We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
US$47
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$47
View Deal
Hostelworld.com
US$47
US$29
View Deal
SAVE US$18
Hotels.comUS$47
Agoda.comUS$43
PricelineUS$44
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Business Centre
Golf course
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
11
4
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
4
8
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

The place is packed with spanish and latin american people so be prepares for a very noisy venue and roomies. They dont talk, they yell at each other. I was told that most of them live in there permanently. The backpacker (rooms) is located above...More

Date of stay: August 2018
2  Thank Solange M
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

This is in a great location, being right on the main street. It's right above a bar though so if you're expecting an early night you may be disappointed. It seems to be more a place where working holiday visa people are living rather than...More

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank SarahEm2018
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

The moment we walked up the stairs to the hallway through the communal area to tapping our keys to our room (room 6) we were met by absolutely horrible, stale, mouldy and sweaty smells. The room was so untidy we could work out which was...More

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank CasaApollo
Response from Rattlenhum, General Manager at Global BackpackersResponded 31 October 2017

Hi CasaApollo, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we always appreciate our guests feedback. I am very sorry to hear of your experience on your recent stay with us. We always have a sequence of cleaning and checks to...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017

The hostel is conveniently located on main downtown street of Port Douglas, and is close to restaurants, supermarket and the port where most charters to the Great Barrier Reef depart. Rates are very reasonable - we had a double with ensuite bathroom, TV and air-conditioning....More

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank Therichpeasant
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

It is a good hostel. With new toilets/shower. Just a small number of them only 2 per item. Rooms were very cold with the air con and they had metal cages where you can store your stuff and look it as well! They have a...More

Date of stay: January 2017
Thank vz71
View more reviews
About
Description
Rattle and Hum is a brand new upmarket 50 bed hostel located on the main street of Port Douglas. This is the BEST location in town - 100 m walk to 4 Mile Beach, shopping, restaurants, bars, marina and markets More all at your doorstep. This stylish modern property has everything you need for a relaxing stay in Port. A beautifully designed open-plan kitchen and lounge/ TV area lets you experience tropical living with views of the picturesque Port Douglas by day and night. For the sports fans there is a large plasma screen showing all Foxtel sports, which means you never have to miss a match. We bring it to you live 24 hrs a day!! Our rooms are modern and spacious, fully air-conditioned and equipped with ceiling fans. All rooms have a security swipe card system, and beds are made for you with linen supplied. All private rooms are en-suite and spacious. Large guest shower and toilet facilities mean hot showers and no crowding. We also have a beautiful outdoor deck to chill-out on and read a book. Planning a day out of town? Just ask our friendly travel staff about the area and we can help advise you on any tours or sightseeing you may like to try. We have Global Gossip Internet for your convenience too. Downstairs you can experience our great bar - The Rattle n Hum. Rattle ROCKS and offers a great menu which includes wood fired pizzas. Visit our friendly staff, pool tables and all your favorite sports channels (Foxtel & Setanta) and daily drink and meal specials for all in house guests (just show your room key). Let us share Port Douglas with you....... LIVE THE DREAM AT PORT Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Golf course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$18 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$18 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Photos
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 nearby hotels
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
448 reviews
.09 miles away
Mantra Heritage
628 reviews
.14 miles away
Port Douglas Motel
731 reviews
.18 miles away
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
404 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 133 nearby restaurants
Grant Street Kitchen
254 reviews
.09 miles away
Capannina
145 reviews
.06 miles away
Sparrow Coffee
278 reviews
.02 miles away
Watergate Restaurant & Lounge Bar
2,395 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 182 nearby attractions
Ngarru Gallery
38 reviews
.07 miles away
Des Spencer Art
14 reviews
.13 miles away
Port Douglas Tourist Information Centre
32 reviews
.11 miles away
Studio 49 Artisan Gallery
7 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Global Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"dont stay here"
solangem0
19 Aug 2018
Read review
"Book early"
RossMurdoch
22 Mar 2016
Read review
"Bedroom with most beds has a lot of room for your gear."
adammN9206ZL
19 Jan 2016
Read review
"Great value accom for backpackers"
J8332KTmarkl
18 Jan 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing