We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Darwin's Barra Base

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Darwin\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

While in Darwin I had the pleasure of fishing for Barramundi in the rivers off Dundee and the Mary River at Corroboree. The guide Allan Beale gave me unforgettable days out and for someone that had never really gone fishing before it was a crash course in how to hunt for Barramundi. I managed to catch a couple and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We booked the ground floor "Lodge room" but on arrival were shown upstairs by the owners daughters a dark, cramped room overlooking a very tired pool. "This room has been designed and built on the ground floor in order to accommodate the more physically challenged persons to assist in their mobility needs, access and egress." Owners nowhere to be seen....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Potential Clients This Is A Must Read Manager/Owner's Response You booked the Lodge room; however this was already booked before it was changed on AirBnB Website by my receptionist. I apologize for that; however she did upgrade into another larger better room. The Lodge room was booked by an elderly couple that actually did have more physically challenged issues than...

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

If you are thinking of Barra Fishing in the Top End - think Darwins Barra Base. My wife and I spent a day with Allan fishing the Finnis River recently and were rewarded with some beautiful fish - all released. Up here you need a guide to take you to the fish - if the fish aren't there you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slowserviceshitsme
Kingston, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We arrived at 8 pm to a warm welcome from Allan the owner, who invited us go out to dinner with his family, which we did and he even drove us to a shop for food supplies and drove us around the Marrara sports complex which we were attending the next few days. I chose this accommodation as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeaniephelan
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for your lovely words, the are very much appreciated. Allan was more than happy to accommodate every thing you needed during your stay and enjoyed your company. Kind Regards Mandy Dippel

Mitcham, Australia
Reviewed 10 May 2016

This was my first safari with Darwin's Barra Base and my Father's third. It was Kim O'Tooles second safaria and his brother, Rod his first. Allan Beale was a sensational host and guide. We caught Barramundi, Big Black Jewfish, Spanish Mackeral, Golden Snapper, Fingermark Bream and Red Throated Emporer, thanks to Allan's knowledge and experience of the region. Fishing boat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardmapson
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Richard We are very happy to hear that our service to you was exceptional. We certainly do our very best to ensure that all our clients enjoy their stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us and we certainly look forward to showing you another epic adventure. Thank you for taking the time to write your...

Bridport, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This was my second Safari with Barra Base and this one was even better than the first. Thanks to Allan's excellent knowledge of the habits of the fish, and how to catch them, we caught many Barra, big Black Jewfish, Spanish Mackerel and Tuna. Each day started before dawn and ended late after eating the fresh fish we had caught...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Rosevear
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Paul Allan and I thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We love all reviews, the feedback is very useful. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and hosting your third Safari. Thank you once again for your kind words. Kind regards Mandy

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Having fished with Darwin's Barra Base before, we decided to stay on a mother ship to avoid the traveling and the intimidation of having to actually launch, clean and refuel the companies boats as expected by the Management on the previous trip. We were extremely particular in the fact that if the mother ship was not possible, then we would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nelmarville
Barra_Base, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

The Mothership Vessel 'Auriga Bay II' is owned by a private party. We do not own the vessel we only lease the vessel from this private party, to be able to run our Mothership Safaris. The onus of the vessels seaworthiness is that of the owner and not of the Leasee. When clients pay us their deposits this then goes...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

A good base for a fishing trip, handy to the airport, clean and tidy. A little bit out of the CBD. The pool welcome on a hot day. Very helpful staff. Spacious room with air conditioning, breakfast room downstairs. Good size for family or group.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherylabberton
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again on your next fishing adventure. Regards Mandy

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2016

This trip combined targeting barra in tidal waterways with targeting saltwater species in blue open water. We had an extremenly successful catch, thanks largely to Alan the guide's profound knowledge of fish behaviour and tidal conditions. We were on the water before dawn, and many evenings finishing after dusk. We even had a night fish one evening, where our guide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameslN4947SS
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi James Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We appreciate every review we get, good or bad. Allan enjoyed showing you his skills and knowledge on the water and of the fish habits. We also Congratulate you on your 112cm Barra Landed, what a spectacular effort. We look forward to taking you and your family...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2016

This was my second Safari with Barra Base, as with the first Safari, I found the Malak accommodation comfortable and conveniently located to the airport and all shopping amenities. The Barra Base Personnel from the time of pickup from the Darwin airport ensured the guests are quickly made welcome as part of the group and feel part of the team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Michael We thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we look forward to seeing you again on your third safari and providing you with the same great service. Kind Regards Mandy

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#23 of 39 in Darwin
277 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 39 in Darwin
806 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 39 in Darwin
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
1.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
6.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 39 in Darwin
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Darwin's Barra Base

Address: 2 Todd Cres | Malak NT, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: £51 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Darwin's Barra Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Darwin's Barra Base staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The delux room is nice but all OK”
 of 5 bubbles 443kimh, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, I have limited mobility and was accommodated in a convenient ground floor room accordingly.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelLake, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go to Travel lodge Darwin”
 of 5 bubbles judyh787, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“two story with a great view over park”
 of 5 bubbles matches2015, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Jens room is the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Glensbarratrip2015, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay