We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ross River Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Ross River Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 130: English reviews
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here for three nights to be closer to some of the local attractions. The staff who manage the place are friendly and have great tips about local attractions, and the campground is peaceful and well tended. Great value and blissfully quiet.

Thank HarlequinsMask
Lee D, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our campground - we like it as well! More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We visited Ross River after Trephina Gorge, as it is a short distance & it was lunchtime. Ross River is a working NT station, but in the old original homestead, which have the thickest walls, & historical information, is a country pub providing basic but fresh meal choices till 2pm & in the evenings. You can sit outside to eat... More 

Thank ChristineB55Geelong
Lee D, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your quick visit. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed at Ross River for 3 nights in early September using it as a base to explore the East Macdonnells - Trephina Gorge, Ndala Gorge and Arltunga historic gold mining town. The location is great for this purpose and the 'resort'/homestead setting is very pleasant, nestled against a hill, with lots of shady trees. There are also a few... More 

Thank BonniesGirl
Lee D, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't feel as though you had value for money. Could have fixed the light and the water if I had known at the time. A lot of people enjoy getting away from the TV and other technology. We are slowly upgrading our bathrooms - many now have vanity units - I'll note shelving as we do the others. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Great grassed camping area. Lots of trees and shade plus good fire pits. Day trips to N'dala Gorge and Arltunga and the gorges out in the East MacDonnells are worth a look. Easy 4wd stuff and not as crowded as the West side with Uluru, Kings Canyon et al. Ablutions are old but ok. Shower heads need attention. Night meal... More 

Thank brack0s
Lee D, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the East Mac's. All our shower heads are done now, we do 'de-calcify'' them on a regular basis, but our water gets the better of us sometimes. Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. More 

Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Took my wife to this place recently and it was pretty good. A quick , friendly check in and we were off to our quaint little cabin. The cabin contains a double and single bed, large wardrobe, mid sized fridge, a small table and couple of chairs and a reasonable sized shower/toilet area. The shower was piping hot. The cottage... More 

Thank jim d
Linda Z, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and review us and your kind words. We think it is a pretty special part of the world and happy to share it with you! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This place is a practical place to stay. If you want to explore the East McDonnell ranges without having to return to Alice then this is perfect. The use of the word resort is, however, not a true representation. The website says the options for accomadation include "or a bit of outback luxury with an Ensuite rustic cabin..........". Rustic is... More 

Thank Crommo080
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Ross River. The term homestead in the trading name would be more appropriate I would agree, as the resort badge is used rather loosely in these parts. Our find our ensuite cabins are outback luxury to those who have been camping or roughing it or just in search of... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We were there for an event with over 700 attendees, but I had my 3 young girls with me too. It has some magic this place, in beautiful surrounds and only a short ride out of Alice. The cabins are rustic but we were very comfortable! We all slept so well! Very clean. If we go through Alice again I... More 

Thank rachel s
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and it is great to hear that you really enjoyed your time at Ross River. We try very hard to make this a unique experience. It is really important to get kids (and ourselves!!) back to nature and away from all the modern day life that is thrown at us. I hope we can welcome... More 

Naracoorte, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Magnificent scenic road out to station but the man at desk was absolutely sick of tourists. I wasn't sure if he was just joking or plain rude, it appeared to be the latter i am afraid. Just stick to magnificent gorges on the way and remember to read signs.

Thank gofid
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and letting us know your experience. As the manager I was not on the property during this time that you mention, and the person concerned has been addressed. I am very sorry for the experience you received. The East Mac Donnell ranges are a magnificent location and not on the... More 

Glenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We had the good fortune to spend a couple of days camping at Ross River Resort. A beautiful place with all the amenities you need for camping. There are many beautiful walks in remote valleys to explore with a definite sense of the outback!

Thank David B
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about our beautiful location. We think our campground is pretty special and gives you an opportunity to soak up the magnificent East Mac Ranges and explore. Some grass, basic amenities and an amazing backdrop! I think that is what it is all about :) More 

Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were at Ross River for an event but when we arrived there were only a few people there. It is a lovely spot. Over the weekend, the numbers rose to 700+ people but you could still get a hot shower and have room to move. The staff worked closely hard to keep everything clean and functioning and we had... More 

Thank yeti5
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

The World Rogaining Titles were an amazing event to host at Ross River Resort and we had people from all over the world converging on us for a few days and then trekking off into the outback for a full on 24 hour event! Glad you had such a great time and it was a pleasure to be of service... More 

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (67)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Room/Suite (3)
View from Room (5)
Dining (3)
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
45.5 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
888 reviews
45.4 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
364 reviews
45.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
828 reviews
45.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
360 reviews
44.4 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ross River Homestead is situated 85km east of Alice Springs and is set amongst the awe-inspiring East MacDonnell Ranges. Take the time to discover what is a magical part of the great Australian Outback and enjoy friendly,homely hospitality. Ross River Resort offers: -Rustic cabins with ensuite and air conditioning -Bunkhouse accommodation (seasonal) -Camp ground and caravan park with powered and unpowered sites (bookings not taken except for groups) -Swimming pool and spa -EFTPOS facilities -Dining room in historical homestead -Conference facilities and group catering -Stockman's bar -Bird life -Bushwalking -A haven for artists and writers -Fuel, ice and gas bottle refills -1.4 Km airstrip and helipads - Aviation clubs welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross River Resort

Address: Ross Hwy, Via Alice Springs | P.O. Box 3271, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ross River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ross River Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ross River Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Review was for the resteraunt area.”
 of 5 bubbles jaybee754, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cabins probably vary significantly - ask Qs when booking. Keep away from pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles 281frap, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“some are pool side, good for families others quite and away from pool.”
 of 5 bubbles JennyS511, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Bring your own wood and water, and check the hot water system is working!”
 of 5 bubbles X8847KRalext, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All cabins are unique another visit to Ross Ri”
 of 5 bubbles LynG797, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay