We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mantra PortSea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mantra PortSea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,134: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only place we stayed in out of 8 hotels/apartments that charged for wifi. Rooms shabby, need renovating, all switches for fans broken. We arrived and first room had a shortage of equipment in the kitchen and a side table missing, we immediately asked to charge rooms but were told we would be charged a cleaning charge if we changed rooms... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara/Colin/S... B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mantra Portsea for a week in November. We booked a one bed studio and it was a good size for two people, and it had a balcony which was great. I don't know what the others are complaining about. It is clear on the website and trip advisor that the rooms aren't serviced... More 

Helpful?
Thank nataisha19
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My room was on ground floor with possums and other animals running around outside at night. Aircondition in one of my room was not working, out of gas. The apartment its self was very dark, average, and bit dated. Unless you stay more then seven days, you don't get room service. This is bad. Breakfast is not bad but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good price, staff really friendly and really helpful at reception. Rooms are spacious but could really do with a better cleanup and the couches needed a really good clean as they smelled quite bad. All the swimming pools were really nice and as we were there in low season we were having the lap pool for ourselves which was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lou B
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not fault our stay ,room was clean & spacious the staff was very friendly and very accommodating, close to town plus shuttle bus service came in very handy after a day of walking in the heat ,we would definitely come back again .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked & paid for a room for 2 adults & newborn baby weeks in advance. When I checked in I was told we could not stay in room with baby & was forced to pay an extra $100 to upgrade. The buffet breakfast was very disappointing. There was no hot food nor was there any options for gluten free.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lysh_85
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a week at this hotel. To change towels, you get charge extra. To cleqn up your room, they will charge you. Staff unfriendly, no staff available after 8 pm. Young barbie girl at the reception was so rude.

Helpful?
Thank heley0424
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Mantra PortSea. All of our rates do not include daily housekeeping service (if you stay under 8 nights), and this is advertised on all our print and online material. We do, however, offer complimentary towel exchange and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was lovely , staff very friendly , swim up bar could be open later so you can have a drink before heading into town. Would defiantly recommend staying here perfect location and well priced ! Can't wait to come back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ashrowles1
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely place to stay, great atmosphere and facilities, friendly staff. Close to town for a walk or bike ride. Pool was amazing and also a good family venue. Value for money and would stay here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 484gayleb
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice short stay staff very warm and welcoming, even supplied a nice bottle of bubbles for our anniversary. Rooms very comfortable and quiet. Would stay again. Great position, Port Doulas looks fantastic. Thanks for a great weekend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R9264VEcherylm

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
630 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: £62 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra PortSea staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
South Melbourne, Australia
Stockport, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Cheltenham, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra PortSea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no lifts available especially if you have big suitcase to carry.”
 of 5 bubbles heley0424, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a swim out room.”
 of 5 bubbles brianjohnglover, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is no choice.”
 of 5 bubbles JB5209, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the pool bar as a bit smelly when they are cooking.”
 of 5 bubbles 42clairej, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want to stay i'd pick lagoon view ground floor pool access away from the pool bar.”
 of 5 bubbles golfmat, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay