We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lake Placid Tourist Park

Hotels.comUS$67*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Lake Placid Tourist Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lake Placid Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

A very pretty park with decent facilities. Staff great to deal with. Stayed 2 nights here on a powered site. This was our first park on our Australian holiday and we were off to a good start! A good base but a fair distance to shops etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathy_laugesen
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We were very happy with our accommodation (Cabin) which we found was clean and roomy and also the BBQ area outside was great. We found all the staff that we dealt with very helpful and friendly and we were able to book several trips through the office. The area in which Lake Placid Tourist Park is located is beautiful with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan_ingridmarsh
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This is a very nice campground, nice shower block although the water pressure was very low. Attractive grounds with lovely swimming pool. Modern kitchen/ dining area near pool. The site for RV was tight in between two trees which made manoeuvring tricky. The site was a bit elevated so the grey water pipe wouldn't drain into the outlet, therefore, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nihonihoohura
Southern Highlands
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Dog friendly! Amenities great, large and clean. Sites a little tight but not too bad, have stayed in much worse! Remembering that the caravans today are much larger than in earlier days; it's hard to change a caravan park mid stream, when caravans are getting bigger and bigger!! Great pool and camp kitchen facilities and we were very happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Ian A, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thank you Carol S for for staying at Lake Placid Tourist Park on your recent visit to FNQ. The weekly Lions Club bbq was very popular and will be providing the same again next busy season.

Taree, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

About half hour out of town. Van sites were tight and vans close to each other. Our van was placed on the site with a tractor which was on a corner with no shade and busy. Italian restaurant a few mins walk Alessandro nice pizzas. Nice helpful staff. Cafe open till 2pm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1whitey09
Ian A, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thank you whitey for your recent review of your stay at Lake Placid Tourist Park. Our tractor is used non stop over the busy period to put vans on and off sites when space is at a premium. The restaurant next to the park is a bonus for those wanting good pasta or pizza. Our cafe was very popular over...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

This is one of the friendliest and cleanest parks we have stayed in ... The reception staff were so lovely and accommodating, the amenities were clean and some of the nicest we have seen and even though it rained for most of our time and we were a bit muddied up you can't blame that on anyone but the sky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KC75_11
Ian A, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thank you KC75 for taking the time to share your experience at Lake Placid Tourist Park with other travelers. As you say we have no control of the weather especially here in the tropics but there is still plenty to do do even when it is wet. All our staff work tirelessly to help provide a great stay for all...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Went for one night and stayed an extra night because it was fantastic. Beautiful and clean facilities. Not to expensive and had heaps of room for our camper. The staff were helpful and cheerful. Quiet place that we will stay again at in future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam4301
Ian A, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thank you Sam for your comments on your recent stay at our park. Our ground staff and housekeepers work very hard to help provide a pleasant experience for all. We look forword to your next visit.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights and although the park is attractive and in a great position the cabins are very ordinary. Ours had a double bed and three bunks but a family of five would have a terrible time moving around. There is absolutely no space for anything. You walk sideways everywhere. The staff were busy but helpful and the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roberta m
Ian A, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thank you Roberta for your comments on your recent stay at Lake Placid Tourist Park. It is nice to hear you enjoyed the beautiful setting and location our park offers. We offer a wide range of cabins in varying sizes and configurations to suit different requirements and budgets. Our free wifi is set for 100mb per device per 24 hour...

Reviewed 15 August 2016

We have recently stayed at Lake Placid tourist park. The only reason I have given a 3 rating is the close proximity to Kuranda and Cairns. The park might be great if you have a caravan but do not stay in the cabins on site. I really cant understand why this park gets such great reviews! The photos on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jann C
Ian A, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thank you Jann C for taking the time to post your thoughts about your recent stay at Lake Placid Tourist Park. We are sorry that your accommodation didn't meet your expectations but you will be pleased to hear that our cabins are being refurbished at the end of this busy period. It is a concern to hear you feel our...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at lake placid it is ideally located to some the main attractions like the scenic railway from freshwater to Kurunda what an awesome trip!! Also close the sky rail and the Armour and artillery museum to name a few . staff are friendly and helpful and assisted with bookings and busses pick you up and return. Amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairns
6.1 mi away
Cairns Holiday Park
Cairns Holiday Park
#14 of 85 in Cairns
387 reviews
4.1 mi away
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cool Waters Holiday Park
Cool Waters Holiday Park
#20 of 85 in Cairns
71 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
6.6 mi away
First City Caravilla
First City Caravilla
#11 of 14 in Cairns
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lake Placid Tourist Park is set amongst 14 acres of tropical rainforest and is nestled at the base of the Barron Gorge National Park, and adjacent to the crystal clear waters of Lake Placid. Offering caravan and tent sites as well as budget, luxury and ensuite cabins, family villas and cottages, we have the perfect holiday accommodation for any traveller (pets welcome too)!Located 14km north west of Cairns city, the park is central to the main tourist attractions such as Skyrail, the Kuranda Scenic Railway and the northern beaches. Both adventure and tranquility await! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Placid Tourist Park

Address: 82-100 Lake Placid Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: £47 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Placid Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lake Placid Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lake Placid Tourist Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Reserve in time!”
319ollih, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in RV”
Nihonihoohura, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabins great for 3 and 4 in families”
P8752UTdebbieg, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book well ahead to get a good site, especially if you have a large caravan”
875lenl, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Site 79 is great”
OceanBlueProperty, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$67
Booking.com
PricelineUS$68
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates