We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Melaleuca on Mitchell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melaleuca on Mitchell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

….EITHER IN PRAISE OR CONDEMNATION. IN OTHER WORDS THIS IS A PERFECTLY ADEQUATE PLACE THAT DOES THE JOB EXPECTED . MELALEUCLA was one of 3 central Darwin backpackers I stayed at between trips out of town. I rated it #3 – however as said above it did its job adequately: just nothing to get excited about. STRENGTHS GOOD POSITION –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackeldo
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The second we turned up I knew it wasn't for me! It's really loud and doesn't feel clean. The rooms were pretty dark, dingy and dirty. The only good thing was the aircon worked well even though it was really loud. It's definitely not the most welcoming hostel and the wifi even though you pay for it is rubbish and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria N
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night before an early flight and although my room was fine I have never stayed somewhere so noisy. People running up and down hall banging on doors and generally having a party in the hall all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Vicky L, Thank you for your review of your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. We are sorry to read that you were unable to get some sleep due to people in the corridors making a noise after they had been out. We do have security staff employed to try and minimize the noise for people trying to sleep....

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night, well located in the centre of town. Obviously markets itself as a party/backpackers hoste with poolside bar and lively music. Room was acceptable with very good aircon. However noise from music and from rubbish trucks in the morning were rather loud. WiFi wasn't free either which I think is poor in this day and age. Decor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eo227
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi eo227, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin and your feedback relating to the hostel been a party\backpackers hostel. We do promote ourselves as a hostel with a great pool area which has a bar and swimming pools. To ensure guests in rooms can sleep the music is stopped and the bar is closed before midnight...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Melaleuca for a night, with possibility of more. The pool scene was good during the day, and had a great night: the bar staff were fun and friendly, the guests were social and there was a good vibe. When I got back to the hostel after a night out, I got into bed and couldn't stop itching....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Mark M, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel and thought the bar staff were fun and friendly. I was disappointed to read your review about bed bugs in the room that you stayed in. The senior staff are trained on checking for...

Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for the night in-between tours and was extremely disappointed with the room. It was smelly, not that clean and the walls and ceiling were wet from condensation. I complained sand was moved to another room which was much better. The bed wasn't very comfortable but was fine for one night. The rest of the hostel was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie P
Sheena M, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Hollie P, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. Condensation will occur in rooms if a guest(s) turns off the air conditioner or opens up the windows as it is hot and humid up here at this time of the year. This can quickly cause the issues that you have pointed out to occur.. I was...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I was not allowed to stay at Melaleuca as I am a Northern Territory resident. When I asked why local people were not allowed to stay in the premises I received a vague response which included a shrug, something about policies and something about trouble in the past. We were told to stay next door but that was $60 more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plantonverandah
Sheena M, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Plantonverandah, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. I am sorry that you were unimpressed with our guests policy in relation to our dormitory accommodation. This policy is in place for the security of the international travellers that stay in this room type. I am pleased to read that the staff did offer you an alternative...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Worst hostel I've had the displeasure of staying at. Filthy and stuffed. Kitchen in particular was disgusting. It did have a nice bar and pool but that's it's only redeeming quality. Left as soon as I could.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliavmar
Sheena M, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Elivmar, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell. I am sorry that the kitchen was not up to your standard. We regularly clean it to ensure that it is tidy and clean as we understand that this area gets a lot of use from our guests. I will pass on this review to the housekeeping team and...

Roermond, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We have stayed here for 3 nights in total. The staff was very unfriendly and not helpfull at all. They just sat there watching their phones. We had 1 of our bags stored in their storage room during a tour. When we checked in again after the tour we could not get our luggage. We had to wait at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spekpony
Sheena M, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Spekpony, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. I was disappointed to read your review and the interaction with the front office team. I have addressed your review with the front office team and the two points you have made regarding personal use of phones and the long term storage room. I hope you enjoy the...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Yes this is a loud party hostel. Bring some earplugs and youl be fine. The hostel is clean, a decent price, and the staff is friendly. The bar/pool area is lots of fun if you want to mingle. My only complaint is if you get a top bunk the aircon is LOUD!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taace1i1a
Sheena M, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi taace1!1a, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. I will pass your feedback onto the maintenance team regarding the air conditioner been loud if you are on the top bunk. Happy travels Sheena

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.0 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 39 in Darwin
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poinciana Inn
Poinciana Inn
#34 of 39 in Darwin
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 39 in Darwin
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 39 in Darwin
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#36 of 49 in Darwin
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#32 of 49 in Darwin
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: £24 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melaleuca on Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Melaleuca on Mitchell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on bottom floor or down the far end are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles AmberC28, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want noise, ask a room as far as possible from the rooftop entertainment area.”
 of 5 bubbles ronk88, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay anywhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Cyglor, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The four person rooms were great. second or third floor, I would recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles cybershrew, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Having own ensuite definitely worth upgrade to”
 of 5 bubbles Pollysirena, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay