We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/03/2018 05/03/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Banyan View Lodge

    119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
    Lowest prices for your stay
    04/03/2018 05/03/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (12)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    • Excellent8%
    • Very good23%
    • Average33%
    • Poor17%
    • Terrible19%
    11 Aug 2017
    “A Good Stay With Basic Facilities”
    10 Sep 2015
    “Basic, clean, well-managed hostel”
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Shuttle Bus Service
    Breakfast included
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (135)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 112 reviews

    Reviewed 11 August 2017

    I had arrived in Darwin with a female companion the night before and stayed in another hostel, but it was absolutely horrendous, so we decided to move. I'm glad we did. Apparently they don't always let men stay, but because I was with a female...More

    Thank defected01
    Reviewed 10 September 2015

    This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two...More

    1  Thank 38sally
    Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 11 October 2015

    Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

    Reviewed 26 August 2015

    Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(More

    6  Thank atpc_calcetines
    Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 11 October 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us...More

    Reviewed 25 August 2015

    Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted...More

    Thank Followjonalong
    Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 11 October 2015

    It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very...More

    Reviewed 11 August 2015

    This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other...More

    4  Thank Guy J
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Spa
    • Price range
    • US$18 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 43
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Banyan View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Northern Territory >
    • Top End >
    • Darwin
    • Also Known As
    • Banyan View Hotel Darwin
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (12)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Nearby HotelsSee all 36 hotels in Darwin
    Anka Bar Top End Hotel
    3 reviews
    .08 miles away
    H105 Mitchell Hotel
    38 reviews
    .11 miles away
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
    1,293 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
    129 reviews
    .18 miles away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hanuman Restaurant
    1,863 reviews
    .25 miles away
    Nirvana Restaurant
    272 reviews
    .12 miles away
    Noodle House Mitchell
    176 reviews
    .24 miles away
    Zest Restaurant & Terrace
    68 reviews
    .41 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Parliament House
    230 reviews
    .44 miles away
    578 reviews
    .11 miles away
    Bicentennial Park
    119 reviews
    .12 miles away
    St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral
    103 reviews
    .30 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Banyan View Lodge staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "A room at the back overlooking the garden would be nice"
    Read review
    "Don't stay here"
    Read review
    "Ask for rooms at back as front can be noisy with traffic and late night revelers"
    Read review
    "Choose a single room away from the construction side."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing