We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tropical Heritage Cairns

Show Prices
#15 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropical Heritage Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Cairns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is a gem , had a night out in town and came upon this hotel, it ticked all the boxes. Loved receiving fresh milk for my morning coffee. Will certainly stay here again. The staff were brilliant, the room was clean the bathroom was excellent nice big white fluffy towels, better than some of the supposedly 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoo_10
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about the Tropical Heritage. It is a great feeling to have our efforts appreciated by those we serve. I hope to see you again the next time you come to Cairns. Thank you again James Munro General Manager Tropical Heritage Cairns

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We had family apartment for 5 pax: 1 room with 2 single beds, 1 room with double bed, 1 single bed in the living/kitchenette/dining area. Compact yet enough space. Basic place, good beds, clean, basic kitchenette, reasonable location, good service (bed made up, toilet cleaned, towels replaced, working safes). We didnt spent much time in apartment so it is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poon P
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely spacious rooms with a balcony and small kitchenette. The facilities were very good but the kitchenette could have been improved with a small hot plate to cook on. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea W
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Clean hotel and on the cheaper side but the service was deplorable. Was charged $15 for a toll free phone call and another $15 for a 'continental' breakfast that consisted of toast and make it yourself coffee. Unripe fruit, no yogurt (was advertised as having), very poor. Not worth the money IMO.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patopico
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

I am sorry that the service didn’t live up to your expectations. The staff member you dealt with has been spoken too about their service. Yes our breakfast is very simple but it is also very affordable at $7.50 per person. It is available for everyone looking but there are many other options available in the city a short walk...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night at THC before flying out early the next morning. It's about a $20 cab ride from CNS Airport. The hotel is a stones throw from the central area of the city. It is only two blocks away from the Esplanade. Lake St will take you straight to the heart of Cairns. Check in was smooth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in Cairns. Few minutes walk from city center, 10/15 minutes from the airport. The room was a bit out of date, old style I would say. The fridge completely empty, not even a bottle of water. The jug was empty too. In the middle of the night I had to go down to the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LauraPhilly2010
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

I am sorry that the service didn’t live up to your expectations. I will ensure that this doesn’t happen again. I can guarantee that closing early was due to that particular staff member having broken his rib earlier that day and working without realising how badly he was injured. We are consistently working to improve our rooms and services and...

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Small hotel with spacious rooms and king size beds. Bathroom is also big, with shower and well appointed. Very clean. Though it is not centrally located, it is within walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants (about 15m., cruise harbour 25m). Staff is very friendly and helpful and they help out with day trips bookings. As breakfast was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amore64
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Reasonably priced 'hotel' in a backpacker-paradise.. Rooms are clean and well equipped.. Hotel personnel always helped us with vital information about the city and things to do in there.. Breakfast spread was very basic but almost all the wonderful restaurants in cairns are at a walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajay A
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Well situated in Cairns city. Big rooms comfortable beds. Lovely people, everyone is very friendly. We only stayed one night but Wil happy book again next time in town. Easy walk to all the resturants and the boardwalk. Did i mention the shower was great too. Place is a little retro in style but clean very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

It is always appreciated to have guests share their experience with others especially when they have such great things to say. Thank you very much for taking the time to speak and I hope to see you again if you ever return to Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my girl decided to go on a trip and found this hotel. When we first arrived we didn't know what to expect. It was our first time in Australia and never knew what hotels were like. When we first entered a room we were so surprised to see how big it was!! There were 4 beds and 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

It is always appreciated to have guests share their experience with others especially when they have such great things to say. Thank you very much for taking the time to speak and I hope to see you again if you ever return to Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Heritage Cairns staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Oregon City, Oregon
Mumbai (Bombay), India
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Heritage Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet hotel clse to all resturants and the boardwalk”
 of 5 bubbles TracyR687, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any issues at all, just talk to the reception staff. They are friendly, and professional”
 of 5 bubbles tasmedic, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room, (1 bedroom suites ).They don't have as good a view, but it's quieter & warmer on the north side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles christinefC2217CH, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are almost similar.”
 of 5 bubbles rishilobo, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“When you call for the late check-in key safe code, make sure they actually have your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles TylerW426, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay