to prepare for the incoming traffic of people checking in etc. the rooms are small but clean. The biggest issue staying anywhere in the city was parking, I recommend you don't hire a car and use uber or taxi or just walk to your destinations you probably pay less than paying for parking. Parking is very expensive. the hotel does not have their own parking they have 24hrs for $35 but with the condition that once you park you stay parked for 24hrs, if you drive out before 24hrs you are charged $16 per hour etc. so be prepared with car hire etc.
overall i have no complaints it gave a place to stay for the time we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sydney_Hotel_Group, Manager at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Mema: Thanks for staying with Sydney Hotel CBD, and review us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you liked our hotel location and find our room comfortable. Yes, you are right parking in the Sydney City is so expensive. We would not recommend anyone driving to the city unnecessary. There are so many public transportation available near hotel. You can pretty much go to everywhere using public transport. Our team looking forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Sydney Hotel CBD Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RMelbs wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne, Australia409 contributions117 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at YEHS for 1 night as we were seeing Moulin Rouge, the hotel is only a 5 min walk away from the theatre. Easy access to Circular Quay, Airport and anywhere else you need to travel by public transport to. The staff at this hotel were fantastic, the friendliest and most hopeful out of any of the 4 properties we stayed at whilst whilst in Sydney. They even gave a discount if paying by cash and threw in a light breakfast.
We had 3 of us travelling and it was great to be able to have 2 seperate bedrooms essentially within the one room, rather than having 2 beds side by side. Beds were comfortable and shower was great. My only feedback would be don't bother upgrading to city views, it is literally just buildings outside with windows that are very dirty and don't open. Also, the fan in the bathroom needed a really good clean too as was covered in dust. Overall, a great stay in the heart of Sydney with amazing staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD, Guest Services / Front Office at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Thank you for staying with us. The detail of your feedback is very valuable to us. We will continue to improve and serve you with a heart. Kind regards, Alejandro (Hotel Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarmelNewcastle_Aus wrote a review May 2021
Newcastle151 contributions82 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a Queen Standard Room for 2 nights for a short break in Sydney with my husband. The photos on the website looked good and the prices were good value for Sydney. It was very close to the light rail and other forms of public transport and just a couple of minutes walk to the World Square shopping centre and pubs and cafes.

The room we were given was a family room with a queen size bed plus a single bed in a room at the end. We thought we had been given an upgrade. This room came in very handy as it had a table which gave us somewhere to put our suitcase. The main room was so tiny that one of us had to sit on the bed to allow the other to move around. Another problem was the main bed was against the wall, therefore no bedside table for a lamp or somewhere to put watch, glasses etc. The only way for me to get out of bed was to slide to the end or climb over the person next to me. Also there was no window in the room which made it very dark and always difficult to tell what the outside world was like.

The bathroom taps were a bit wobbly when trying to get the right water pressure. It was either very slow or full strength but the hot water came through quickly which was good. Also a couple of the white towels looked like they should have been in the rag bag.

The positives - the staff were very welcoming and always friendly. The room was clean and there was a decent size flat screen TV on the wall that could be watched while laying back in the comfortable bed. The room was quiet.

I would possibly book here again due to the facilities nearby but only for 1 night as less luggage to have to put somewhere. I would definitely want to see the room as this one needed a bit of TLC and a window for some natural light.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD, Guest Services / Front Office at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Responded 24 May 2021
Hi Carmel Thank you very much for staying with us. We are looking forward to your next return. I will follow up personally on the areas of concern you had encountered. And yes after this COVID time we are looking forward to doing areas of improvement to our Hotel. Kind Regards Jandro (Hotel Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2tu2 wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater Newcastle, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a twin room,the room were small but with the price I paid I guess it was a bargain stayed on the 8th floor you can hear everyone walk pass your room. Shower was big but smelt mouldy. Carpet needed a good clean. Bed were comfortable. Location was great close to everything
I parked my car in there cooperate carpark (I stayed for 3 nights) I asked for a receipt /tax invioce on my 2nd day (since they were taking 35 dollars cash only.) The reception guy said yes he can do one I even used the teach back technique to clarify what I have said to him. I said ok well I'll just pick it up when I check out. Upon checkout I asked again the lady at reception stated they do not give the receipts /invoice you have to get it from the car park booth itself. Which I found odd since they were the collecting the money. I explained the conversation I had with the reception guy, her body language and tone of voice did not want a bar of it... rude, with no invoice and no apologies I just left. I wouldn't go back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sydney_Hotel_Group, Manager at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Guests, Thanks for taking your time to write us a review and appreciate your business. Terribly sorry about the invoice issue regards to the car park. Staffs seems to have misunderstanding regards to issuing the car parking invoice. Do you mind emailing me your booking and car parking details to admin@sydneyhotelcbd.com ? We will look into the room condition and make sure you receive an invoice for your car parking. Once again sorry for the inconvenience. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Best Regards Sydney Hotel CBD Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason H wrote a review Nov 2020
Singapore4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located right in the middle of the city, on Liverpool Street, very close to all the major eateries in Chinatown and the Town Hall area. Rooms not large but adequate for two and are well equipped for the price you pay. The room also has two pairs of slippers, hair dryer, kettle and tea and coffee and mini bar fridge and TV which is comparable to far more expensive hotel rooms. There is also a sign at check in where if you have forgotten things like your tooth brush etc, the lobby can provide you with a set. Personally, I found that the manager and staff are very friendly and nice. On my last night my key card stopped working all of a sudden. So I called the after hours contact and the night manager came in to fix my issue for me and he was very nice and apologetic for the technical error. The staff there are also very good at recommending places to eat nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
epezone3 wrote a review Mar 2023
Rome, Italy55 contributions21 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights during the Mardi Gras celebrations and I have to admit that although the location of this hotel is not bad and the staff are very helpful, there are a few things that are very lacking.
First and foremost, the cleaning service is very poor, dare I say deplorable in some respects.
Just by way of example, I will recount a couple of episodes that well describe the shortcomings of this service: as soon as I arrived in my room at check in, I realised that, in addition to inches of dust, there were objects on the floor under the bed (an electronic cigarette that was not mine and some socks), nothing shocking but a sign that there had not been much cleaning beforehand. In addition to this, after a few days, I realised that they did not change the sheets either daily or every 2/3 days, because on the 4th day I personally removed the sheets and placed them on the wet bathroom floor along with the towels in order to communicate the need for them to be changed. The cleaning service had the audacity to take the same sheets from the dirty and wet floor and put them back on the bed damp and stained.

After a few complaints, the staff came to finally change my sheets but did not recognise any strangeness in that act of putting the soiled sheets back on the bed.

Apart from this, there are other things that are definitely worth knowing: the breakfast they offer is not a real breakfast, it is just a coffee or a single brioche that you can ask for at the bar. The rooms are very old and run-down, as well as small and cramped.

On the other hand, the staff is very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do not ask for breakfast there
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AliciaM wrote a review Aug 2023
Providence, Rhode Island5 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would never stay at this hotel again. The staff were unhelpful when asked even basic questions, like the cheapest way to get to the airport. We were harassed about paying in cash, and even woken up reminding us to pay in cash. When I mentioned that we were woken up by the front desk, they did not care and were rude about it. The rooms were not well cleaned. We stayed for a week and our sheets were never changed and our beds were never made. They room was also not vacuumed. The only thing they did when cleaning the rooms was emptying the trash and changing the towels if they were on the floor. It was a clean room to begin with. It was also quiet, which is why I chose two stars instead of one. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would never stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mtngoat2013 wrote a review Feb 2020
NW Arkansas52 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
GREAT location!!! Right in the center of everything downtown Sydney with easy walking distance to many sites. Room is small, but if you are spending most of the time out and about, and only need a clean, decent bed and shower to use, then this just might be the place for you. WHY pay over $100-250 to have a bed to sleep in when this bed will cost well under $100!!! We will use the place again if we ever get the chance to re-visit Sydney!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sydney_Hotel_Group, Manager at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Guest: Thanks for staying with Sydney Hotel CBD and review us on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate your time. We are glad that you liked our hotel location and found our room comfy with great shower. It is our goal to provide decent comfy hotel rooms with great price. We looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Sydney Hotel CBD Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris Knight wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sydney Hotel CBD cannot be beat for location or price, it is central and close to all transport. The hotel is professionally managed by Jandro who is the General Manager, he is professional, understanding and has outstanding people skills. Jandro is backed up by his staff Serena and Ajay who excel at welcoming and making customers feel like they never left home. I will definetly be back next year and i am looking forward too it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gillian D wrote a review Sept 2022
Ravenshoe, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent 4 nights at YEHS Sydney CBD, whilst the rooms were compact ( which we were aware of before arriving) they were very clean and the beds were amazingly comfortable. The room size wasn't an issue as we were only sleeping and showering there so didn't need excessive space. The Hotel is really well located with all types of food just around the corner from Korean to Thai , Chinese, Japanese and European. World square shopping Centre is just there as well. A short walk gets you to either Chinatown or Town Hall light rail and even QVB, from there it is possible to easily access any part of Sydney. I cannot speak highly enough of the Manager and Staff at the Hotel they were all wonderfully friendly and helpful and greeted us with a smile and hello each morning. They could certainly teach other much larger hotel chains how Customer Service should be done. I would definitely not hesitate to stay again when in Sydney nor hesitate to highly recommend to friends
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD, Guest Services / Front Office at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Hi 546gilliand, It's a pleasure meeting you and thank you for the wonderful review. We will continue to serve you with a heart. Kind Regards Alejandro (Hotel Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
£61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyChinatown / Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YEHS HOTEL - SYDNEY CBD - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Which popular attractions are close to YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
Nearby attractions include Mission Escape George St (0.2 miles), Local Sauce Tours (0.1 miles), and Mission Escape Pitt St (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, facilities for disabled guests, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tetsuya's, Basket Brothers, and Home Thai Restaurant.
Is YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Sydney.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (0.4 miles), Anzac Memorial (0.3 miles), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.6 miles).
Is YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sydney HotelsSydney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SydneyHotels near YEHS Hotel - Sydney CBD
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire