We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kings Canyon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed here for my partners birthday, booked 2 budget lodge rooms. checked in and went to the room, opening the door we saw layers of dust on all the windowsills and corners of the room, also dead flies and other sorts of bugs lurking around. went to the other room and no difference at all also extremely dirty. went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gamsadventures
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A long drive before you actually get there... but it's a very nice hotel. We had a Deluxe Room, with a nice bubble bath and outside view. We enjoyed the sunset on the viewing platform and had a lovely dinner in Carmichael's restaurant. They also have a nice pool area and laundry facilities. So yes... totally recommendable!

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellers1980
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear WorldTravellers1980 so glad to read you enjoyed your stay in a Deluxe Spa room with its amazing views from the spa bath to the rock escarpment surrounding our resort. Our Sunset viewing platform is very popular with all guests to enjoy the Watarrka National Park setting while watching the setting sun's array of colours on the George Gill Ranges... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The accommodation is very simple, the problem is that our room was dirty, with bugs on the bed and during night over us; spiders on the roof. Unrecommended! Sconsigliato: insetti ovunque, camere sporche.

Helpful?
Thank Dottorski
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dottorski I do apologise you were unhappy with your stay at Kings Canyon Resort . I am unsure if you advised our 24 hour Reception of any issues you had whilst you were here, although I can not find any record of such . Such a shame , we would have been more than happy to rectify any problems.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Kings Canyon hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
170 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Kings Canyon Resort in one of the deluxe rooms. Upon opening our door to our room, we were met with a strong sewer smell. As explained to us, when a room is not used, the water in the toilet tends to dry out which allows the smell to escape into the room. Good explanation but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank activeboomertravel
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear activeboomertravel Thank you for your comments about your stay in a Deluxe Spa room. Our strong smelling sulphuric water is a constant reminder of the dry desert country we live in - both the resort and surrounding communities exist on this artesian water throughout the year. We note to all of our guests on our Reception arrival information and... More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is the only one nearby the canyon so there is not much choice! The staff were awesome considering the problems with the rooms! Luckily we were off season. Firstly they have a real problem with sewage smells, then there was a problem with sheets not being changed, when we pulled back the covers it was clear on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars R
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Shootingstars R , Nice to hear our staff are awesome!! I am glad we were able to resolve your issues on arrival and unfortunately we cannot change our artesian water supply which does emit a strong sulphuric smell at times. (not sewerage) I have passed on your comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams and we appreciate the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A perfect location ! What a stunning view at sunset. We appreciated our dinner at the Outdoor BBQ and Grill. The choice was limited but we truly enjoyed the atmosphere. Rooms are clean but a bit dated. We could hear dingos at night time so it was fun.

Helpful?
Thank givilomitour
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear givilomitour Thank you for reviewing your April stay with us . Glad to hear you enjoyed the great food and atmosphere at the Outback BBQ & Grill, and the dingoes were in season when you visited . The spectacular views and walks of Watarrka National Park are certainly well worth the visit to this amazing region of Central Australia.... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled in two family groups and enjoyed our stay in the Budget Lodge. The atmosphere was relaxed and provided a well earned rest at the end of each day of hiking and exploring. We appreciated the air conditioning (even though it was a bit loud at night). We enjoyed seeing local wildlife on the promises and in the Canyon!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W thank you , glad to hear both families enjoyed your stay in our Budget Quad rooms, which provide an ideal basic style room from which to explore Watarrka National Park . With each room sleeping up to 5 people , for only $139 per room they are an ideal way to save money whilst travelling in this... More 

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel staff very friendly. Rooms a little dated and motel like but were clean. Small but pleasant pool near the rooms. Another near the campground. The bar food was limited and the pizzas pretty tasteless. Beer was cold.

Helpful?
Thank Col07
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Col07 Thank you for your review of your recent stay in a hotel standard room at Kings Canyon Resort. Glad to hear you enjoyed our 2 pools, which provide a welcome oasis for our guests from 7am - 7pm. The Thirsty Dingo Bar offers a range of gourmet pizzas only from 11am till late, along with cold tap beer... More 

Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't book this hotel ourselves, it was part of our tour and it didn't disappoint! We had a Deluxe Spa room which was lovely, but sadly we didn't have enough time to pamper ourselves, as we were only staying for One night and arrived late. The restaurant was lovely serving delicious food, so all in all a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank 44bas
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thanks 44bas.. Carmichael's Restaurant offers a full buffet breakfast and delicious a la carte dinner options . it is lovely to read you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your Central Australian tour. Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager Kings Canyon Resort More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed out trip to Kings Canyon and staying at the resort. A great place to visit. The whole place is well laid out with a great sense of space to suit to wide open spaces. The Rim Walk around the Canyon is a great experience and a must do! You can cool off in the pool after the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Tim B glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the spacious layout of the resort is designed for those wanting to enjoy the relaxing beauty of the natural bushland setting within Watarrka National Park. Our pools are always a welcome refreshing oasis after the challenging walk of the Kings Canyon walks . Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms... More 

521 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (215)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Near Kings Canyon Resort

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Price Range: £71 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go in the quiet season to be able to change rooms if necessary!”
 of 5 bubbles samb101, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ends of the Lodge are quieter as they are further away from the common kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best value is in family rooms on campground.”
 of 5 bubbles Wenno1975, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not miss the Desert dinning experience!”
 of 5 bubbles 23DavidL, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay