We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Traveller (1344)
Room & Suite (649)
Dining (93)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
2,912Reviews
1,667Photos
43Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,291
  • 982
  • 400
  • 146
  • 93
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My wife and I spent two nights in the Shangri-La, Cairns in late March, 2019. I was a bit conflicted in writing this review - the problem is what standard should the hotel be held to. But I'll give it a shot. The hotel is in a nice location, on the marina. You can walk out of
Read more
Response from NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
Dear P Michael H, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay/experience and your review, with particular positive mention of our excellent staff . Customer feedback is very important to us and we have noted your comments for discussion. We are delighted to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Nic
Read more
First time visitor. Great hotel and really happy with the location. Easy walk everywhere. Beautiful bathroom. Looked liked one of the nicest hotels in the area. Wouldn’t hesitate to book again and great staff interaction. Thank you for a great trip!
Read more
Response from NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Responded 6 days ago
Dear laurenh182, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Best Regards, Nic O'Donnell General Manager
Read more
We stayed here for a week and enjoyed every minute of it the hotel is everything you expect with a 5 star hotel the room was facing the marina and a very spacious room it was lovely sitting on the veranda every morning enjoying our coffee the meal in the restaurant was first
Read more
Response from NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Ph0pkins, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience and your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Nic
Read more
This is the 6/7 th we have stayed here and I’m sorry to say it was terrible. We were upgraded to suites which were renovated. Well call this a renovation? Uneven floors, bed was the squeeky every time u moved the noise woke u up, WiFi didn’t work in the room, bathroom full of
Read more
Response from NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Grahamme, Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback with us and most importantly, taking the time to make special mention of our hotels greatest asset, our staff. We are very blessed to have such a great team who take great pride in their service to our guests. I am very sorry to hear that our renovations did not meet your expectations. We do sincerely hope to welcome you again some time. Best Regards, Nic
Read more
Great location if you get a Marina view room. Allow at least 1 hour for breakfast if you want the cooked option. Or 30 mins for coffee and bun. You have to queue to make coffee 10-15 mins depending on the occupancy. Why they don’t buy two more machines is beyond me. You have
Read more
Response from NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Traveltheglobex2, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short at breakfast. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Best Regards, Nic O'Donnell
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Sunrise over the marina from our room
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorShangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
The Studio Suite at the Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorShangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
The Horizon Club Suite at the Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorShangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
The Double Queen Studio Suite at the Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
horizon club room
PreviousNext
123456130
We hired a car at the airport. The sights around Cairns are quite spread and unless you want to do bus tours, you need transportation.
1 vote
Show all answers
All Horizon Rooms, meaning those facing, and with terrasses on, thé marina have already been refurbished and very tastefully so, I should add. They are comfortable, modern, elegant and with breathtaking views. We stayed three days and never heard any noise from the work they may have been doing on the side of the hotel away from the sea. Excellent hotel, excellent service, swimming pool and food.I would expect them to renovate the gym and the units around the pool. By very far the best hotel in Cairns.
3 votes
Show all answers
I did not use a laundry there but guarantee there is an ability to get clothes laundered.
0 votes
Show all answers
As we flew into Cairns we didn't have a car so I don't know although I believe there is a public car park nearby.
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes they have options for children’s but as with most pools supervision is required
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234569
"Get a room facing the marina. Nice sunrise over the marina."
"the rooms facing the marina are the best ones"
"Pay for a Marina view it’s worth it."
"The rooms with a view of the Marina give plenty of interest to view while sitting on the balcony."
"Horizon Club comes with perks."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shangri-la hotel, the marina, cairns hotel cairns
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing